We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

i have just returned from a weekend at the glenburn hotel and must say everything about it was excellent.from the staff to the food and entertainment.great value for the money we paid.i will certainly be back.thanks to everyone at this hotel.........

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maryann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Many thanks for the great review you gave the Glenburn, we're delighted that you enjoyed your break and I will pass on your kind words to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    360
    165
    61
    48
See reviews for
140
468
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel on a National holidays trip that the carpet was threadbare and the curtains were badly ripped. Also friends with us stayed in 219, their curtains were also ripped.
The food at this hotel was really good and the staff were very friendly. I borrowed an extra pillow though and it had blood stains on it. Given a little care this hotel would have been given top marks. It has a lovely view over the Clyde and has character. The evening entertainment is varied and enjoyable.
National holidays let us down badly with this trip and probably would not go with them again.

Room Tip: Avoid room as carpet is dangeerous to elderly people, they would trip on the carpet as it is threadb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ste56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Im sorry you were not happy with your room, we do have an on going programme of refurbishment, but as you can imagine with a building of this size it is impossible to do everything at once. I am pleased to see that apart from your room you were happy with the other aspects of your break. Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on our Tripadvisor site
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Just came back from a five night stay at the Glenburn and i must say that it was a pleasant stay , the staff were excellent nothing was too much . The room was very comfortable and clean and the food was very good with a multiple choice , entertainment was excellent , the Scottish dancers and pipe band were very profesional , all in all a lovely holiday at a great hotel with caring and professional staff

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reddoor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
What a smashing review!, it really is good to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Glenburn and I'll be sure to let the staff know what you wrote on our Tripadvisor site. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Went on a 5 day Shearings trip,great value for the money even considering we paid extra for an upgraded room with a sea view.The room was very comfortable with ample drawers and wardrobe space for our clothes etc. The public lounges and dining room were very spacious and well decorated and the concert room on the first floor with its own bar was ideal. On arrival at the Hotel shearings gave all their guests a £25 credit voucher which could be used used to pay for drinks etc,at the Hotel,we found this a useful contribution to our drinks bill.The Hotel is built on a hillside and it takes about 10 minutes to walk into Rothesay. When returning on foot older guests would find it a little daunting to climb the short but steep hill back to the hotel.The views across the bay from the Hotel are beautiful.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niltrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
I was delighted to read the coments you posted on our Tripadvisor sight, it really is good to get feedback from our guests and it's really nice to know that you have enjoyed your break with us. I'm pleased to see the in house credit voucher came in useful too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just returned from a 5 day break with National Coaches at the Glenburn Hotel . On arrival no Porters to help with Luggage ok for us but some older ones did struggle .when we got to our room it had only a bath (I struggle getting out of them )went to reception given another room immediately with a Shower great Food was good and I can,t praise the Restaurant Staff Highly enough they worked thier socks off nothing to much trouble for them .The Main Areas well kept and Decorated .The Rooms A little tired Two chairs in our room would not look out of place in a Skip. Beds were Comfy Room clean Stains on carpet but what do you expect its tourist that cause the Mess . My main concern was the Handrails going down to the Front were in a poor State very rusty and sharp pieces protuding could do with renewing . to the Manager White faced Chipboard (Melamine) is not suitable for Bathrooms Humidity gets at it .All in all we had an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebbie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you very much for the balanced review you have given us, and I'm delighted that you have enjoyed your holiday. You'll also be pleased to know that we have noted your comments about the railings down the front steps and have been given the go ahead to have them replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

nice hotel set in beautiful surroundings, with excellent views, the food is very good, but the drinks are pricey. some rooms are showing signs of wear, beds i little uncomfortable but staff are more than willing to try and help. public areas are very nice and staff are very good. the island is very nice and the town is lovely but starting to look tired in places, but so are many little towns in the uk. there is plenty to do, a trip on the ferry and bus to the town of larg, or ferry and train to glasgow. both are not too expensive, and dont take too long.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruneval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words you posted, we really appreciate the feedback on your break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A lovely grand hotel on Rothesay, with magnificent views over the sea. The best thing about the hotel is the fantastic service provided by the staff. We were delighted with the help provided for my 8 yr old daughter when she felt ill. In particular the gentleman at the front desk went above and beyond what could be expected.
The rooms are warm and comfortable. Breakfast has some good Scottish choices.
Thank you so much Glenburn!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anstruthergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you very much for your posting, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this and I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Property: The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing