We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY POOR SHAME ON SCOTLAND”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VERY POOR SHAME ON SCOTLAND”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Went with NATIONAL HOLIDAYS on a baragin deal so wasnt excepting much but VERY DISAPPOINTED was we, The food was well below average and wouldnt give to a dog it wasnt warm, potted prawn was 3 scampy piece on a plate with a lettice leafe and most of food was from farm foods,they didnt have food that was on the menu, the chef shouldnt be allowed in a kitchen. The rooms was very dirty, The only good thing was the views, with a lot of tlc and new ownership the hotel would be a fantactic place. Will not be going back in a hurry if at all. The national drivers was as always superb

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thanks for your comments about your recent stay.
I'm sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations and that you were disappointed with the food.
We get very few complaints about the food in the hotel but many issues can be resolved while staying at the hotel.
The issues that you mention in your review will be investigated and acted upon.
Regards,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    553
    264
    92
    72
See reviews for
192
721
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We visited the Claymore Hotel in Arrochar on a National Holidays break from 28th October to Ist November. The weather was decidedly wet, but that’s the chance you take when heading north.
The hotel was rather tired and well worn, definitely in need of a major refurb. The room was of reasonable size with adequate storage, and clean, although the worn carpets and decoration took the shine off that. The bed was quite comfortable. The TV, which we didn’t watch much, was from the days when there were only four channels, and it had only four channels! That wasn’t a problem really, but it took up an inordinate amount of space on the table top. However….

…the bathroom was not up to scratch. It is not acceptable in the 21st century for a hotel bathroom not to have a proper shower. Rubber hoses on the taps don’t cut it today. Also the mirror was not above the basin, but on a different wall. This did not help the shaving process.
In the evenings, the entertainment was very average, and the bar prices were way too high.

On the other hand, the food was good and the dining room service excellent. Our waitress could not have been more helpful and on the ball. Portions were generous, and for gluttons, extra generous if requested. There was no long wait to be served either. Top marks to the dining room staff. We noted that two girls who had gone to Glasgow and returned late were served after the designated time. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The view from our room across Loch Long to the Cobbler Mountain was fantastic, although of course it is pot luck if you get one facing that way. Our friends had the honeymoon suite; that's a nice room and has the best view.

We have been visiting Scotland often since our daughter studied in Glasgow. It’s a spectacular country. Arrochar however is very small and hasn’t much to offer. There is a nice pub just up the road from the Claymore, the Village Inn, but that’s about it. Don’t think we’ll be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
We are in the process of installing more shower facilities in the hotel and redecorating some rooms.
I'm glad that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant and you found the service efficient.
The scenic view rooms offer terrific views of Loch Long and the surrounding countryside but they are not allocated by chance.
These rooms carry a supplement which can be pre-booked or you can upgrade on arrival.
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived to a cold dirty room springs coming up through mattress that did not get sorted til the next night . Food not to bad but not warm when I was served the pea and ham I was told enjoy but sorry there no ham in it !! Also ran out of the beef and a couple of the puddings . We go away alot with national holidays but will never return to this hotel there is muck but avin mould round the bath that just wipes away is beyond a joke I will be making a formal complaint to national holidays

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodeanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
All of your comments will be investigated and where necessary acted upon.
I will personally reply to your letter when I receive it.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just spent 4 days away in Arrochar with National Holidays. Very enjoyable break and the hotel was very good. Lovely room. clean and warm. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. I will almost certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobby33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Many thanks for your comments.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Claymore Hotel.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My daughter and I spent a weekend at the Claymore Hotel in September. The location of the hotel was brilliant with beautiful scenery and we were fortunate enough to have a view of the loch and the mountains. The weather was lovely. The hotel is badly in need of decoration and update. The room was ok but that's all. Very, very basic. We went all inclusive with National Coach Holidays and for the price you couldn't expect any more. The meals were ok, not brilliant but edible. You got four drinks in your inclusive package. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. The evening entertainment left a lot to be desired, a vocalist, so my daughter and I went into the little village about a ten minute walk away and savoured the delights of the local pub where there was a guitarist who had a good voice. Had a lovely night in there. If you just want to have a couple of days away, I would definitely recommend the hotel but I couldn't stay there any longer than that.

Room Tip: Go the Village Inn for a good night out and have a Guinness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleRanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and especially the views from the hotel. We are surrounded by the best countryside with terrific views from the front of the hotel.
The entertainment in the hotel receives many compliments so I was surprised to read that you were disappointed with the vocalists.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

we went on a 4 day holiday to claymore .room 205 very cold on arrival but soon got it warmed up.then we had to live in the bedroom as the bar room reception,and club room freezing brrrr.no way should you live in your coat as most of my bus friends were no way am i goin back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cissie606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
I'm sorry to read that you were cold while staying at the hotel.
We often get comments that the function room, reception and bar are too warm so I was very surprised by your comments.
I think that perhaps you are maybe used to a more temperate climate that the south of the UK offers and not the bracing, fresh climate that Scotland has.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

4 days in the Claymore, coach holiday with National coach hols. Booked last minute - Raining windy and cold when we arrived, but with a very warm happy welcome. Staff 5 star. Everyone smiling, nothing Was a problem. Hotel itself ie restaurant, bar etc really nice, bedrooms tired looking but very clean, white bedding duvet pillows towels etc immaculate, furniture bit odd ball, but a wardrobe is a wardrobe regardless of the colour. Food was good, big breakfast, cereal fruits porridge plus a cooked breakfast, in fact it was a very large cooked breakfast. Excursions were really well thought out and very enjoyable. Gary our driver, a fun guy made it very enjoyable and lots of knowledge, and the hotel had good evening entertainment. The negative was no shower in our room, not a big negative, but by choice we would have liked one. Now we know this hotel has rooms without, we would ask for a room with. We asked for a room with a view, and we certainly got that, overlooking the Loch with the mountains behind beautiful. Overall a very nice friendly and enjoyable experience. would certainly recommend and will return.

Room Tip: Would recommend getting room with a view because the view is amazing, directly overlooking loch at f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagoa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
What a nice, in-depth complimentary review!
Many thanks for your comments. I will make sure all the staff in the hotel get to see your review. Your stay here should have been exactly how you described it - friendly and enjoyable and I'm so glad it was.
We all look forward to your return and hope that you do!
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
442 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing