We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for casual lunch or dinner”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Rothesay B&B and Inns
bute
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for casual lunch or dinner”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have not stayed in the hotel so can't comment on the accommodation, however I have eaten here a number of times and found the food to be good and the staff friendly. There is a good choice of dishes and prices are very reasonable particularly good value are the daily 'specials'. it is well frequented by locals, always a good sign, and there is a nice ambiance. A number of tables have windows overlooking the harbour and the town square. It is also a popular pop-in place for a coffee. On the down side the decor is a bit shabby and could do with a bit of brightening up. It's central location and proximity to the harbour make it an ideal place for an enjoyable meal prior to or returning from a trip to the mainland.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo-yo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
16
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for a long time, enjoying one of the double rooms with beautiful view over the harbour. It is a simple hotel, but with very high standards when it comes to cleanliness and service which has always been excellent. The breakfast is always something to look forward to.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

stayed here overnight, on a family visit,
the staff were very friendly,
nothing seemed too much,
room was spotless, plenty of teas and coffees, and hot chocalate in rooms, free wifi,
breakfast was fantastic, fruit juice, cereal, and the cooked breakfast was to die for, yum yum,
we had a room with a view of the castle,
the other room had a view of the front, beautiful views

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileenallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Not nice! I could go into detail,but previous reviews do that fine.Tired and dated would be the nice way of putting it.I really don't think there is a place for rooms with shared facilities in this day and age.Walking into the bathroom for a shower,I was met by a man on the way out,newspaper tucked under his arm,and a guilty look on his face.Fair to say he had enjoyed a lenghthy seat.Horrible place,more 40's than the the fairly kind 1970's description I read.Room 8,for anyone still reading,was akin to a prison cell.Staff were enthusiastic if rather lacking in english.I could go on but I won't,not used to posting negative reviews.Advice to the owners would be,sell up,do it up,or close it.In a state of terminal decline.Did i manage to think of anything nice to say? Fair play to those who say its fine,value,friendly etc.T'is a hovel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ratherbeingreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
figaro15, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thanks for your review. Only a few years ago when we took over the Esplanade it was a tip. In a quirky way it had it's own character and history. We invested in repairing and cleaning the place up which is still on going. We relentlessly ensure that cleanliness is paramount and that we offer a warm room with a comfortable bed and a good Scottish breakfast.We only have 3 en-suite rooms and the other rooms share toilet & shower facilities.We do not claim it to be anything other than what it is although perhaps we should call it a bar/restaurant with rooms.Surprisingly and despite the reviews the rooms are regularly full.The bar/restaurant is always very busy and if you ask on the street where to eat,more than often the answer will be The Esplanade.We will continue to restore The Esplanade whilst retaining the old fashioned style. It may not be for everybody but the old place sure knows how to attract a crowd.Next time you are in Rothesay let us show you some of the rooms and we will be delighted to offer you lunch on the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rothesay hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were in the hotel bar a few times over the weekend. The day we were leaving, we popped in for a drink before catching the ferry. I returned our drinks to the bar as the pint of shandy we asked for was more like a pint of lemonade only. The staff were really rude and told me thats just how they pour them and that they couldn't do anything about it! It wasn't how we had them the day before. The staff wouldn't even listen to what I had to say. Very rude! I didn't realise there was a set way to pour a shandy. I thought it would be at the customers preference since they are paying for a full pint!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

went here with my friends for sept weekend at first glance all looks well but when you enter the rooms you get a shock, some rooms dont even have wardropes, just small metal things to hang up youre clothes, shared bath rooms,dated rooms the only good thing they were clean.the only thing that was good was the food, the waitress was very rude too us as she took our order, no smile,we were all laughing and joking as you do on holiday, her face was like cant be bothered. On the sunday night my husband went to the bar at 1045 to get a drink and the same happy waitress told him bar closed so we had too go out the hotel and go to the pub across the square. on the sat night we went down at 7 for dinner and were told it could be a hour or 2 before we get our dinner, they were taking bookings from theyre other digs,we didnt get our dinner too 8pm, poor service,was eating my sweet at 8-55pm.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank angela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

stayin this hotel for september weekend,friday night ok saturday night ok but sunday night the waitress wouldnt serve me a beer at 10.50pm she just snapped bar closed so i had to take my buisness elsewhere.also the same waitress was very rude whilst serving us our meal because one of our friends was a tad loud she got very stroppy with us.all i can say if you want a lovely meal then this is the place but i wouldnt recomend staying here also not all of the rooms have ensuite,so if you dont like sharing toilets with strangers dont go here.it can also be noisy on a friday and saturday night so if you like to go to bed early dont go here

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dempseyandmakepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothesay hotels
0.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ardyne
Ardyne
#4 of 18 in Rothesay
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howards Way Guest House
Howards Way Guest House
#13 of 18 in Rothesay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: 4 High Street, Rothesay PA20 9AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is situated prominently beside the harbour with spectacular views over Rothesay Bay. Offering good quality budget accommodation and excellent food, it is very popular with groups interested in fishing, walking and golfing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Esplanade Hotel Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing