We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dog friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardlui Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardlui Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardlui
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great dog friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have stayed at Ardlui several times as it is less than an hour from our home in Glasgow and is beautifully situated. This really is a TRULY dog friendly hotel - our lovely lab Lucy is able to come with us to the cosy bar, lie by the fire and come and have dinner with us in the restaurant. The staff are just great - they always provide water bowls for her and treats which, being a lab, she never turns down!

We decided to upgrade our room on this visit as it was our anniversary and stayed in the beautiful room 22 with a stunning view on to Loch Lomond. We even had a lovely sitting area with a separate TV.

The choice of food in the restaurant is great. I am a vegetarian and there is always a good selection.

All in all, this lovely little hotel ticks all the boxes - location, food, service - it's a great place to relax with your 4 legged friend.

Room Tip: Spend a little more - room 22's view is just stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    102
    62
    22
    19
See reviews for
71
190
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just back from a wee break in this lovely Hotel, had a lovely time, food was great as was the service, all the staff were great, especially Gary who seemed to be there all the time and knew the area really well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a superior room which was fantastic as we had a small separate sitting area (room 22) and a beautiful view and a wonderful shower. The only small downside is if anyone visiting has any problems with mobility, there is no lift. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Another visit in the near future we hope.Thanks to all the hotel staff for a lovely visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnYvonneMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

FIRST CLASS!
Just home from an overnight stay in the Ardlui.
fabulous location,food,wine,and accommodation ..
Staff very attentive from the moment we arrived and throughout our stay.
Thankyou so much for a great stay. Will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Calico21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottSquires, Owner at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for the review. So glad you had a good stay with us and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We booked a superior room at the hotel, however due to building work, ended up staying in a wooden lodge. We were delighted with it - spacious, clean, nicely furnished, well equipped, the addition of a sauna was a bonus, location fantastic and the views were terrific. Comfortable beds, great storage space if staying for breaks longer than a few days. We also had our 2 golden retriever dogs with us. We have been disappointed on a few occasions when hotels have advertised themselves as " dog friendly ". I am delighted to say that our dogs were welcomed in all areas of the hotel except the restaurant. We had lunches and dinners in the hotel pub and lounge - the meals were very good, tasty, well cooked and presented, good value and excellent service. Breakfasts were really fulfilling and sufficient to last us through the day. All staff, Becky at reception and waitressing, bar and onsite staff were very friendly and no doubt contribute to the lovely relaxed atmosphere in and around the hotel. We were only there for 2 days due to work commitments, but felt the benefits regardless, and would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestLothianLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottSquires, Owner at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very dog friendly so we are glad that you dogs enjoyed their time too. We hope you will visit the hotel or our lodges again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Spent a couple of nights here with extended family (6 adults & 2 dogs in total!) whilst back in Scotland to celebrate my 30th birthday. The rooms, food (breakfast & dinner) and service were great. The staff, especially Terri who was working the days that we were visiting, are a real credit to the business and I would happily recommend a visit! Hopefully we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a superior double or asking for a room with a Loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottSquires, Owner at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, i will certainly let all the team and Teri know that they are doing a great job. We hope that you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for the weekend through an itison deal. Were upgraded to a premier room as there was a party booked for the Saturday - nice touch and appreciated. Room was great very very clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of the loch. Staff were very helpful especially Gary and the food portions were massive. As I work within the trade I would totally recommend for value for money. Pity we didn't get to sample the dram and tablet which was part of the deal but probably an oversight as staff were busy. Maybe next time

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view the scenery is stunning and so relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottSquires, Owner at Ardlui Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, i can only appologise about not receiving your dram and tablet, as this was included in your stay. Just let us know next time and we will make up for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardlui
6.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
7.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
14.1 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
20.9 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardlui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardlui Hotel

Property: Ardlui Hotel
Address: Ardlui, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Ardlui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardlui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardlui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ardlui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardlui Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing