We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilled out visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Chilled out visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is a little frayed at the edges,but the staff are so polite and helpful.

Many thanks to restaurant manager who gave us a different table when we didnt like where we were seated.

Our water Xavier was excellent. One small suggestion that might help all the waiting staff be less stressed at dinner, put jugs of water on each table before meals, and maybe even put a bread roll out at each place setting, it will save a lot of running round.

I absolutely loved our early morning wake up call, the seagull who visited each morning and tapped on the window to gain our attention was delightful.

We had a quiet week at the hotel, didnt go on any of the trips, as having spent two days on the coach getting there, didnt want to be cooped up again.

Hotel is in a lovely location and wonderful views from the front terrace

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Many thanks for your review and mentioning the staff they are a great bunch. I will let Havier know your kind remarks. Good see that you found your holiday relaxing once again thank you for your posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    356
    165
    60
    48
See reviews for
140
463
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We as a couple went on a Shearings coach holiday of 8 days to The Glenburn Hotel, this hotel sits
overlooking Rothesay Bay, so lovely panoramic views over the bay. We upgraded to a Premier room which was well worth the extra money for a spacious and well furnished/decorated room on the front of the hotel. The bathroom was newly refurbished - the only downside was lack of water pressure for the shower, it definitely could be improved by a power shower.

The dining rooms, there are 2 of them are busy with both coach parties and self-drive guests - but the menu offered was the same and it was all waiter service, which in the main was no problem, and the food was fresh and well presented. The only adverse comment was breakfast could have been served quicker if self-service was introduced for cereals & juice, and waiter service for the cooked breakfast. The staff were pleasant and helpful and always cheerful.

The evening entertainment was varied, quiz, bingo, female singer, male singer, scottish dancing by a local dance school and a resident host who worked very hard. The entertainment venue had recently been revamped to a good standard. Added to this we each had in-hotel vouchers to the value of £40.00 each for food and drink - which was a nice gesture.

The public rooms were all big and spacious and as we had marvellous weather the outside veranda was always in use as an additional sitting area, part of this was for use by smokers, the addition of floral hanging baskets made this an attractive area.

The excursions were very pleasant - not to be missed was the optional excursion to Mount Stuart House, a truly magnificent building. All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: seaview high floor - upgrade is worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and you seemed to enjoy your break with us. The views from the hotel are fantastic and lovely to see that you enjoyed what we have to offer. It is a beautiful island and some interesting things to see Mount Stuart House being the biggest tourist attraction of them all. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently for a few days. With the exception of the ballroom and the lounge, the hotel was dated and in need of redecoration. The entertainment was good but not exceptional. The food was just acceptable, however the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view or even better go for the premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Many thanks for your posting your review on our site. We have a great team of staff at the hotel and I will be sure to let them know you have mentioned the service that your received during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went with Shearings to Rothesay Glenburn Hotel. We were delighted with The Accomodation. The Staff were so helpful. The Restauraunt was excellent, a great variety of food every day and plenty of it, all served very professionally.
The Hotel overlooked The Clyde, Swans with their Cygnets would swim by. Deer came into the Hotel Grounds, lovely to see them. On trips around the Island Seals could be seen basking on the rocks.
Shearing coach stopped at Gretna Green on the way up so we were piped in by the Piper. Lovely.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view. Lots of steps and it is very steep so maybe unsuitlable for anyone with walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Breenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for a terrific posting and kind comments about the staff I will pass your comments on to them. Hope you will return to the Isle of Bute in the future many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in room 313 at The Glenburn and had a fantastic view back to the mainland. We watched ferries going to and fro and the landscape appear and disappear behind the clouds and rain. When it was fine the gulls swooped overhead. Once a lost Roe deer escaped from the forest and wandered down the road. A thoroughly lovely Island with interesting shops, a castle and a great visitor centre.
Yes the hotel was up a steep incline, the room windows were unopenable and the breakfast/dinner was total chaos but...we always got fed and the food was perfectly fine.
The bar staff were brilliant, very efficient and friendly.
A great break with Shearings at a great price

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steveprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Many thanks for your review and lovely comments. Sorry to see that you had a problem with your window but we could have got this opened for you if we had known. Glad you enjoyed the island and what it has to offer. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely hotel, rooms very comfortable with fantastic views of the, bay. The food was excellent & the staff very welcoming & friendly. We had a few day excursions which were really very good as our coach driver Simon Houlton was excellent. He was very knowledgeable, friendly & went the extra mile to make it a pleasant trip.

I would not hesitate to book another stay at the Glenburn.

Room Tip: Rooms with a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Many thanks for your great review we do really appreciate when guests take the time to post their thoughts on our site. We would hope that you will return to the Glenburn in the future and once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Room was clean/tidy, Food was above standard,but the chef needs to use lot less salt,Staff helpful and friendly,We when a shearing coach, our driver going was good he was witty, full of facts,about the area,but here's why l cant give 5/5...We book the holiday as it was bill as a entertainment Break",but as it was it was the WORSE we have had in 7 coach trips with shreaings,on the last night the hotel enterianment manager did a turn as elvis, and at least 20 guests walk out, l have never seen that happen before at shearing,first night was Gary the hotel entertainer,who did bingo.sang,but really never inactive with the guests he use a PC for the bingo and the quiz, night 2 was a singer and Gary again night 2 was bag pipes and Scottish dances and the singer from night 2 and of course Gary,,again night 4 was Gary as elvis ,in short the entertainment was VERY POOR it ruin the holiday,
the 2 trips well my advice would be go on the internet and make your own trips Mount Stuart was like a conyver belt in/out next,,,trip to DUNNOON the shearing coach driver was so down beat about there,if he had his way he wouldn't have taken us there,,,,the trip round the island was breath taking.the hotel it self was stunning, but sadly let down by the promise of being a entertain ment break, l feel shearing was reburse the holiday makers as l feel they fail to fullfill their promise, Trip back the shearing driver if he said 3sentances l d be shock, he was boring, yet it was the same driver who took us, its a shame lm having to complain about the holiday as the Glenburn is one of he best shearing hotels lv been in,

Room Tip: up grade.you don't need a seasview as the views are good in most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beakerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for posting your comments on our site. Sorry to see that you did not find our entertainment up to what you expected but you will see from previous posting Gary does get very good comments. We do appreciate the lovely remarks that you have made about the hotel and the staff. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boat House
Boat House
#1 of 19 in Rothesay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenburn Hotel Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Property: The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Isle Of Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing