We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food at the claret jug winter warmer menu”
Review of Cameron Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cameron Lodges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arden
Alexandria, Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“excellent food at the claret jug winter warmer menu”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

had the winter warmer menu £29 for 2 people for 2 course dinner. I had the salmon to start then Thai veg curry - very tasty and my hubbie had soup then fish which was also really nice. staff very friendly and polite. all in all really nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    14
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This is the second visit to Cameron House/Carrick. Our first visit last year was a huge dissapointment as the lodge we had been allocated at Cameron House was dated, dirty and should not have been let out! We contacted the management team on our departure (yes we know we should have done that when we checked in) but anyway they informed us that that particular lodge should not have been let out as it was due to be refurbished and that they would offer us another week free gratis to show what the real experience of staying there should be like. Due to illness we were unable to use this offer until last week. We had been given the choice of returning to Cameron House or trying out the Carrick. Having been put off by Cameron House I chose the Carrick. We were allocated Lodge 116 ( a two bed three bath lodge).
Overall the stay was fantastic. We had a good check in which was far better than last times check in (I note from other reviewers that customer service seems to be lacking in certain parts of this resort and we have experienced this only a little on this visit and this was from the girl on the desk in the spa). The lodge was of a high standard and would definetly go back again. My only complaint is the excessive charges for electricity. That needs to be reviewed as they are terrible!

Room Tip: Lodge 116 was great as lovely view, good parking and still near enough the Claret Jug to walk too
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phmm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We have just returned from our stay at the Carrick for the seventh time. We are lodge owners and have to say are very pleased with the up keep of the lodges. I have to say I was not impressed to find the activity centre was closed and all activities were to take place at Cameron House for the kids as this meant traveling back and forth throughout the day. Having said this any day we had something on we just rang for the conceige and they took both our children back and forth and returned them to the lodge or where we were dining. I had booked both our children in for the whole week of activities and have to say they thourghly enjoyed themselves. As they had a Halloween theme on that week this was excellent the kids enjoyed going out with the ranger to build hedgehog houses and camp fire night. They enjoyed their two chef classes and the Halloween disco was excellent. Thank you very much to Kelly and her team for all activities on and my daughter was very impressed with the face painting to go with her gothic ball gown so thanks very much from the Cowlings. Wk 42 (look forward to next year).

Room Tip: We own a three bedroom lodge which sleeps eight and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport,U.K.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at Mansion House at the Carrick. The apartment was superb, with lovely solid oak furniture, high quality lighting and furnishings and in perfect surroundings, looking onto Loch Lomond.

The staff were friendly and efficient. We used the spa which was delightful and the hot tub, looking out onto Ben Lomond. Had drinks in the Great Scots Bar at Cameron House.

Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneAitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The Carrick Spa was recommend to me so my husband and I booked and a deal with a Rasul mud treatment. This turned out to be DIY, but that suited us. However, we were told to go to the waiting area 5 to 10 mins prior to the mud session and someone would get us at noon. No one arrived so eventually I asked a passing member of staff and she reluctantly showed us to the room. It was a quiet day for them apparently and there was a distinct lack of staff to be found, anywhere. Two fancy showers in the spa, neither functioned properly. Seats outside on the balcony were covered in bird droppings and spider webs - needs a little more care at those prices! The spa area is beautiful and the lockers and changing rooms were nice, but the day was applied by the food. Limited choice but very expensive and came from the Claret Jug downstairs. I had the lamb burger at £15.95 took almost a half hour to arrive. Burger came with a tiny pot of extremely greasy and cold sweet potato fries. I was starving by this point, so i just started tucking in. Small chip of a bone in the first mouthful, but just spat it out and put it to the side. Second mouthful the same again. I was eating this burger in fear of cracking a filling or chipping a tooth. Couldn't face a further wait for something esle, so I gave up? Young waitress asked if everything was OK and I said no. Pointed out the 5 small pieces of bone chips on my plate and said the fries were greasy and cold. I left to get showered as we'd been in our robes this whole time and said I'd meet my husband outside. We decided that we'd had enough and this meal had definately taken the shine off our day. Later I asked him if anyone had come to apologise about the burger and he said someone came up and offered to take 20% off the cost of the burger! What!?? A burger full of small chunks of bone at £15.95 and cold greasy fries and they'll only take 20% off the bill? I would have thought they'd be mortified to have served up such poor quality fare at a De Vere resturant, but it seemed not. My advice would be enjoy the spa, but give their food a wide berth.

Room Tip: The spa has a full size pool on the ground floor. Only noticed this on departure and commented to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Accommodation (Carrick 2 bed lodge): The lodges were clean,had nice interiors, a sauna, a bath big enough for 2 people and 3 showers...We were sad to leave after our 3 night stay. But please please please get rid of the petty £20 electricity charge you get hit with at the end. Honestly having to pay for communal street lights is just tight.

Grounds: The grounds are well kept and include tennis courts, and is safe for the kids to play and cycle round. There were great walks and the lodges are 5 mins walk from a litte pebble beach on Loch lomond.

Carrick Spa: Clean, spectacular, brilliant for adults to relax. Kids allowed 2- 5 pm. Felt like I couldn't relax though as our kids were the only kids there and every time they screamed with enjoyment a few older ladies (clients) would look and frown.

The Claret jug: Expertly designed for that wow factor, only had drinks in here but conclude with others that the service level is minimal...ie enough to get by. Pricey too but inline with other swanky bars.

Cameron house leisure facility: 2 miles away...Kids welcome all day. Included if you stay in carrick lodge, Brilliant for kids, really nice and warm water. Staff friendly.Squash courts. Kids club looks good although we didn't use it. There is a concierge service which was fantastic.

The boat house restaurant: 5 mins from walk from Cameron house, Amazing setting, fab fashionable decor, Decent menu for all the family. Service was good at a good pace but I feel that if we are going to emulate an american New England boat house lets get the american service with smile attitude aswell. Whats the point in having coloring in sheets for the kids then saying sorry ..no crayons left? Also I hate 10% service charge being added automatically.

The great scotts bar (in Cameron house): Loved the decor, amazing views...but DONT EAT HERE. Substandard food at elevated prices....guarantee you could cook better yourself. Menu made everything sound scrumptious but the food came and it was nothing like the description.

All in all a fantastic place to spend a short break with the family!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We recently had a meal at the claret jug restaurant at the Carrick. When we arrived in the morning for coffee there was no-one around, so we waited n waited so I made a loud cough! To which a young blonde female appeared with a make- up brush and a mirror. I asked for 2 coffee n she said yes, but we waited for 15 min till she finished her hair and make. !!!!!!! Finally we get them, I asked for the meal so we could book for the evening n she came back about 20 min later after vanishing into the kitchen area. We noticed a lady mopping at the back of the bar n she quickly went at got this female. I asked her name she said Danielle. Now I presume at places like this she should b wearing a name badge!!!!!! We then placed an order for the evening, n as we were about to leave Danielle stood at the bar n didn't even acknowledge us leaving. A very rude young lady with very little experience, and really should b shown the door.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JasGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arden
13.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
18.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
20.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
23.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
22.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Lodges

Property: Cameron Lodges
Address: Arden, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8RE, Scotland (Formerly The Carrick on Loch Lomond)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria > Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arden
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two miles North of Cameron House as you enter the Carrick estate, enjoy meandering through the golf course and its stunning water features which engulf you on both sides of the road leading to the clubhouse and the award-winning Spa at Cameron House. Guests staying in a Cameron Club property receive complimentary access to the Thermal Experience at The Spa at Cameron House, including full use of the Rooftop Infinity Pool. From two bedroom apartments to four bedroom luxury lodges and luxury three bedroom cottages, Cameron Club Lodges (formerly ‘Carrick Lodges’) allows you to rent a variety of accommodation. Our self catering options which are available to rent are perfect for families, large groups or a romantic break for two. Within the Loch Lomond resort, there are a host of amenities including The Claret Jug restaurant, The Spa at Cameron House & The Carrick Golf Course and several walking routes. Ideally situated beside Loch Lomond and within the grounds of The Carrick golf course, you can happily sit back and watch the world go by from the comfort of your lodge window, balcony or patio terrace. With a regular shuttle service, the amenities of world-renowned five-star, Cameron House Hotel is only a short ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cameron Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrick On Loch Lomond Hotel Arden
Cameron Lodges Arden, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing