We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome after a hard day!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardlui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardvorlich House Bed and Breakfast Guest House Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Ardlui B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm welcome after a hard day!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After a cold, wet afternoon on the West highland Way, and a mix up in our accommodation, Nancy and Matt went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. I had booked a B and B of the same name 200 kms north, and Nancy sorted this with them, and fitted us into their only available room. Matt picked us up from Ardlui after we caught the ferry from Arleish, he then drove us to the very interesting Drovers Arms for dinner and returned for us later, and then dropped us back to the walk the next morning. Our room was a twin room, very well decorated and comfortable, as was the en suite. Fantastic stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good. Our room was a twin room on the ground floor, and we had wifi, although s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed one night whilst walking West Highland Way. Collected by Matt at Drovers Arms, then taken to Ardlui Hotel for dinner that evening. Excellent breakfast before being returned to the WHW in the morning. Nice room and bathroom. What more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0urDirect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed in 12 B&B's in 14 days on an organised tour. All the B&B's were terrific, rooms clean, hit water, comfy beds, wifi access, and a filling breakfast.....but 3 stood out above the rest.

Nancy and Matt were the difference, they are terrific hosts and made me feel welcome and wanted, which is where other places didn't go so well. I think that personal service, warm smile, and helpful tips go a long way to enjoying the visit.

Plus as a bonus, Matt drove me in and out of town a couple of times as , "part if the service".

Fantastic

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Ardvorlich House lies somewhat south of Ardlui, but the hosts are quite willing to come pick you up at Drovers Inn at Inverarnan and drop you back off there if you are walking the West Highland Way. Rooms were good and clean, although the lavatory is somewhat noisy. The breakfast room is rather small, but they manage to produce a good standard scottish breakfast for all, including cereals, milk and yoghurt. Friendly people, but have a heavy scottish accent that can be difficult for non-native speakers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrouwer_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed at this B&B in June, 2007, with family and friends, and have returned in June, 2013 with other friends. The property is just south of the little village of Ardlui, and about five miles north of Tarbet on the busy A82 highway that runs along the west shore of Loch Lomond. A bit of caution is needed while driving this scenic route, because large buses and lorries make frequent use of this, frequently straddling the middle line as they go on their merry way. Just be alert!

The B&B itself has about 5 ensuite bedrooms, each with cable TV and WiFi access. The owners, Helelor and Nancy, are friendly and take pride in their lovely property. Don't be startled by the occasional rumble of a passenger train to or from Glasgow; the rail line is directly behind the property, but there are only four or five trains a day; none later than 11 PM or earlier than 8 AM. The train stops at the nearby town of Ardlui, and the owners of the B&B will arrange to pick you up at the station, I believe.

There is ample car parking alongside the house, and a delicious full breakfast is served. Tea and coffee are furnished in the rooms, along with delicious Scottish shortbread and cookies! I also had a very good night's sleep, in a quiet, cozy room on the ground floor. The bed was very comfortable!

I highly recommend this superb B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Beautifully located on the western shore of Loch Lomond just south of Ardlui, this is the best B&B we have ever found. The owners are ready to collect folk from the nearest West Highland Railway station at Ardlui, or from the West Highland Way just across the narrow neck of Loch Lomond opposite. Everything about the place was perfect, from the view to the lovely decor, the comfort of the room, the food etc. Plus we had the entertainment value of watching innumerable birds feeding at the feeders on the terrace outside the picture windows.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne & wear
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Having stayed here in 2011 for my partner's birthday weekend, we had no reservations returning to stay for another night as part of our 4 day break on the West coast of Scotland. We brought our mother's with us to give them a holiday as they haven't been to the West coast of Scotland before. We had the downstairs double room and our mother's had the twin room, both were spotlessly clean, immaculately well presented, free WiFi, and all the usual facilities you would expect from a 1st class guest house.

The owners were very accommodating as we had arrived earlier than expected, full of chat, couldn't do enough to make our stay a worthwhile experience. The guest house is set back off the main road on a hillside commanding a stunning view of Loch Lomond, and is so peaceful. All you can hear is bird song, sheep, ducks and the occasional train that passes in the back ground, but even that just adds to the experience.

Some beautiful places for walkers including the Highland Way and a Munro out back, and other places of interest just a short drive away.

Any and every time we will be in the West coast of Scotland and need a place to stay we will have no hesitation in booking a room here if one is available.

Attached photos of nearby places of interest

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanEthel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardlui
2.3 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
365 reviews
4.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,102 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
748 reviews
12.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardvorlich House Bed and Breakfast Guest House Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardvorlich House Bed and Breakfast Guest House Accommodation

Property: Ardvorlich House Bed and Breakfast Guest House Accommodation
Address: Ardvorlich 82 Off the Main a Road, Ardlui, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Ardlui
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ardlui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ardvorlich House Bed And Breakfast Guest House Accommodation Ardlui, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing