We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Victorian Afternoon”

Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Falcon Rest is the Victorian mansion where history is fun. Built in 1896 by Gorilla Pants manufacturer Clay Faulkner, it's been called "Tennessee's Biltmore" by PBS. Some say it's presided over by a friendly ghost. Open daily year round for guided tours, tea room lunches, Victorian Gift Shop, and history-based entertainment and meals for group tours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We especially went out of our way to visit this restored Victorian mansion and felt it was worth it. There was a lot of work and expense in restoring this home which has some wonderful Victorian furniture and accessories. The walls were all painted (no wallpapering) in intense colors which I found rather distracting, but was told they were Victorian colors. We had a delicious lunch in their tea room and enjoyed shopping in the gift shop which has some unique items.

1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sweet potato fries"
in 3 reviews
"local history"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 7 reviews
"original family"
in 2 reviews
"square foot"
in 2 reviews
"bed breakfast"
in 2 reviews
"unique items"
in 2 reviews
"cumberland caverns"
in 3 reviews
"downtown mcminnville"
in 2 reviews
"nice tour"
in 2 reviews
"tour guide"
in 4 reviews
"step back in time"
in 2 reviews
"murder"
in 7 reviews
"restoration"
in 6 reviews
"nursery"
in 2 reviews
"clay"
in 2 reviews
"tennessee"
in 4 reviews
Filter

42 - 46 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

The integrity of the historical mansion is not compromised by the modern day hosts of parties, weddings, mystery dinners, and other celebrations. In fact the conjoining of modern social events with the 19th century elegance of the mansion is in line with the family's ownership of a resort at that same time period. I loved this tour and my sister was similarly impressed. Not cheap, but neither was the presentation of the home and historical story telling. Thank you Miss Charlene, you are a great hostess.

Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falconfirstlady, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you so much for writing. Your visit was delightful. You're right that the Faulkner family owned a mineral springs resort across the road for the mansion, so we are indeed following their example.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This place is a fine country home B&B. The owners are so-so and I thought rooms were kindof spendy for the area and what we got overnight. Cold breakfast. It's a pretty area, but just a few acres of OK landscaping. Have these people been to the REAL Biltmore?

1  Thank MattInTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falconfirstlady, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for taking time to post a review, Matt. An overnight stay would have been at Falcon Manor, the B&B on the grounds of the Falcon Rest tour mansion. We’re so sorry to hear your breakfast wasn’t warm. They’re prepared immediately before guests have asked us to serve them. Possibly we miscommunicated on the time you would be ready to eat, or maybe we delivered breakfast to your room in the winter. In the future, we’ll be sure to take extra pains that meals stay warm in transit.

“Tennessee’s Biltmore” is a quote from a PBS Radio audio walking tour of Falcon Rest Mansion, which won a first-place Tennessee Broadcasters’ Association award several years ago. The Biltmore in North Carolina is a one-of-a-kind castle, and it’s an honor to be compared in any way. The PBS piece was referring to the modern systems, solid masonry structure, and date of construction both buildings have in common – not the scale. We think it’s clear from photos and written descriptions that Falcon Rest is a 10,000-sq.-ft. mansion with five acres of gardens. Neither the size of the property nor the prices charged to tour the mansion or stay on the grounds are on the same scale as its “big sister” in Asheville. People who have toured both places often say one thing they like better about Falcon Rest is that they can imagine a real family living in it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We really enjoyed every minute of our visit. It is beutiful and very evident that a great amount of work and love was done in the restoration of history.

1  Thank lovehistory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falconfirstlady, General Manager at Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

We thank this reviewer and the previous one for highlighting what we consider a very important part of Falcon Rest's "mission." It's been our privilege, not only to preserve the building itself, but also to be the curators of its history. Sharing the mansion and the stories of the people whose lives it touched helps bring local history to life for our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The tour was delightful. It is fun to learn about the local history of families that are still here.

Thank rocketslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Falcon Rest Mansion & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing