We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I suppose you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Reviewed 6 July 2014

fantastic views, entertainment boring, food ok, waiters lovely!, bedroom dirty with thick dust around edges of carpets, cracked washbasin no shower screen or hook for shower-head had to hold in hand, lumpy bed. room 406.Lovely Island

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our site. Sorry to hear that you found parts of your holiday not enjoyable. This room has a hand held attachment it is not classed as a shower this is why you did not have shower screen and so on. I will speak to the housekeeper about the other issues that you have mentioned with the bedroom. Once gain thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We visited this hotel during June 2014 and had mixed feelings about our stay. The hotel exterior is stunning and in a scenic location overlooking the bay but inside looks a little dated and tired.
The food was excellent value for money and there was plenty to do inside the hotel (cocktail bar, ballroom etc) but you step outside the hotel into a time warp. The shops in Rothesay are also tired and run-down and the island itself seems to have been forgotten (see pic of tourist information centre). If you are looking for a hotel to rest in, then this is the place (apart from the fact that my bed was very uncomfortable) but if you want some adventure or something to do then I would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LenHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Many thanks for your posting. As you have said you have mixed feelings about your stay with us but did enjoy the location of the hotel and the good value for money holiday that we provide. My apologisies that you found the bed uncomfortable we could have changed it for you had we known. I will pass your kind comments on about the food to the Head Chef. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed her 28th and 29th June. We had a superior room on first floor and it was superb. Views to die for. The entertainment on Saturday night very good although we did not participate on the Sunday night. The function hall in on first floor and very modern with a splendid view of back gardens. There's a nice bar area on ground floor with doors to nice Victorian verandah with sea views, tables and chairs and it's a sun trap. We had very good weather which just made our stay. The food was fine something for everyone. The only complaint was we did not get very good table service and had to ask on both occasions re dinner. If you want a treat go for superior room or at least a sea view. We would not hesitate to return and Bute is beautiful as they say

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind thoughts on our site. On the whole you have enjoyed what the hotel and the island has to offer and as you say great weather always helps. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the service you received in the restaurant and I will look in to this. Once again thank you for your posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Weekend visit with a group of friends and family. Fantastic time! A big thanks to all the staff for making our weekend so enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel for a weekend break. Will definitely visit again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

What a lovely review many thanks for posting your thoughts on our site. I will pass your thanks on to the staff nad hopefully you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

went for mid week break with shearings,as reported in other reviews found the hotel in need of some tlc,having said that i noticed some recent improvements.our room was top floor we paid extra for a sea view which was well worth the money.the food was good overall,apart from being told at least once every night that something that i wanted was no longer available,another little niggle was that we did not seem to have a waiter designated to our table no66,one night we waited half an hour to order,when i asked one of the waiters,paul,if they were short staffed he said no but immediatley took our order and looked after us that night.the hotel is stunning from the outside with good location,i would advise people with mobility problems to avoid this hotel.the entertainment was good overall,the host was one of the better ones at bay hotels.we would reccomend this hotel and may well return.thanks to staff for an overall enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: pay for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bassyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for for taking the time to write your review. The sea views are worth paying the little extra for the views are second to none. I will pass your thanks to the staff and again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have just returned from this hotel with shearings.I visit this hotel 20 years ago what a big disappointment.the dining room is only open from 6.30 to 7.30 as we were late geting to the hotel due to the coach being late and missing the ferry it was a mad rush to get to the evening meal.that was monday 9/6/2014 wednesday 11/6/2014 ordered lunch people coming in after us were geting served final got served only the tea we ordered did not come had to ask were it was. thursday12/6/2014.Breakfast time 20 minutes to get a bowl of cornflakes surly it could not get any worse evening meal a disaster half an hour with just a breadroll when to reception to ask if we were going to be served told the head waiter would come over i had to stop him my self only to be told give him a couple of miniutes which we did got fed up of waiting and walked out it makes you mad when people are coming in to the dining room 20 miniutes after you and they are on there secound course and you have only had a breadroll. went back to reception to ask for a complaint form only to be told they dont have any.friday 13/6/2014 the head waiter was there and what response from him nothing the only ones to say sorry were the waiters so if you are given table 24 right by the kitchen doors were every waiter as to pass you dont have this table. I think all week must have friday the 13th

Room Tip: seaview on the 3 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post on our site. Sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Glenburn but as you will see we don't really get many complaints about service.
Once again my apologisies that you found your stay with us disappointing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My girlfriend and I had a week in the Glenburn Hotel in June 2014. I immediately liked the old world glamour of the place. The long, carpeted corridors and high ceilings reminded me of 'The Shining'! We were on a Shearings' trip, and were provided with b/b and evening meal. Both were substantial, quite tasty, and served promptly and efficiently. (Look out for the chap I named 'the Scottish Manuel' if you go; he flies around the dining-room in a tottering gait, red in the face, but apparently enjoying his work!) Six of us sitting at two not-very-big tables meant that mealtimes were a bit cosy, but by placing the menus on the floor we managed.
The bedroom was large, the shower excellent, and the bed comfortable. We didn't think it was worthwhile paying the extra for a sea view as we don't spend much time in the room, but we had a great view of a young deer who was sunbathing on the back lawn one day.
At this time of year, before the schools had broken up, the vast majority of the residents were retired, and the entertainment reflected this. I wondered if the young couple in the next room, and the three young ladies on a short break, had even heard of some of the acts whose songs were performed. There were several sessions of Bingo prior to the usual entertainment, and, as a quiz fan myself, I thought that they could have introduced some variety into proceedings by having at least one evening quiz.
In several places around the hotel there were signs that the place had lost much of its former grandeur. Many of the stair edges were getting threadbare, and in some places patched up with gaffer tape. However, it was clean, comfortable, and spacious, and the staff were helpful and friendly. There was a 'Fawlty Towers' touch to some of the interior signposting, though, with the snooker room, for example, apparently being in two different directions, and another lounge that we failed to find at all! Also, we felt they need to examine their arrangements for tipping; there was no communal box for the waiters, and we must have been served at different times by at least five different ones. In the end, we tipped the one who had served us most often, but we would have been happier if we had had a designated waiter - even if it had been the Scottish Manuel.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a shower you must specifically ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quizrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Many thanks for your posting on our site and thank you for some of the lovely comments that you have made about the Glenburn. As you will have seen the deer to get a few mentions and they stay with us all year round. Good to see that you found your holiday good value for money and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
113 reviews
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
315 reviews
14.9 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#2 of 17 in Rothesay
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range: £69 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing