We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Claymore Hotel”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is an excellent hotel and good value for money. I had a single room which was a bit small but my two friends who had booked before me were housed in single rooms which could easily have taken a couple. The food was easily the best I have ever tasted and at the age of 74 I have travelled extensively both at home in the UK and abroad. Note to management; don't let that chef go or you will be in trouble.
The hotel is in a very quiet location and some form of trasport is essential. Unfortunately the weather was very poor during our stay but that was not the hotel's fault and the entertainment was worth watching.

Room Tip: Book early if you need a single room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victor1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
How great it was to read that you enjoyed the food while staying at the Hotel.
I'll certainly pass on your comments to the chef. He'll be delighted.
I hope that when you visit the Claymore Hotel again the weather will be kinder to you.
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
There are newer reviews for Claymore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just back from a National Holidays 5 day "Beautiful Scotland" break. The Claymore is a standard tour company hotel but the location and staff make it that little bit special. Yes it could do with a refurb - especially the rooms with no shower in this day and age but for the money you pay it's a good deal. Clean room, good wholesome food and everyone is geared to get you out onto the buses ready for a days touring. National Holidays did let us down getting us to Scotland - but a seperate complaint direct to them has gone in. Thanks you to the staff at the hotel for making our stay so comfortable.

Room Tip: well worth paying the extra for a Loch view room...stunning and don't forget your binoculars!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chetun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Claymore Hotel and also appreciated the terrific view from the hotel.
I hope to welcome you back to the Claymore Hotel in the future.
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Just got back from two night stay at this budget hotel went alone the food was akin to pub grub hot filling and pleasant to eat the waiting on staff were smart quick and very proffessional.I stayed in room 400 single room dated yes but just has clean if you want the Hilton then pay the going hilton rate.If you want 4 free drinks per night entertainment/bingo plus not bad grub full english breakfast and three course dinner with a glass of wine for two nights all for £140.00 with national holidays then this is a must the only gripe Ihave is they let people smoke in the main entrance lobby /doorway where any non smoker get a mouth full of passive smoke on entering the joint.CLAYMORE BUILD A SMOKING SHELTER AWAY FROM YOUR DOORWAY

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank colin u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
Please be assured that your comments will be taken on board but I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay nonetheless.
As you mentioned in your review, you DO get a great deal for your money.
Many thanks again.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a 3 night stay and would like to say thanks for a great time. Our room was lovely and overlooked the Loch the Staff were brilliant and so friendly. We met some great people and a good time was had by all. Looking forward to a return trip in the future. thanks Andrea

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Many thanks for you comments on trip adviser.
I am pleased to see that you had a nice stay with us recently.
We try our best to make sure everyone that stays with us has a good time and going by your comments it looks like we were successful!
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Dirty rundown smells in desperate need of upgrading, no way is this a 4*hotel it is the worst we have ever stayed in we have had better by far cheap £15 a night b&bs all waiters were polish and could not understand us, the headboard in our room was wood with a big split mould around shower, shower door broken, my husband is 6"2 and he couldnt fit in the shower because of boxin in on the roof, the smell of the hotel was disgusting worn dirty carpets we are both in our 40's and the rest of the customers were all i would say over 70 so therefore the meals were pensioner size portions

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traceo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Claymore Hotel.
I'm disappointed that many of the remarks you made in your review are untrue and that you found none of the facilities at the hotel to your liking.
As you can see from the vast majority of the previous reviews the hotel is viewed very favourably and we have guests that return time and time again.
I will, of course pass your comments on to the appropriate departments and action will be taken where necessary.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Just arrived back from a 3 day (4.9.12) break with National Holidays to the Claymore Hotel, firstly can my husband and I say massive thankyou to our Driver, Steve, who provided a very knowledgable commentary of our location every time we were on the coach. His comedy and friendly attitude were outstanding at all times. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Elaine who explained meal times and drinks vouchers quickly and precisely, then checked us in promptly. It was explained to us that the we had requested a double room and because of the weather conditions the room was unavailable and we were given an upgrade to a better room, so a big thankyou for that. The restaurant staff were extremely efficiant and the food was of a very good standard and the choice was excellent, and the fact we shared a table with other people makes getting to know new people easier. We enjoyed the evening entertainment that is also included in what turned out to be a very pleasant mini break with National Holidays.... would we return ? Most definately. You can please some of the people some of the time but never all of the people all of the time..........

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Many thanks for your nice comments on trip adviser.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your mini break at the Claymore hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Claymore Hotel in the future.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Just got back from a 3 night stay with my sister and mum, we loved it and will be back again, The staff could,nt do enough excellent service and we enjoyed it from start to finish, brilliant value for money thankyou.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tats8366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay here with your sister and your mum.
We take great pleasure in making sure all our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay and
I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Claymore Hotel.
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing