We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Ever !!!!!!!!”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Me and my nana went on holiday with national holidays for my nanas birthday. The trip was 2 days long and it was amazing. The food was amazing the service was amazing and all of there wonderful entertainment , facilities and complimentarys were amazing. Views from our clean warm room were breathtaking we couldn't find fault with anything on this holiday and thank national holidays an the claymore hotel very much .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielHeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thanks tons for your AMAZING review!!
You need to come back with your Nana very soon.
We will all look forward to your return.
Kind regards,
Gary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days the staff are great nothing is bother but the only thing is that the rooms are dated needs updated you need to go for a upgrade.the view of the loch long are incredible the grounds are good the meals were nice we went with national holidays our driver was called Peter

Room Tip: try not to get the rooms that over that over look the court yard also they are dark you can hear ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Many thanks for your review of the Claymore Hotel.
National Holidays offer great value for money and here at the Claymore we all enjoy looking after our guests, as you found out!
Thanks again for your review.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

my partner and I went to the claymore hotel for 4 days with national holidays. the driver Mark was great and was knowledgeable about scotland and the areas we visited. The hotel was clean and tidy, warm. The reception staff were great, really efficient and so helpful also. The waiting staff were hard working. The food was not up to scratch for a hotel as my partner and myself had to send our breakfast back cause it was cold and warmed up in the microwave even the fried egg was warmed up in micro and was like rubber and inedible. The pavlova was a joke as tinned fruit was used on top of a shop bought meringue nest and cheap squirty cream on the top,The best meal was the sunday roast only. in all meals were very disappointing that we ended up buying a hot meal while we were out to make sure we had something to eat (money we didn't expect to spend.) Evening entertainment was great and enjoyed the three nights. The view's were out of this world. The grounds were spotless.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones in front of the building so go for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cart677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

I'm very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Claymore Hotel recently but I'm also concerned that some of the meals you received were not up to our usual standard.
I will discuss your comments with the kitchen and I hope that you will return to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Really enjoyed our 2 nights here as part of a National Holidays coach trip. The hotel is in a really beautiful setting. We had a room in the older part and you may wish to request this if you prefer a bath rather than a shower, as it seemed to present fewer issues than in the newer wings.
The meals, at least those freshly cooked, were very tasty and it was refreshing to have a kipper option at breakfast. The serving staff were very helpful and very efficient. We didn't avail ourselves of the evening entertainment, although those who did seemed to really enjoy it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm glad that your stay here and in particular the room you were allocated and also the kippers for breakfast!
Come and stay with us again soon.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

loved every minute of this tour. Les our driver was very informative he knows his Scottish history, The hotel, although in need of a refurbishment was clean and warm, the staff caring and the meals more than adequate. Evening entertainment first class.The setting of the Hotel was beautiful and we would happily return, However, we spent more time on the coach than we expected and probably not so much time in places like Oban and Fort William as we would have liked, but we were certainly given value for money and a trip to remember.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the loch would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

What a great title to your review!!
These are the kind of reviews that we hope for: truthful, informative and complimentary.!
Come back soon!
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We did a National trip to this hotel around 10th October for five days. Hotel is very old but there is a piece in the middle specially built to house the entertainment on a night time. Social club like entertainment and young girls from local dancing school, raising funds dancing also.

Hotel looks over Loch Long which is great but we had a back room and our view was a bit different, although we could see the mountains. In front you have the famous 'cobbler' Ben Arthur mountain.

The room itself was very very very basic. I thought I had gone back to prehistoric times when I saw the shower. Rubber hose to go on the taps (lol)

Bed was exceptionally comfy and the sheets very clean and crisp. Hotel kept nice and clean
Most of the staff encountered were excellent including the manager.

All of the restaurant staff are foreign and it takes a bit of getting used to what they are saying, but hey ho.

Food was nothing to write home about but there were three courses and choices also.

The reception staff are well organised after a trip out for the day. All the keys are lined up on the reception desk and ready to go.

I wouldnt stay here again because there isn't anything but the lake and mountains. Only two other pubs either side of the hotel in the village.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope that you will return. The hotel is situated in splendid surroundings with terrific scenery and any stay here is great value for money!!
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were lucky to stay at the Claymore during an overnight stay on a Mystery Tour Weekend with National Holidays...very impressed on arrival, amazing views, friendly reception staff and all very organised..our room had a nice view of part of the lake, altho quite small it was extremely comfortable with a spacious bathroom and essential facilities..the meals were wonderful, excellent choice+service, a very relaxed atmosphere, very helpful staff. The entertainment was fun, the drinks wernt too expensive and it was lovely to see the Scottish Dancers in full costume. The breakfast was excellent and it was pure bliss having a walkabout admiring the Loch before our next destination by bus...would definately recommend...only negative was No lifts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your brief stay at the Claymore Hotel in Arrochar.
Hopefully if you come back you can stay for longer.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
550 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
813 reviews
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing