We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a bargain short stay”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall a bargain short stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We travelled as a group of 7 (all ages) and everyone thought it was very enjoyable. No room complaints, breakfast was very nice (sausages,bacon etc.) just ask for extra when ordering, plenty of cereals, tea/coffee toast, what else do people want ffs! Dinner was festive and although the portions are a little small you only had to ask for more, no probs, ok its not 4/5 star but what do you expect for £89 for 2 nights stay with 3hr free bar each night with no restriction on how much you drink, all the coach travel and breakfast and dinner!! bet you can't stay at home and spend less on all that!! some people just like to moan. I would recommend this trip.

Room Tip: ask for more food if you want it ( tip your waiter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    546
    261
    91
    72
See reviews for
189
717
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Just visited the Claymore hotel on a three day break via national holidays, the bus ride up to Scotland was very interesting and the coach driver Karl was very funny and informative.

The location of the hotel was great with spectacular views, the hotel itself was dated as mentioned by previous reviewers, but must say was fairly clean and the rooms were warm with the heater which was installed.

The staff was very friendly, polite, and worked very hard to please.

Now for the bad bit...... the food it was shocking, most people who we spoke to thought the same as us,....... to sum it up I would say it was overcooked, cold, and all cheaply bought items ie tins, frozen ect, maybe the best advice I could the management and owners of this hotel is to seriously look at the catering side of the business which is my main issue and lets the hotel down.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLeaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

National Holidays keep their promise of free bar ,apart from the initial rush at 7.30 pm you can drink as much as your system can stand until 10.30 pm.I wish they'd budget a bit more on the food and a bit less on the drinks.
Here is some advice on portion size ' If you can count the chips there isn't enough on the
plate'
I've been to this hotel before , the food standard and quantity at dinner is much worse than I remember and would be shameful in an ultra cheap Blackpool B&B.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is a great deal! ive read some right tosh writen about the claymore.This is a typical highland hotel and for what you pay it is fantastic value(free bar!).My wife needs a gluten and wheat free diet this was no problem even at breakfast,in Scotland ive paid a lot more and stopped in worse hotels .This was a no stress cheap break i would recommend it to anyone.the food may not be to egon ronay standard but you get a choice and the staff work their socks off.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed for the second time. 3 day all inclusive holiday. Driver was rubbish and just didnt speak, and i ve got to say this hotel is going down hill rapidly. I stayed there before and it was ok. Thought me and the wife would go back because we love the area around loch long and loch lomond. The room we had this time was small, and filthy dirty. The service at meal times was slow, ques at the bar. The Entertainment is good though.
The smokers area should be away from the main entrance. Not good. Staff are ok. But they seemed to be diffrent than when we were there in June this year. Maybe they were sick of there jobs. Long season over the summer months. Wont be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richiewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The room was tiny, without a shower! The view was poor, the meals were inadequate, unless ur a little mouse. One of the waitors was very rude so we travelled back to Huddersfield hungry. There wasnt enough room for all the guests in the function room so, we missed out on the entertainment!!! The coach driver wasnt very helful and due to the weather we didnt visit all we were promised, eg, the driver didnt even attempt to take us for our boat ride, instead he took us to an old used car centre and called it a shopping centre when it only had 5 shops in it!! This was a surprise birthday present for my hubby but I think I got the biggest surprise and not a pleasant one! And to top it all the old decrappied coach broke down and we sat in a cold service station for 4 hrs on the way home! Scotland is beautiful and the scenery is breathtaking!! BUT the national holidays company and the hotel left a lot to be desired. I'm afraid we were both very dissapointed!!

Room Tip: Bring a packed lunch and dont believe everything in the brochure!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz13-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is my 2nd visit to the Claymore & my 2 daughters 1st and certainly won't be our last we had a 2 day all inclusive , the room was clean warm & comfortable the staff are just so lovely and helpful . The trips out to Callendar , Moffat , Luss and we stopped off at Gretna Green too were all beautiful the weather was'nt the best but that did'nt spoil it , will be booking again next year :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunderlandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing