We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Just returned from a 4 day break with Shearings. The hotel was fantastic, food excellent as was the service. The staff were so helpful, it was a real treat staying here. The entertainment was first class. Our room was lovely, very clean and fresh towels everyday. Our coach driver Brian was excellent, very informative throughout the whole of the trip, nothing was too much trouble at all for him and he made the journey so enjoyable. For those reading negative reviews I would say we were completely satisfied with this hotel and would go back to stay anytime. Overall great hotel, great value for money and we had such a good time, thank you to all the staff at the Glenburn for making our trip such an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Try and book a seaview room if possible, well worth the extra money, supplement of £18 per person wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

It's great to get such a fantastic review such as yours, and I'm delighted to read how much you've enjoyed your stay at the Glenburn. As the GM of the hotel I know how important it is to have a good team and I'm very fortunate to have such friendly staff working here, and I'll be sure to pass on your comments to them. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on our site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

My wife and i spent a very enjoyable 4 days at this hotel on a shearings coach tour,8th to 12th of october. Never been to Rothesay before but found it to be a very beautiful location. We were blessed with lovely weather,and one day we walked around the bay to Port. Ballatyne ,about 3 miles,beautiful .Another day we walked in the other direction ,again spectacular views. The trip around the island was very interesting,and the scenery magnificent. The hotel was good with nice side views of the bay ,room 341 spacious and very clean,. The showbar was new and very smart and the mc gary very competent,and entertainment was quite good and enjoyable. The restaurant .and food was also good as was the waiter service. To sum up no complaints about this hotel ,my advice is book and enjoy.

Room Tip: choose a sea view ,spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianandchristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Many thanks for the lovely review you have posted on our site, I'm delighted to see that you have enjoyed your break with us. The island really is lovely and a great place to explore with the stunning scenery and varied wildlife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We have just returned after a Mon-Friday stay at this hotel. The staff were very good and helpful, nothing was a problem. We were with National Holidays and our driver Derek was excellent. We have had a fabulous time. There was a good choice of menu and plenty of variety. Yes the hotel was a little shabby in parts but it was very clean. It must cost a fortune to keep a place like this decorated to a high standard, some of the rooms have been upgraded and you can stay in them for an extra charge. The taxi from the ferry costs £2.90 which I would think would be the minimum charge. This was our first visit to the Island and we shall certainly be returning. This very beautiful island is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Extra charge for rooms with a bay view but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldenoldie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are please that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will pass on you comments to chef am sure he will be pleased. again, thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

we stayed at the Glenburn four nights, at the end of the day you get what you pay for, having said that they could do so much more to clean the place up, lots of chipped paint work every where, the rooms were very basic dull and weary in our room the curtains were rotten and badly stained, the sink was blocked and dirty water coming back up the plug hole, on the third day the shower packed up completely.the coached trips were a waste of time as the drivers did not speak at all, they had no knowledge of the area which was very disappointing as we had paid good money for them, one driver even confessed to never having done the trip before and had been brought over the night before to fill in,the food was very basic and a lot of it was either frozen or out of a packet, never again with Shearings as they own all the Bay Hotels we will be giving them a wide berth in the future.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marion h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

I'm sorry to read that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Glenburn, as you can see from the many reviews before and after yours this is not normally the type of comments we receive, especially regarding the food. I apologise for what would appear to have been a disapointing stay, but would like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just returned from shearings hotel break.read some bad reviews,very worried what we would find,as soon as we got inside made to feel very welcome.room with sea view was lovely.food fantastic excellent choice,plates always hot,as was the food,well cooked,the chef is fantastic,waiters Archie and Paul although busy,always polite and funny.staff in the hotel couldn't do enough for you,cleaners always spoke to you and we had clean towels every day.cabaret first class,Debbie was brilliant,loved the pipers and dancers.only down side was Colin our driver first coach trip we have been on were the driver didn't say anything about Scotland he had no knowledge at all .sorry lochs and glens for us next time,drivers tell us about Scotland and do excursions every day.

Room Tip: Room310 sea view very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tripper243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and also mentioning our staff they really appreciate when they get a mention and I will be sure to pass on your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the entertainment and yes Debbie is fantastic and she is a regular with us if you fancy seeing her again. The views across the bay are fantastic and it is worth having a room with a view. Once again thank you for taking the time to post onto our site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Just spent a three night break here - the hotel is very impressive, overlooking the bay. It is, I have to say, a little tired and threadbare in places, but my room was spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable with a great view. The food was lovely with a varied choice for each meal, and our waitress worked her little socks off. Excellent value for money and a good location, perhaps 15 minutes walk from the centre of Rothesay. Perhaps it would not be so easy for anyone with mobility problems and no transport to get into town, as it involved a walk down a rather steep bank, but for me the location was marvellous and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our site. Appreciate your comments on the waitress, comfort and the food I will make sure this is passed on to the relevent departments. We have done a considerable amount to the hotel over the years but a building of this size it is ongoing. But once again thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Glenburn at the beginning of September and thought that it was a clean, spacious,friendly hotel. The breakfasts were excellent as were the dinners, and the staff efficient. The rooms were quite old fashioned but warm and clean. We did find the creaky floors annoying at first but it didn't exactly ruin our stay!
The holiday was great value. We relaxed, had fun, explored a place we'd never been to before and met some lovely people. What's not to like!?

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Many thanks for your review, we're delighted you enjoyed your break at the Glenburn and really appreciate you posting your comments on our site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range: £77 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing