We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Montford cottage

From north side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From north side
South side Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
From north side
South side
Double bedroom
garden gate
sea view
old walled garden
view from bedroom
boat
Bute ferry
Highland cow
Ferry at night
Dunagoil point
Ascog bay
Saltire
Montford cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ascog, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
debbie o
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed at Montford with my husband, daughter and my three grandchildren. It was the most peaceful and restful holiday I have had in years. The cottage is simply beautiful with the most stunning views. Cosy and relaxing. The owners have the cottage beautifully decorated and their love for the property is evident throughout. I have booked to go again in October. Well worth the visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself as it is beautiful with stunning views
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herdy03
2 reviews
“Great location, great views, great cottage! ”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We are just home from a fantastic week on Bute. The cottage was perfect. Location and setting could not have been better (very close to town centre and ferry, stunning views). The garden is lovely for relaxing in the July sunshine and the cottage is lovely for relaxing in the July rain, watching the weather come and go. The bedrooms are a good size and the living space is very comfortable. The cottage is immaculate, and furnished and decorated to a very high standard, with interesting artwork. All in all, a very relaxing week and we were delighted with our accommodation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOLLY18La...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great week at this cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a great location! We could hardly tear ourselves away from views out of the windows!
Watching the birds feeding and the occasional seals was fascinating.
The weather was very cold, we even had snow, it was great to come back to the warmth and comfort of the cottage.
Everything was provided for a great holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The shower room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kagsporte...
Halifax
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fabulous Week at Montford Cottage”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Montford Cottage delivers everything it promises. The location is amazing. Perched beside the water with amazing views across the firth and into Rothesay Bay. The layout provides views from all rooms. The three adults, my husband, son and me, all shared the space comfortably throughout the week. As always on the island the weather varies hour by hour and that provided opportunities for amazing photographs. Everything you need is provided for cooking and we did a lot of our own cooking. The books about Bute and maps were really useful in planning walks and also learning more about the history of Bute. The bus stops right outside the house and we used them regularly. They are always on time, sometimes a bit early so make sure you are ready and waiting in good time! And at £2.60 return it is a fair price. One thing that would have made the stay perfect for us is Wi-Fi. In this day and age I sort of expect to have WiFi access. We found places in town that did have it and that helped. Next time we come we will make sure we bring our own acess. It won't stop us returning to Montford Cottage again in the future, nothing will keep us away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: Lack of Wi-Fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful location, great cottage”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here for three nights. Views to die for and Bute is a fascinating island to explore. Can't fault the cottage - it's been done up well and is well equipped with two spacious bedrooms. It was clean and homely and cosy and has nice character with fab views. Toilet and shower on the smaller side with no bath - but it is a cottage so that was expected.
Bute is a great Island to explore- Sally some of the places we'd have like to see like don't open till late March after Easter like Mount Stuart.
Jack and Kate the owners have a wealth of info to guide the visitor including their own recommendations and it is clearly apparent they love the island too. The cottage is full of lovely quirky home from home touches. Would love to go back to this wee gem.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy H
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage by the sea - with seals!!”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Tastefullly appointed cottage with truly stunning views. It's not often one can have tea in bed whilst watching the ferries go by! We enjoyed the wildlife, watching the glorious elemental weather change the pictures through the windows. We saw snow on the beach up to the water's edge followed by the bluest and sunniest of days. The seals at the end of the garden were a joy to watch. Despite some very cold days the cottage was always cosily warm. Bute is a beautiful Island and wherever you are the scenery is lovely. Only sorry we forgot to write good things in the visitors book - hope this makes up for it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the views from all the windows
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddie125
Elderslie, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday on a beautiful island”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in October 2013

I have just booked a return to Montford Cottage following my stay there in October 2013. The cottage is really well appointed in a fabulous location close to the sea which is visible out of almost every window. I have visited Bute a few times over the years since spending a holiday there as a child but never explored the island. It is a beautiful island with soft rolling hills and spectacular views in every direction particularly to Arran. The cottage is only two miles from Mount Stuart house which is probably the most spectacular large house I have ever visited. Stella McCarney's wedding was held in the family chapel here. We are cyclists and the roads are perfect for days out on the bike and on one trip we met cows which were as friendly as horses which was really funny. Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Aspect and proximity to the sea.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing