We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury apartment with a view over Loch Lomond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carrick on Loch Lomond

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Carrick on Loch Lomond
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arden
Dunlop
Level Contributor
177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Luxury apartment with a view over Loch Lomond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had a 2 bed apartment on the 1st floor (114) overlooking the loch & golf course. The apartment had everything in it, was clean & comfortable. The view from the small balcony was great & you could sit watching the golfers go bye the 16th green. Another advantage is that you get free entry into the Carrick Spa by staying in these apartments, it has a nice quiet pool, saunas, steam rooms & jacuzzies.

Room Tip: Request a loch view if you are staying in the mansion house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rspatrick1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    13
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had 3 wonderful days. We were booked in quickly and efficiently. Our lodge was top quality, we've never been somewhere so luxurious and clean. I.E. music system was a bose, sheets were beautiful white cotton, pans the best quality, leather setees etc etc. Beautifully decorated, plush bathroom and each bedroom had an en-suite as big as a bathroom, sauna if you wanted. My sister-in-law and I kept pinching ourselves. We were not actually on loch lomond which was a shame more near the golf course but it was still very pleasant. We were walking distance to the Claret Jug resturant where the spa facilities were. Had a pleasent meal there and the staff were very friendly. We also had the spa experience twice. First time was wonderful, the pool is a lovely size to swim in, jacuzzi's, heat beds and bench, sunas and roof top jacuzzi. We did our experiences when it was dark so we could see the moon and stars. The second time was not as good purely because there had been a power cut and the facilities like pool and jacuzzi's were not as warm as they should be and the heated chairs and bench room were not working. It was a real shame as our first experience was fantastic. The De Vere hotel which these lodges were with was also top class. We went out for a couple of meals but actually cooked in one night as the lodge was so lovely. We also travelled to Glasgow to the main shopping part which had lovely buildings and places to eat and also went to Edinburgh which is another lovely place to go. My husband and brother-in-law went to a distillery which they obviously enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherwood24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

we have stayed 3 times now, twice near Xmas with family who came up form Cheshire. we just love it. we have always stayed in the mansionhouse apartments, and in low season for around £100-110 per night for 4 people (2 bedrooms). the apartments are amazing, the best one we had for views was 113, but all have been good. my only complaint is they are tight with the toiletries and only supply for one room (same with bathrobes), they charge if you want them in the 2nd bedroom. the great thing about staying at the Carrick as opposed to Cameron House lodges is that you get free use of the amazing spa included, with its fab roof top hot pool. we hope to continue with our annual visits, its a bargain in the low season, definitly 5 star luxury. we also usually have one meal in the Claret Jug (who also have good deals in low season), very nice, and this time we ate once in the Boathouse on an itison deal (fab) - nb. free conceirge service to take you on request between the Carrick and Boathouse / Cameron House. only downside, check in is at Cameron House not at the Carrick itself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I had occasion to make numerous complaints about the Carrick over one year ago with regard to the quality of service in the restaurant and in the spa. I foolishly assumed that the standard of customer service would have improved during the last year and I made a reservation for a massage last week. Due to unexpected family committments I was unable arrive at the designated time. I telephoned first think in the morning of the appointment to request a change in timing, a postponment or an entry to the spa to replace my appointment. None these options were acceptable to the Carrick hence I am left with a £50 charge for nothing. I accept that the 'rules' allow for this cancellation charge to be made, what I do not accept is the intransigence of the staff in applying there 'rules'. Staff training is again urgently required.Flexibility in applying 'rules' is a prerequisite of good service. I pass the doors of the Carrick and Cameron House frequently but I will never again enter these doors.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewartmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Visited the restaurant last night. First impression was good, ordered drinks and provided with menu straight away and made our choice quickly. Despite restaurant being almost empty we waited a further 20 mins for our order to be taken. Food ok, but waited too long for it to arrive. As soon as we finished our main course we were offered the desert menu and waited a further 15 mins to have our order taken and this was after prompting staff.Decided to head back to hotel and were told that transport was on it's way, so went outside to wait. After 15 mins we went back and asked when to expect it and asked again after another 15 mins, it arrived 35 minutes after were told it was on it's way. Would have been good if they had offered a drink or coffee, but no attempt was made to check if we were ok. Really disappointed. Another point, relaxing atmosphere dampened by frantic cleaning up by bar manager. Needs to be done, but discreetly would have been better. First time that I have never left a tip, although service charge added, what service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Violet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Visited the spa with friends & we had a treatment. What an amazing place, superb. The place was quite quiet so we managed to really relax & the treatment was great & loved the relaxation room for afterwards. My only issue would be that the group of staff standing about on the first floor reception area could be a bit more helpful. We had never been before but nobody offered to show us anything, another guest had to show us how to use the lockers, explain about the robes & even said to us "somebody should have shown u in & given u all flip flops" but even after asking the group of staff busy chatting, where do we go for the spa, they just pointed us in the direction. I will be back for sure & will make sure I have lunch in the cafe which looked lovely & fresh, can't wait....

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowMoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed in the Mansion House in a luxurious 2-bed apartment with views of the 14th tee, Ben Lomond and Loch Lomond on a special offer 3 night break. Our stay included use of the wonderful Carrick Spa. That alone saved us money. We ate at the Claret Jug at the Golf Club which has been a favourite of ours for a long time with good service from the young staff team.
We will definately go back if/when the offer comes up again and would recommend it and all The Carrick has to offer to anyone looking for a special relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMcRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arden
0.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
0.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrick on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrick on Loch Lomond

Property: The Carrick on Loch Lomond
Address: Arden, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria > Arden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arden
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Carrick On Loch Lomond Hotel Arden
The Carrick On Loch Lomond Arden, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing