We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claymore Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Arrochar
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ardgartan Hotel(Arrochar)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inversnaid Hotel(Inversnaid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardlui Hotel(Ardlui)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,529)
Filter reviews
1,529 results
Traveller rating
453
618
282
95
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
618
282
95
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysfree barour waiternational coachcoach driverconcert roomno liftscenic viewbeautiful scotlandentertainment roomshower attachmentdining roommet some lovely peopleburns nightfood was lovelygretna greenevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,171 - 1,176 of 1,529 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

just returned from claymore hotel with national holidays we are both in our 50s and thought we would be youngest on the coach we were wrong as previous reviewers said we were worried by some reviews negative comments .no need as other people have said hotel needs a makeover which seemed to be getting done bit by bit .the hotel itself is in a lovely location the rooms are small but you are not in them all day any way .dont think i would pay supplement for lochside view as wndows too small to sit at .for people to say the food was not up to scratch is ridiculous there was nothing wrong with it unless all you want to do is stuff your face and make yourself ill because its in with the price as some people do. the meals are varied and large enough dont forget it is a 3 course meal and if you want more you only have to ask and you get it no problem 1 gripe about flexability of meal times .there is none. 8 till 9 for breakfast should be 8 till10 for people who dont want to go on trips and 6 till 7 for dinner should be 6 till8 not everyone wants to eat that early(i dont) day trips were excellent our driver alex was very imformative entertainment was decent especially les the driver who sang .danced told jokes and called the bingo well done les you are 1 cool man .special mention must go to the young girls who came in for 2 nights and entertained with their scottish dancinio first class and lovely young people as well. must mention our waitress for the holiday georgina she was lovely nothing was too much trouble for her in fact all the young staff at hotel great it was the older ones who were miserable all in all a great short holiday we are hoping to go back in may i would reccomend it to anyone and i did not think i would as i did not want to go in first place badgered into it by wife pleased i gave in

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
Your review was very accurate and in-depth and I will certainly pass on your comments to Georgina in the dining room.
You are also accurate when you say the the trip was great value for money!
I'm also pleased that you gave in to your wife and travelled to the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Many thanks again,
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

just stayed at the claymore hotel , was alittle concerned after reading some reviews before we came about the hotel we both enjoyed our stay very much,yes the hotel needs updateing but we found our room to be basic but warm and cosy, the staff very helpfull ,friendly entertainment on a evening was very good,the food was vey good could have double portions if requested, the view of the loch was beautifull, over all a good value for money holiday would stay at this hotel again and go with national holidays ,the drivers alex and les made a good double act , and were very informative and helpfull.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gail c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
It's great when you get a good review from guests that have stayed at the hotel.
Hopefully it can encourage other guests that have also stayed at the hotel to leave their comments.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and you didn't let the comments on trip adviser affect your decision to stay at the Claymore Hotel.
I look forward to wlcoming you both back to the hotel in the future.
Many thanks again,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

just stayed at the claymore with national holidays all you people moaning about the size of the food portions and entertainment want to get a life . you get what you pay for food was spot on and plenty of it. entertainment was very good as well. lovely view right on the loch rooms basic but clean staff all very good i would go again dont be put off by the bad reviews give it a shot

Room Tip: get a room facing the loch spot on
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the views from the hotel.
I hope that you can return to the hotel for some more Scottish hospitality!!
Many thanks,
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

we stayed at this hotel with National Holidays at the beginning of September, although the hotel is a little dated the rooms were clean and comfortable. The service in the dining room was excellent and the food very good. The staff were friendly and I would visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking request a ground floor room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walton0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm so glad you found the hotel friendly and you enjoyed your stay.
I hope to welcome you back to the Claymore Hotel in the future.
Many thanks,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

just came back from a weekend at the claymore we had a really good time, the food was lovely, the staff were really helpful, and the entertainment on an evening was very good, the rooms were clean and comfortable and everyone was very friendly, cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank janice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
Your comments are much appreciated and I'll certainly pass them on to the departments concerned.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Claymore Hotel.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews