We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What value!”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here from 14th October with National Holidays.Building is a little tired but don't be put off by this. All the staff were very friendly and the manager accommodating. Food was excellent despite some previous negative reviews on this. The entertainment was out of this world. What exceptional value for money from National/Claymore Hotel !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm glad that you found your stay to be value for money.
In these economic times that's really important.
I hope that you can come back again soon.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
There are newer reviews for Claymore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Having travelled to a few below par hotels with National Holidays we were a bit dubious of the Claymore. However, we were very pleasantly surprised as the hotel was excellent!!

All members of staff we encountered were pleasant and friendly, especially Barbara our waitress and Jose in the Bar in the evening.

Food was excellent and nicely served by the restaurant staff, we felt we were served very quickly but without being rushed as is sometimes the case when hotels our dealing with coach parties.

The all inclusive package was very good, a decent selection of drinks in the bar area so there was definitely something for everyone's taste. Entertainment was also good, we didn't play Bingo as it's not our cup of tea but we did enjoy listening to Elaine on the Friday night!

Small downside and that is the room needed modernisation, however, this must be hard as the hotel seems full more or less all the time. We did notice that our room was spotlessly clean so obviously the housekeeping staff are trying their best!

Thanks to all the staff for a great stay! The Claymore definitely sets a bench mark that all National Holidays hotels should adhere to....we will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Many thanks for posting your review of the Claymore Hotel.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here in Arrochar.
Your review will be passed on to all the staff to read so thank you very much.
It's great to see positive feedback from guests which hopefully will encourage other guests to post their review too.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Having stayed at the claymore from the 14th oct for 5 days with national hols my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed it although the room we had was a bit tired and need of a bit of refurbishment was clean and tidy, the meals were very good and the waiting staff in the restaurant were very fast and friendly the only moan we had was the coffee served at breakfast time was always lukewarm. The days off with Alex our coach driver were very good as on the trips he kept us informed about the history of the area in great depth. The entertainment at the hotel was top class especially Des the comedian who was professional with quick fire gags also the magician come ventriloquist who had two of the guests on stage as the dummies.we also met some great people there and had some great nights in the function room. Would we return to the claymore hotel yes we certainly would.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Many thanks for your nice comments on trip adviser.
It sounds as if you had a great time during your stay here.
I only wish that we could have sorted out your coffee issue while you were here.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Had a great short stay with National Holidays,such a laid back place, and very accommodating. My girlfriend's mother was worried about the stairs to her room, and the staff immediately sorted out a better room for her.

I was concerned about the reviews for the non local, EU staff, but they were really good, the head waiter seemed to be able to keep a friendly eye on over 200 people at dinner at breakfast, and was there for you as soon as you needed, as sell as being extremely polite.

The breakfast was really good, unlimited toast, cereal and porridge, as well as a vegetarian full breakfast.Only point was on main meal at night, the veggie option was slightly limited, but what I had was really good, anyway.

Loved the cats, and they helped visitors to chat, and made the place homely.

The singer was very good at night, especially with the 4 free drinks! It seemed as though people had more fun when he sang a few traditional Scottish songs, rather than the rock and pop, though he was very good.It would be nice to have even more traditional Scottish entertainment:).

The rooms were comfortable and clean, and with very warm heating which you could control yourself.Also had a great view of the Loch, which makes this hotel such a good one, the location is spectacular.

The local little shops were great too, cheap for any necessities, and gifts.

We're already planning our next visit! Thank you again to all staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Many thanks for your in-depth and interesting review.
I could use your review in our brochure!!
Come back soon.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

there were four of us who went to claymore hotel in arakar for a 4 day break and none of us could fault it the food was brilliant and plenty the rooms were clean comfy bed all the staff from waitresses to desk staff were brilliant and always ready to help the entertainment was brilliant too we all enjoyed it that much we are bringing another nine couples with us really good value couldnt wish for anything more for the price dont know how yhey do it

Room Tip: doen stairs rooms are better for people that have trouble using the stairs
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Many thanks for your nice review.
We're all looking forward to you coming back with your groupies next month.
If there is anything you require please don't hesitate to call.
See you soon.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Took a four day break with national holidays for my wifes birthday and we really enjoyed it.Stayed at the Claymore Hotel , right on the banks of Loch Long (next to Loch Lomond) and the views were spectacular.We hadn`t been to scotland before (can`t class Edinburgh as scotland ... theres more students and tourists that scotts people) and the trips laid on really got you among the people...nice place.The hotel was o.k. clean and everything you need but I think the 17th century building boosted your expectations through the roof , in reality the hotel is attached to the side on the plus side the staff were excellent helpful and friendly.The weather was overcast but strangely it didn`t seem to matter , if anything it made the views more dramatic.All in all an excellent holiday and I would recomend it to anyone.One last thing every night you stay there you get four free drinks at the bar per person (a brandy and coke is classed as one drink) and I treat myself to a proper bottle of whiskey....great value

Room Tip: Pay surcharge for scenic view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonboy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thanks for your recent review on trip adviser.
I hope that you and your wife enjoyed your stay here and that you found it suitably Scottish!!
Only question now is - when are you coming back?
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Where do i begin?when i first saw the excellent views and the loch and the hotel from the outside i thought how wonderful but my thoughts were soon dampened when we went inside the hotel.It smelt terrible of a musty and damp smell.We went to our room which again did smell and we had to open the window.The view from our window was ok with a slight view of the loch and roofs.We then were going to have a shower but the shower didnt work only a trickle of water came out,so we had to have a strip wash in the vanity basin in the room,the toilet was seperate with no sink.The food was average and served to you by the staff ,i had to ask for more vegetables as you didnt get alot for two people to share.The staff were kind and curtious to the guests.The entertainment was average two male singers on both nights.All i can say is i couldnt have stayed a week especially with no shower,this hotel could be wonderful if brought up to date with todays standards of a modern bedroom and showers.The views made up for everything they were wonderful.Also there is no lift in this hotel if you are elderly and find it difficult climbing stairs.

Room Tip: If i was choosing to go here again it would have to be a room with a loch view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm sorry to hear that your shower was inconsistent and that you found the entertainment average.
We are a very busy hotel and many issues crop up daily.
Most issues can be rectified during your stay as we want everyone to enjoy their stay here whether it be 1 night or 4 nights.
I hope that you can come back and see us again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing