We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent Stay”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We spent five days at the Claymore Hotel from 8th to 12th October on a National Holiday all inclusive break. The Hotel is well run with friendly and very helpful staff. the twin room we had was dated and had a minute TV, but our big disappointment was the lack of a shower just the bath. I asked the manager if we could have a room with a shower he told us they were only 20 rooms with showers and were all occupied, Mm 20 out of 518 rooms poor ratio. He told me if I went to reception I could get a shower attachment to fit on the bath taps. We tried this but there was no place to hang the shower head So still had to sit in the bath. The dinning room was well equipped and pleasant decor to have your meals. The hotel belongs to the Bay Hotels which had at the time 4 coach parties to accommodate for at meal times which the staff run like clock work (no waiting for service at all) The breakfast was excellent with full fried breakfast and many more variants, plus Kippers, and toast and preserves. The evening meals were excellent with starters of soup, smoked salmon, garlic mushrooms, and many more on different days. You have the choice of 3 from the main course menu, and choice of 3 from the sweets all well presented and tasty. The evening entertainment was excellent with a large concert room, only grumble was that the bar was in another room and it was a balancing act to open the door when returning with drinks in your hand. I think the hotel mainly is used for coach parties holidays, but we had a great time and it was certainly value for money on the National Holiday all inclusive.

Room Tip: If you have special needs, I would suggest you let them know in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
Your review was very interesting to read especially when you mention the number of rooms in the hotel.
I'm afraid we don't have the luxury of being a Las Vegas size hotel with 518 bedrooms - we have a very conservative but not too insignificant 96 bedrooms, many which have stunning views over Loch Long.
The number of rooms with showers is 37 - slightly more than a third. We are trying to install more showers in the rooms but when this particular extension to the hotel was built baths were "de rigeur".
I only hope that you return to the Claymore Hotel to enjoy some more breathtaking scenery and scottish hospitality.
Many thanks,
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

An old hotel in need of an update to go with the stunning location which we did not have a view of from our back bedroom of hotel bedroom, we had a view of the grey untidy yard area. The decoration was poor and the bed was dreadful and lumpy, the springs had a life of their own.
The meals were basic, the breakfast was the best of the two meals we had with plenty of choice and a second serving of toast but the tea and coffee were cold and like dishwater. The service was good and friendly from the Hungarian waiter. The bar area was pleasant with a lovely view from the window. I know we were on a coach holiday one night break but even those deserve a little comfort. I would return to LochLong but would have to stay with a little bit extra.

Room Tip: Unable to give any advice other than maybe ask to see a room before first committing to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm so happy you enjoyed the views from the hotel which can be stunning but I'm also disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations with the food and the room - even if it was just for one night.
I so wish that you had spoken to the management at the time where we could have rectified all of the issues mentioned.
I hope that this does not deter you from sampling some more scottish hospitality in the future.
Many thanks,
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Sad tired hotel.

Service was mainly by polite, efficient hard working staff with English as a second language. The service was excellent.

The hotel is tired and a bit tatty.

My room was a double en suite was ok, not the biggest. The bathroom was tiny but it did have a shower some do not and I was told they were of little use due to size.

Beware the water is very very hot.

The food was a case of get em in get em out but that was ok.

Typical 3 course meal with choices, not the best ie Hake fish cakes with seasonal vegetables (cabbage, sweetcorn and peppers)

Breakfast selection very good inc. kippers, full english, the works

If on the National holidy package you need to have Carling or pay a £1 to upgrade to Grolsh, similar with other drinks.

Hotel location brilliant right at side of loch surrounded by hills (mountains? sorry Scotland)

If you turn left or right outside hotel you come to local bar and small shop, we preferred left.

Whole package was £79 for 3 days 2 breakfast / evening meal well worth it.

Room Tip: You can pay £8 for a room with a view of the loch. Not worth it you will be seeing it a plenty mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I hope that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Many thanks,
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed at claymore hotel 8Th to 12th Oct, cant believe some of the pathetic moaners that write such rubbish about this hotel, if your going to moan then go to a 5star hotel and pick fault there, rant over. The staff are very friendly, never had one bad thing to say about them unlike some of the customers that they have to smile at, i'm thinking they need medals. Our room key went missing, the manager gave us another key no problem at all, as it turned out later it was found in another slot, so spec-savers are going to be busy soon lol. unfortunately whilst we were there i had bad toothache and needed a dentist, the management and staff tried all they could to contact a dentist at fort William (that's where we were going that day) then rang our driver to let me know witch dentist if any at all would see me. M&S Dentists at fort William did the trick, thanks. So we think everyone at the hotel are great, happy, smile, the lady that works, sings there (sorry, forgot your name) Please dont call her Jimmy Cranky as she will hunt me down lol. We had a great time , food was excellent, breakfast and dinner, a great selection waitress service, all good. The hotel is set next to loch long, wow, what a view when you come out on a morning and the national holiday drivers were great , full of information (just what you need on this type of trip). the entertainment on a night was good, if you didn't want to watch there was other places you could sit for a drink. So all in all, it was built in 1697 and when they get a roof put on and windows it will probably be very nice Sorry, its a 2/3 star hotel and its great, clean, friendly and it doesn't cost the earth if you want to pick fault, well there are lots of things you can find if you look for them, i have stayed in some 5star hotels in the past that dont give you the time of day. So Claymore/National Holidays Thanks we had a great time, toothache an all xxx

Room Tip: Read the information book in your room, our room only had a bath, but you can ask for a shower attac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Many thanks for your entertaining review of the hotel on trip advisor.
I WILL be supplying the staff with new glasses after not finding your key when you required it.(including myself).
I'm so glad that we were able to help you when you were in need of a dentist and happy that it didn't spoil your holiday.
The staff at the hotel will always go the extra mile for the guests and it's great to see that recognised here.
I only hope that you return to the Claymore Hotel to enjoy some more scottish hospitality!
Many thanks again,
kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a national holiday deal and read some other reviews with a little concern. Our concerns were put to rest though as there was nothing worthy of complaint. The hotel is a little dated but you get what you pay for remember this isn't the ritz and neither are you paying he price of five star accommodation. The national holiday drivers are excellent giving running commentary on the sights as you go by them. The entertainment provided here is for an older clientele though very good most night in particular the entertainment manager ELaine who sings most nights but is very good and has a varied repertoire. The food which seems to be a bone of content for some reviewers"...........is excellent in quality the choice is very good and varied with plenty of choice, I dont understand why some fealt there was not enough as asking for more was an obvious option which was never a problem better this than wasting good food at each serving. Breakfast was even better loads of quality product bacon sausage egg tomato hash brown etc etc as much as you could want and we have been to some top grade hotels and been on cruises that provide similar quality at breakfast time. The waiting staff are a mix of British and foreign (Hungarian) if those who criticised would have asked. Most of the foreign staff were educated to degree levels and provided premier class attention to detail nothing was ever a problem all questions met with a smile and a solution. Our package included drinks (four each per night) sufficient for most and should you need more bar prices were no higher that what we pay locally. As I said the hotel is a little dated but always clean fresh fluffy towels each day as warm as anyone could wish, we had a bath in our en suite and found the hot water in plenty full supply and very little noise to be heard from the other guests moving around in the corridors/room. All in all a bargain break for us both that we found very enjoyable and relaxing.

Room Tip: If you want more just ask. If you pay a little more you can have a room overlooking loch long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
Your in depth review is extremely accurate and precise.Thank you.
I hope you will visit the Claymore again in ther near future.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel is set on the banks of lock long with beautiful panoramic views.It is in an ideal position to visit the other locks and dams.We where on a four day trip with national holidays they looked after us very well.Food in the hotel was very good and a wide choice the breakfast set you up for the day.All the staff were very pleasent and helpfull We will be going back.

Room Tip: we paid a little extra for our room looking over the lock it was worth it, some rooms at the didnt h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charleyfarleyAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Claymore Hotel and it's encouraging to see that you will definately return.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Many thanks,
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Have just returned from a 3 night stay 6th to 9th october and was pleased to get back home and have a meal in peace, the restaurant resembled a works canteen,all meals were basic which we don't mind.
However breakfast was boring and uninviting and although there was more variety at dinner it was not good quality. Tea and coffee was poor but when we did manage to find a hot drink it was like dishwater,we just gave up after a couple of days..The restaurant is very clearly understaffed which reflects in the service.
On the plus side the public areas were comfortable and entertainment good,our room was clean and serviced well and the hotel is in a superb location.
We will only consider returning if they drastically improve the restaurant.
Check in was also slow we stood in a queue for about 30 minutes and getting a seat in the entertainment room is a challenge and the two alex and john drivers saving tables should not be allowed as guest should take priority over drivers for seats

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank derek j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I 'm glad that you enjoyed the entertainment at the hotel and you found the location ideal.
I do wish that you had mentioned your thoughts about the tea and coffee while you were here as this could have been easliy rectified.
It was also disappointing to read that you had a long wait to be seated in the dining room.
This only happens when there are many new arrivals on the same day(120 new arrivals) but the seating of guests is normally done quickly and efficiently. I can only apologise for the wait you endured before your first evening meal.
I hope that this does not deter you from enjoying some more Scottish hospitality from the Claymore Hotel.
Many thanks,
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
548 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
812 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing