We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kingarth Hotel(Kilchattan Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colintraive Hotel(Colintraive)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbot's Brae(Dunoon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
326
414
187
67
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
326
414
187
67
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour waitercoach driverdining roomnational holidayssea viewshearings holidayentertainment roombay hotelsevening entertainmentworked very hardwaiting staffshearings hotelsrestaurant managerelvis tributebeautiful buildinglimited editionbar prices
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
654 - 659 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

WE had a most enjoyable stay at Glenburn. The food was very good and waiters did there job well. We had a lovely room with a sea view.The cabaret was was entertaining on Friday&Saturday evening and 4 drink vouchers on Saturday

Room Tip: A room at front overlooking bay.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jshieldsy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Many thanks for your posting it is good to see you enjoyed your weekend break with us. It is great to see that you found everything to your liking and I will pass your comments on to the team. Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived late on friday night, the restaurant was closing but the manager David welcomed us in and paid particular attention to one of our party who requires a gluten-free diet, we were treated really well by all the staff in the hotel,the food was good, the room decor was dated but very clean.We had a good weekend great value for money and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As you say it is great value for money and we would love to see you staying with us again. I will pass your comments onto David and the kitchen. Once again thank you for your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

stayed here friday to monday with husband,had a really good weekend,hotel was very comfortable and food was good with excellant waiter/waitress service,will stay here again! there are a few bars and resaurants 10 min walk from hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttarra123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

What a good review thank you for taking the time to post onto our site. We have a great team of staff it it is lovely to see when they get mentioned. Hopefully you will return again we will look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Glenburn on a 5day Shearings break in November. The hotel is massive and just a short 5-10 min walk into Rothesay. We found the quiet downstairs lounges chilly,unless you were sitting next to a radiator,but they are so large,it must be very difficult to keep them warm in the winter. The upstairs entertainment lounge was lovely and the entertaiment was excellent-I think it's the best we have had in any Shearings hotel. All the staff we came into contact with, were very pleasant and helpful. Our room,although a bit of a hike from the lounges and restaurant,was large,clean and comfortable,with three windows,giving a glimpse of the bay. The staff in the restaurant were very efficient and I thought the choice and quality of the food was excellent. My husband left the charger for his tablet behind in the room when we left and within a couple of days of enquiring if it had been found,it was delivered by the postman so it's a big thank you for such a quick response.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Famallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Many thanks for posting onto our site. Sorry to see you found the lounges on the ground floor chilly we normally manage to keep these warm. It is nice to see that you enjoyed our lovely ballroom and entertainment I will pass your comments onto Gary our host. I will be sure to let the rest of the staff know your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Visited the Glenburn with my wife in November with Shearings Holidays. Another great value for money holiday set in the town of Rothesay, on the Isle of Bute. Hotel is very impressive, nice decor in the main areas, and nice and warm on what was a chilly mid week break. The dining room is absolutely massive - this is catering on a grand scale, but I couldn't fault the food. Okay, its not fine dining, but for the price its very good with plenty of choice.

We like to visit the Shearings Hotels in the winter to get some hill walking in. For those interested, there looks to be 3 or 4 decent walks to be had on this beautiful small island. There is a fairly detailed map available from the tourist information for £6.99 which shows the island walks, including the West Island Way. Certainly one of the walks we did was not shown on my old ordnance survey map.

For our first walk we took the service bus to Kilchatton Bay (£4.40 return) and took the coastal path around the southern point of the island. The circular walk takes in the ancient church of St Blanes. Well worth the effort, and a beautiful walk.

The next day we took the service bus to Kingarth, and then took the West Island Way across the spine of the island, past a couple of lochs, packed lunch in an RSPB hide, and then down into Port Bannatyne. Took the service bus back to Rothesay, but could easily have walked back along the cost if we had more time. If a shorter walk is required, you could miss out Port Bannatyne and walk straight into Rothesay.

It also looks possible to walk the northern part of the WIW, but the bus back from the northern most point on the island was very irregular which made it impractical for us. Maybe there is a more frequent service in the summer, otherwise a taxi is an option.

All in all a most enjoyable holiday, in a great hotel on a lovely island. There's a few golf courses there as well if you both play.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lodclwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Many thanks for your review and it is lovely to see how much you enjoyed your stay and the Island. It is indeed a beautiful Island and great to see that you enjoyed your walking and it is the best way to enjoy the scenery. Once again thank you for a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews