We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 21 November 2011

the claymore hotel is situated on the banks of loch long scotland a mere 50 meters from the loch so you get a very good view .On arriving you are greeted by a lovely person she is straight to the point you are here to have fun she was not wronge .for those of you who have not been to scotland before it rains and its cold in the winter time so wrap up well.
the staff are helpful pleasent and nothing is to much trouble for them.The food is not the best i have ever had but its ok for breakfast you have cereals followed by a fryed breakfast.The rooms are just the right size with a telvision and tea and coffe making the bed is not to soft
although the rooms could do with a lick of paint but they are clean the only thing wronge with our rooms was no shower have to get a hand held hose from reception.The entertainment on a night is first class with a game of bingo on accasions too.if you like trips out its not to far from any were realy maybe a coupel of hours at the most plenty to see on the way.my most dissapointing thing for me went to fort william expecting to see a fort it burnt down a century ago oh and never saw nessi either

Room Tip: try to get a room over looking the loch
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briantongrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
There are newer reviews for Claymore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

What a great hotel for a very reasonable price. Had an overnight stay with two friends and can't fault it in any way. I had a single room with a wonderful view (overlooking the Cobbler) and although basic it had everything needed and very clean. My two friends had a twin room and again it was very good.

The reception staff were very welcoming and could hardly believe we were offered a free bar from 7.30 p.m. until 10.30 p.m. - how on earth can they do it I really don't know.

The evening meal was served by a friendly Hungarian waitress, who was very efficient, enthusiastic and the breakfast was also terrific with an array of different options.

I would definitely return to this hotel as cannot beat it on price, welcome, staff attitude who go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Single room to the front with the most wonderful views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pansypotter1732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed at the Claymore on 11th November for 4 days. It was excellent. People who moan about it should stay in a 5 star hotel and pay 5 star prices. The rooms are spotless and the staff are great and so polite. We travelled with National Holidays and our Driver Mike was great and very informative. Always gae us ETA's so we knew where we were. Everyone at the Claymore do an excellent job. This is our 3rd stay and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We travelled as a group of 7 (all ages) and everyone thought it was very enjoyable. No room complaints, breakfast was very nice (sausages,bacon etc.) just ask for extra when ordering, plenty of cereals, tea/coffee toast, what else do people want ffs! Dinner was festive and although the portions are a little small you only had to ask for more, no probs, ok its not 4/5 star but what do you expect for £89 for 2 nights stay with 3hr free bar each night with no restriction on how much you drink, all the coach travel and breakfast and dinner!! bet you can't stay at home and spend less on all that!! some people just like to moan. I would recommend this trip.

Room Tip: ask for more food if you want it ( tip your waiter)
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Just visited the Claymore hotel on a three day break via national holidays, the bus ride up to Scotland was very interesting and the coach driver Karl was very funny and informative.

The location of the hotel was great with spectacular views, the hotel itself was dated as mentioned by previous reviewers, but must say was fairly clean and the rooms were warm with the heater which was installed.

The staff was very friendly, polite, and worked very hard to please.

Now for the bad bit...... the food it was shocking, most people who we spoke to thought the same as us,....... to sum it up I would say it was overcooked, cold, and all cheaply bought items ie tins, frozen ect, maybe the best advice I could the management and owners of this hotel is to seriously look at the catering side of the business which is my main issue and lets the hotel down.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLeaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

National Holidays keep their promise of free bar ,apart from the initial rush at 7.30 pm you can drink as much as your system can stand until 10.30 pm.I wish they'd budget a bit more on the food and a bit less on the drinks.
Here is some advice on portion size ' If you can count the chips there isn't enough on the
plate'
I've been to this hotel before , the food standard and quantity at dinner is much worse than I remember and would be shameful in an ultra cheap Blackpool B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is a great deal! ive read some right tosh writen about the claymore.This is a typical highland hotel and for what you pay it is fantastic value(free bar!).My wife needs a gluten and wheat free diet this was no problem even at breakfast,in Scotland ive paid a lot more and stopped in worse hotels .This was a no stress cheap break i would recommend it to anyone.the food may not be to egon ronay standard but you get a choice and the staff work their socks off.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
505 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing