We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Day we went to Rothesay”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Day we went to Rothesay”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Excellent small hotel centrally placed in Rothesay. The room we were allocated was at the back on the top (attic) floor. The chair had holes in it and it could do with an update but that was the only negative. Perhaps the rooms lower down and at the front are more attractive. Its bathroom however was excellent. The whole place was spotlessly clean. Friendly staff, especially the breakfast waitress who was excellent and couldn't have done more. The breakfast was brilliant with a selection that could not have been bettered. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    80
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
40
106
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Victoria Hotel is just a stone's throw from the ferry terminal, which is really handy and overlooks the fountain, putting green, Information Centre and cinema. The breakfast was lovely with a great choice on the menu and we decided to eat in the Hotel in the evening and, even though it was a different chef from last year, when we were there, the standard was still very high.
I had chicken stroganoff on Friday and my husband had a mixed grill. Both were very tasty and not a crumb was left. On Saturday night we had fish and chips with a lovely side salad. Again, it was very tasty and fresh. There are also comfortable lounge areas if you just want to have a drink with friends. The room was bright, clean, warm and comfortable.The staff were friendly, professional and very helpful and I would recommend the Victoria to anyone going" Doon the Watter" for a break.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are warmer if travelling, as we did at end of March when still cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I chose to stay away from the city and commute in whilst working in Glasgow by ferry and train 1 hour 45 minutes journey. This option was a well rewarded experience relaxed for the next days work, no stress of city stereotyped hotels it was clean, good food, nice view and a ferry to work. The staff were really friendly helpful and as I left before breakfast even offered and supplied a 'packed meal ' for the trip.
I would recommend this for anyone in the area as an option in combining a holiday experience with work and it was better priced including the fares.
Well done all at the hotel and Calmac and many thanks

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view well worth it and the morning view is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A lovely venue overlooking the winter gardens and Rothesay Bay. The jazz and the food were excellent but the organisers must pay attention to some minority jazz issues. Penman Jazz have a fairly steady following in the Glasgow area and play at The Rothesay Jazz Festival. The Jazz Festival has been notable over recent years for it's steadily declining numbers and I feel part of this must be put down to the inability to satisy several minority issues. In particular one of these issues must be the provision of a small but dedicated dance area at each venue. Part of Jazz is dance and Penman Jazz, as do all jazz bands, encourage this. While attending the Jazz Festival last year there was a distinct lack of space/ provision for dancing. This was again evident at the Victoria Hotel. While there was an excellent dance floor it had been used as a table area. I can see the opportunity of the Hotel maximising profits by serving food but the overall effect of tables remaining on the dance area after dinner being served is to slowly marginalise minorities, who, over a period of time drift away as has been the case at The Jazz Festival.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thescotsmanglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your constructive review and favourable comments about the hotel which is always a great boost for our staff. We agree that The Penman Band do encourage dance and on their next visit, we will need to give a little space. Your kind of comment we like, although just one thing, let us know at the time and see if we can do something. We are not adverse to change on the day if guests are up for it and it enhances their enjoyment. You're obviously a keen jazz fan so stay with us. The Bute Festival Commitee are extremely dedicated to the cause and during these difficult times they have, in our opinion, stabilised and placed the festival on an excellent footing going forward. The island is a great location for a festival and recent Jazz Festivals have been a huge success. What's on offer this May should be no different so look out your dancing shoes and we will look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had yet another great visit last week to this lovely hotel. We upgraded to a sea view room and it was worth every penny. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent. The staff were very pleasant and accomodating - even when we asked for and early breakfast. Worth every penny!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are with the little extra as the views are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Booked this hotel for b&b through Itison deal. Also booked for dinner in the hotel restaurant on Saturday evening 15th February. We were absolutely delighted at the service, the cleanliness, the attention to detail like Eden toiletries, bottled water, fresh fruit, various hot drink options as well as the usual tea and coffee, a couple of little chocolates etc. The towels were lovely, fluffy and white. The bed was so comfortable too. The meal we had in the restaurant was simply delicious, we both had king prawn tempura (the best we've tasted) then I had roast lamb with puy lentils and my husband had chicken stuffed with sun dried tomatoes and mozzarella wrapped in parma ham on a mushroom and leek risotto. Delicious..... we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which was nice and quiet and we were also on the third floor...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kil
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We are just back from using the itison deal for 2 nights and have very mixed feeling about this place, even if it was the off season.

Firstly, the staff with a few exceptions were very polite and generally helpful.

According to previous threads the hotel had a refurb 7 years ago, however our room was very dated with the exception of the TV and the bathroom floor. The shower head had been replaced and did not fit the holder, leading to it spinning and spraying all over the room. Indeed on the second morning it took so long to have a shower that when the fire alarm went off we were told, quote: "the steam from our shower tripped the fire alarm"
The radiator clicked and gurgled the entire 2nd night (we turned it off the 1st night due to the noise, but it was too cold; 3degrees without double glazing) to the extent it woke us up during the night and I am a heavy sleeper. I was going to report this to reception when we checked out but we never even got a 'how was your stay" purely a "thanks" when we handed the key over.
Pleased we got this on a deal, would not have wanted to pay full price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figaro15, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Well there you go. Just when we thought we could please everyone! In reality we do cater for all ages and our staff are excellent with children. We're not quite sure what you mean by "not for anyone under 40".
The Victoria dates back to circa 1880 and we have tried to maintain features of that era whilst also offering comfortable and modern surroundings.
Unfortunately fire alarms are an absolute necessity and can be set off by smoking and excessive steam. Whilst we are sure it was accidental, it is of paramount importance that we check the location to ensure it is a false alarm. We have now checked the shower head and found it to fit perfectly. We have also checked the radiator and could not detect any fault. Yes, things will go wrong and equipment will sometimes breakdown or become defective. We do want to know at the time so that we can assist in remeding any problems. This is why we leave a note in each room encouraging guests to "let us know". It is important that we strive to make our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, sometimes we have to accept critisism which by good fortune is not reflected in most reviews.
We sincerely hope that you enjoyed most other aspects of your stay at The Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 55 Victoria Street, Rothesay PA20 0AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the town of Rothesay on the Isle of Bute, our newly refurbished and modern hotel has wonderful views of the Clyde Coast and overlooks the beautiful Esplanade Gardens. It boasts excellent cuisine and caters for everyone from families to wedding parties. The hotel consists of 20 fully en-suite rooms, each stylishly decorated, with TV and drinks facilities. Enjoy an informal meal in our bistro cafe or an evening in our fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rothesay
The Victoria Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing