We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here last week,great location for the promenade and town centre.The hotel is clean but needing a bit of TLC.It must have been grand in its heyday, but we are in a recession.
We had to change rooms due to it being like an ice box( we ended up in the backrooms of the hotel) this was due to the hotel starting backup, after the christmas break,although our room and the hotel warmed up as the days progressed.
The food was adequate.Our waiter Christophe was great,Thankyou.
One Highlight, was Gary (entertainer) superb,a massive credit to the hotel, me and the wife loved the entertainment, youve got to see ELVIS (gary).
The entertainment room was full on the wednesday, mainly due, we think to the frree drinks,Ha.The beer and lager was just under £4 a pint and not the best.Plenty of pubs close to the hotel.
Please. avoid the Dunoon excursion you will bring your breakfast up, it was a roller coaster ride and cost £19 each(ripoff)
Pop into the victorian toilets, at the jetty, 30p each for entrance, a bit of a laugh.
Great walks to be had around Bute.Plenty of buses.
Overall a nice short break.We would consider returning again.Thanks again Gary.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stev s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review and your great comments about Gary our host. He is actually in the office with me just now and I have passed your comments onto him which has made his night. I will be sure to also pass your comments onto Krzysztof in the dining room. Once again thank you for your posting and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    349
    164
    60
    48
See reviews for
138
455
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Visited the Glenburn Hotel in Rothesay on the Isle of Bute 27-31 January as a package break with Shearings. Certainly, as a package, the whole experience was enjoyable as it was value for money. As with other hotels of its ilk, the Glenburn is in need of some TLC. The reception area, lounges, cocktail bar and dining areas are all well presented, as you would hope and expect. But the staircase and corridors are in need of some attention and carpeting. Our room (300) was spacious and by and large clean, apart from behind the radiator, but boasted a wonderful sea-view. Daily maid service and daily clean towels if requested. (drop and swap)
Decent breakfast and a more than adequate 3 course evening meal with good choices.
The staff were all exceptionally friendly and never missed a good morning or a good evening.
Service in the restaurant was good but would like to think there would be more of them at busier times of the year.
Absolutely loved our waiter Archie. Truly a modern day 'Manuel', but meant in the nicest possible way. He never seemed to stop moving.
Didn't visit the ballroom, but other guests seemed happy with the entertainment on offer..

Room Tip: can upgrade for a sea view. elect a top floor room to avoid squeaky floorboards above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhino25leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and mentioning our Archie. He is indeed a gem and has worked at the hotel for a number of years now and I will be sure to let him know your comments. By all accounts you have enjoyed your stay with us and once again many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Three night stay to bring in the 'Bells', £500.per couple, food on first night terrible,(very little of it at dinner) room was more exhausted than tired - bathroom had seen better days years ago, that said, all the stops were pulled out for Hogmany, good food and staff were friendly and attentive. Entertainment (scottish dancers/piper and Elvis) proved to be good fun and very enjoyable. Not much in Rothesay other than pubs (personally unable to do any decent walking) so the usual pubs with football/darts and lots of sport for the guys, so sorry won't be back as I believe you can get 3 nights outwith the New Year for roughly £90.00 which I would say would be good value. We had a sea view room which was surprisingly warm. Dining Room and function room was upgraded but our room was not very nice!

Room Tip: Sea View is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strada17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on our site, I'm sorry to see you don't appear to have enjoyed your stay. As New Year breaks go I believe we offered good value for money for the three day break which is one of our main objectives. I noted your comments about your room, we do have a refurbishment plan for bedrooms with another 16 in the pipeline for the very near future. Unfortunatley, with the economic climate the way it is, it is not possible to do everything at the one time. Thank you very much for your kind words about the staff, I'll be sure to let them know what you said.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is one of the better Shearings Hotels we have stayed at. All the staff were friendly and the food was nice. We didn't enjoy the food on one night but that could have been thro personal choice. The service in the restaurant was the thing that let it down, we had to wait along time for our order to be taken. We didn't wait for dessert one night as over 20mins after finishing our main course we still hadn't had our plates removed let alone had our order taken. Our waiter seemed to get rather himself into a flutter.
The entertainment was ok but we could have done without the half hour history lesson from the bagpipe player on the history of the bagpipes and of Scotland, we left the room before he finished his lesson.
We stayed at the end of October and although the weather wasn't the best we still enjoyed our stay and would go back, tho in the summer months. would recommend a visit to the Isle of Bute.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 222JudyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on our site. I'm sorry to see that you had problems with the service on the dining room, as you may have seen from previous postings this is not normally a problem at the Glenburn and I hope it didn't detract too much with your enjoyment of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Had a very enjoyable 4 nights at the Glenburn,food was very good and the choice was also.The entertainment was good but the Bingo on two nights lacked any great fun element a bit matter of fact.The staff were nice and the hotel was nice and warm considering the massive size of it all.Creaking floor boards in our room and our friends room next door we knew every time that they moved ! Bar prices just a liitle on the dear side,but we were on a 4 free drinks a person per night offer so it worked out not too bad. All in all a place we would return to on a Shearings package like we were on. Stayed 16th Dec to 20th Dec 2013

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianBurnleyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, General Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Many thanks for the great review you have posted, it's nice to see the staff getting mentioned and I'll be sure to let them know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I went there with the family from 23-27th December. Lovely hotel very warm, staff very friendly and helpful. Food excellent always hot and the service was excellent. We had a coach driver called Harry who took us on island tours who was excellent couldn't fault him. Rooms were large with a lovely seaview. Didn't think much of the entertainment except the dancers were really good. Overall a lovely hotel and a beautiful place to stay our family loved it, my daughter aged 7 was only child there and she loved it. Big thanks to all hotel staff and Harry.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Many thanks for posting such a great review on our site. Lovely to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I will make sure that your comments get passed onto all concerned. Sorry the entertainment wasn't to your liking but we would hope to see you again at the Glenburn sometime soon. Happy New Year and all the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Arrived day before Christmas eve for a stay of 4 nights. We had a great time, staff very welcoming, room clean, sea view superb. The service in the restaurant was the quickest ever! Food very good too. It was warm every where, except in ballroom, needed a cardigan there. Entertainment, so,so. A hotel we would come back to. Vasti D

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vasti d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review so glad that you enjoyed your Christmas break with us. I will make sure that your kind comments get passed onto all concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
7.1 mi away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Property: The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing