We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First 5 day holiday with national holidays.”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First 5 day holiday with national holidays.”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Never been to Scotland before but this was really interesting, the hotel could do to be updated and central heating installed, but the weather was exceptionally cold for the time of year. The staff worked extremely hard and made us very welcome. There was entertainment every night. The food was of a good standard with a choice of courses. The highlight of our holiday was the driver Les [ Billy Connelly lookalike ] what an asset to National, comical, always cheerful and extremely knowledgable and informative about Scotland. Very good value for money and we are looking forward to our next holiday with National

Room Tip: Pay the extra for room overlooking the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Many thanks for your review of the Claymore Hotel.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your first trip to Scotland and may it be the first of many!
National Holidays offer great value for money and it would be our pleasure to serve you again on a return visit.
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    566
    266
    92
    73
See reviews for
196
735
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Our National Trip was most enjoyable last week despite the cold weather.(Midweek break. April 23rd -25th. 2 nights). We love Scotland and the hotel is beautifully situated.
The service by all hotel staff was excellent. Our room with a view was alright for just 2 nights but when we return, we would probably stay longer if we could guarantee having a more comfortable bed!! Our double bed mattress was rather lumpy with worn springs especially after a very long day's coach travel. Someone had switched off our storage heater so until we realised it, our room was rather cold.
However, the food, the entertainment and the day trip out with Gordon, our driver, were all fantastic.

Room Tip: Our quiet double room was upstairs with a view of Loch Long but we would pay more for 5 star comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
Congratulations on you recent birthday too!
I'm so glad you enjoyed the view from your room and also that you enjoyed the service,food and entertainment at the hotel.
The staff here at the hotel work very hard so thank you for your compliments!
I can only apologise that you had a lumpy bed. We are changing our bed supplier and hope to have installed many new beds in the near future.
We all look forward to your return,
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

llMy friend and I travelled with National to the Claymore Hotel on Easter Monday for a 4 night break. We can only praise the Manager and staff who can,t do enough to please their guests. Yes, rooms are very small but we were lucky enough to qualify for the large and beautiful disabled room (which really made our stay). Food verry good, well cooked and service impeccable. Scenery, entertainment, trips and drivers all good - what more do you need? Many thanks to Gary and all staff. M & J. Tyne& Wear.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Many thanks for your review of the Claymore Hotel.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your easter break with us here at the Claymore. Easter was a busy time and all the staff were ready to serve all the guests with a smile and bags of efficiency!!
We all look forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just arrived back from the National Holidays, Friday to Monday Superdeal at the Claymore, this was our second visit, having done the 5 day mid week all inclusive last October. Both deals are very good value for money. The Hotel is well situated set back in its own grounds flanked either side by mountains by the shore of Loch Long in the Village of Arrochar a lovely spot to spend time.

The Claymore is a well run Hotel, from Gary the Managers on board greeting on arrival, very informative and helpful throughout. The Hotel is an ideal Budget break at unbelievable prices; yes it does need a little TLC, but what a great place to stay warm and clean rooms nice bar and concert room and pleasant dining room with excellent service from the polite friendly and efficient staff. The meals are fine and tasty and are in line with the budget per head they have to work to.

We did find the entertainment to be excellent but for some reason this time the concert room was more than half empty, perhaps it may have been because there was quite a lot of elderly guest this time. Never the less we thoroughly recommend the Claymore for a fantastic break.

Just to add my wife as disability problems so we requested a walk in shower prier to leaving and this was granted, so its advisable to request prior to accommodate you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Many thanks for your review of the Claymore Hotel.
Your review was in depth and especially informative for future guests.
I will pass on your kind comments to the various departments - thank you.
All I have to say now is - when are you coming back?
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

trips out are very good.on coach.ect.met great friends looking forward to going back to same room with national holidays one year.less ,mike ,dess ect have a fun.friendliness,excellent,great value for money.all inclusive package .would go in december ,october, september.to have hagis, samlom.whisky.plus see the gost again in room 209 at 5.30am thur morning.

Room Tip: we had room 209 that was a low flow room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pellHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thanks for your review of the Claymore Hotel.
You seem to have enjoyed all things scottish whle you were here and know all the correct people including 'the green lady' ghost!
Lets hope she reappears when you return!
Many thanks,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have just spent Monday to Friday at the Claymore on a National Holiday. Yes, the hotel is tired looking and in need of some TLC, but this did not spoil our enjoyment in any way. All the staff were very friendly and the views across Loch Long are wonderful. The service in the dining room is excellent, despite the large number of people staying there. The meals are adequate and plentiful - not fine dining by a long way but if you want 5* quality then go elsewhere and pay 5* prices! In our opinion the holiday represented good value for money.

The included excursions were very well organised, as was the optional excursion to Fort William. Our driver, Les, was a mine of information on the trips and can also turn his hand to anything it seems - from calling the bingo numbers to singing in the function room! An asset to the hotel!

Room Tip: The view from the scenic rooms across the loch is wonderful but you can get the same view from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Many thanks for your great review of the Claymore Hotel.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the service in the dining room.
Les will be delighted with your comments and it's true - he can turn his hand to anything - a valuable asset indeed!
We all hope you return to the hotel to sample some more scottish hospitality.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We arrived back today after a 5 day break with National Holidays, our driver 'Les' was nothing more than excellent with his knowledge of Scotland and his friendliness.
The hotel itself is a little tired with its creaks and cracks, however, for us this added character and always felt homely and cosy with the lovely staff and wood burner in the bar!
The views are breathtaking and the village is beautiful, we are excited to maybe return later in the year! Thank you to all the staff, I miss the views already! X ( Louise,Rich and Jess)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LouiseM839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Many thanks for your appropriately named review!
I'm so glad you enjoyed the hotel and the views on to Loch Long.
We all look forward to your return.
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing