We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive hosts”
Review of Ardlui Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardlui Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardlui
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Attentive hosts”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights as part of a walking holiday. We were given a superior room which was very comfortable and had everything we could ask for (apart from a working heated towel rail). The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had breakfasts and evening meals both days. The quality of the food was very good and you certainly didn't go hungry with decent sized portions and a reasonable selection.

Room Tip: Room 10 was very comfortable but has a view of the caravan park next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    109
    65
    23
    22
See reviews for
76
196
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

After getting married here last year we definitely had to return for our 1st anniversary. We stayed in the cnap mor lodge which I love as it's so homely and my boys adore the bunk beds. We had a meal in the hotel which was really good. I love the whole marina, hotel and lodges and just enjoyed my whole weekend relaxing. See you again next year if not sooner, thanks from The Bell family

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffymel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Used this hotel for travelling The West Highland Way. It is in a wonderful situation close to the Loch and can be accessed by ferry for walkers. On arrival bags were already in our rooms, a nice touch, and staff most helpful in greeting and helping in all areas.

This is a quaint hotel and not brash having a bar, restaurant and breakfast room. Dinner is good standard fare while the breakfast excellent. Bathroom is rather small but abundant hot water.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1939northeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having got over the mix up between our Walking holiday operator and the hotel, we got our rooms and had a good 2 night stay. My room was fairly modern and equipped. Dinner was a pleasant surprise with large portions and plenty of vegetables. Only disappointment was the price of the beer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Ardlui hotel is situated on a beautiful spot alongside Loch Lomond. The owner of this hotel has the opportunity to create a wonderful accommodation here but the owner didn't...
This hotel is hopelessly outdated. Old furniture, terrible furnishings, filty carpets, noisy and a restaurant with a chef without any imagination (perhaps there isn't a chef...). The hotel gave me an upgrade to a bigger room (why does this never happen to me in a 5 star hotel...?) and personnel was friendly but I will never recommend this hotel. What a pity...

For WHW walkers: As the hotel offers a ferry between the east side of the lake and the hotel I selected this hotel instead of one the B&B in Invernanan for my third stop of the WHW. I did not take the ferry but walked the whole track. I thought I could take a cab to Ardlui from Invernanan. However this was not possible. I walked approx 2 miles along a busy and dangerous road. Almost all walkers end in Invernanan so it is more fun to have a B&B there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aquarius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a Sat. night in a superior room. Check-in was quick and friendly. The room was a good size with a large sofa and coffee table. The decor was modern, the bed comfortable and the view lovely. The bathroom was a little cramped but fulfilled its functions.
The dinner menu had a nice choice including some simpler fare, served in a friendly manner with a lovely view over the loch and mountains.
Breakfast on the other hand was a disappointment. It seemed that expense was spared everywhere. A communal marmalade jar had to be scraped of its last contents, a jug of orange juice wasn't refilled and the sugar bowl had enough for one cup of tea. Those little things and the lack of service with a smile left a disappointing taste and spoilt an otherwise pleasant and comfortable stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neiltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Visited for morning coffee / breakfast on a lovely Friday morning, first impression was of a dingy, outdated decor. No friendly face at reception. Had run out of food, NO EGGS, no morning rolls and tiny helping of black pudding. The promised roll and sausage turned out to be two pieces of white bread with links and the cups were dirty. The toilets were grimy. Could do much better, would not return without major make over, needs the Hotel Inspector.

Room Tip: Didn't stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cowpitsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardlui
6.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
12.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardlui Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardlui Hotel

Property: Ardlui Hotel
Address: Ardlui, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Ardlui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ardlui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardlui Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ardlui Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardlui Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing