We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with exceptional food”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I spent the night at the Victoria. The room was well equipped and resonably furnished. There was a good supply of tea, coffee etc. and the nice touches of fruit and chocolate. I would have preferred a duvet to blankets, but this is just personal choice. The food is the resturaunt was described by my husband as "exceptional". We both thoroughly enjoyed our meal with was beautifully presented, well served and cooked perfectly. The breakfast was also of a good standard and provided us with a good start to the day. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. A good value stay and somewhere we will return to in the future.

Room Tip: If you are visiting ask if it is possible to have a sea view (we got the the view of the run down bu...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Higgins05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for The Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed here recently for work and was really nicely surprised with everything!

I had a lovely modern double bed room. 2 bottles of water and a welcome fruit bowl. There was a good selection of hot drinks as well.

The bed was very comfortable, with the option of extra bedding and pillows if needed. A huge bath with over bath shower, and hot water when needed! In the bathroom a good selection of toiletries were available, which was handy as I forgot a few things!

There are two options for dinner, formal dining in the upstairs area or more relaxed in the bar area downstairs. Due to work I only ate in the formal dining area, and the food was fabulous! A great menu on offer in the evening and deals on both 2 and 3 course options.

By far the best asset to the hotel though are the staff! They really were all very friendly, welcoming and eager to help make your stay as comfortable as possible.

I would happily return to stay here again as the only downside I can give to the hotel would be the noise from the main street outside. There are a few pubs close by which produced quite a bit of noise up until closing time, however this is outwith the hotels control and wouldn't put me off recommending a stay here.

Room Tip: Possibly ask for a room away from road, if noise is an issue, but you will miss out on the view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotslass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The staff here are credit to the hotel industry - the big guys should take a leaf out of their book.
From the reception staff to the housekeeping staff nothing was too much bother for them.
Dinner and breakfast were exceptional once again - I can't recommend highly enough.
11 out of 10

Room Tip: See views are spectacular
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel lies pretty much right near to the ocean and for some rooms, there must be some really nice views. Yet we stayed and looked at a backyard. The hotel is a little out-dated, the rooms are clean and the bathrooms quite nice. But the rooms definetly needed some insulation against noice, since you can hear everything, and the party next door. Other thing is...what happened to just using sheets as a duvet - in Scotland...
Otherwise, the breakfast was really good.
So all in all, nothing super, nothing bad.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very friendly, helpful service, and excellent food (the SEAFOOD!) both for dinner and breakfast. Really impressed with this place - the interior rooms are plain, but clean and have everything you need, and the service is a million miles away from bland hotel chains. It's also only a minute away from the ferry port, so particularly handy for non-drivers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lulamae_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay in hotel but food was good. Had a high tea with fresh baked scones. Nice decor and good value for money. Would definitely eat here again and would consider staying over night in hotel next time

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magsmcneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

First of all, it's not a bad place, but nothing special either.
We picked it from one of those tourist leaflets as we were late and just wanted a place to sleep.
When we rang the given number, the lady on the phone could not tell us anything, but said the manager will call us back, which he did rather quickly.
During the conversation, we had the impression that one-night bookings are not exactly their favorites.
Finally, we got an agreement and the manager came in from somewhere else gave us the keys and showed us the room which was quite small but ok so far.
Being on the main road, it was very noisy, lots of drunken kids around there as well, Police is well present, so not too many concerns about parking at the roadside.
Breakfast was ok, service quick and friendly. Cannot really fault the place, just a bit dated and slightly overpriced, but that might be the Island premium you have to pay.

Room Tip: Avoid front rooms, can be very noisy at nights.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Not quite sure what 'shabby chic' means but if it means old, then that's exactly what we are and dating back to the Victorian era. We never have a problem with one night bookings unless it's during a special time of the year when an event is on for several days. Being smack bang in the heart of Rothesay and overlooking the bay, our location is ideal for enjoying the town and also touring our beautiful island. Most evenings you will be able to hear a pin drop however like all towns, there is a little more noise (but not too much) on a Saturday evening when the pubs close and the revellers find their way home. The Victoria was completely refurbished 7 years ago and continues to maintain it's high standard in fabric, cleanliness and service. Its pricing is competetive and offers special deals throughout the year. Give yourself more time the next time you visit - don't leave it till the last minute and who knows, you may get a much bigger room or a special deal if you book early. Look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#8 of 18 in Rothesay
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 55 Victoria Street, Rothesay PA20 0AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range: £76 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the town of Rothesay on the Isle of Bute, our newly refurbished and modern hotel has wonderful views of the Clyde Coast and overlooks the beautiful Esplanade Gardens. It boasts excellent cuisine and caters for everyone from families to wedding parties. The hotel consists of 20 fully en-suite rooms, each stylishly decorated, with TV and drinks facilities. Enjoy an informal meal in our bistro cafe or an evening in our fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rothesay
The Victoria Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing