We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claymore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lochside Guest House(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TwoStones B & B(Arrochar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Inn(Arrochar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,537)
Filter reviews
1,537 results
Traveller rating
457
620
283
96
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
620
283
96
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysfree barour waiternational coachcoach driverconcert roomno liftscenic viewbeautiful scotlandentertainment roomshower attachmentdining roommet some lovely peopleburns nightfood was lovelygretna greenevening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
956 - 961 of 1,537 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed 8/9/10 november long weekend we had a great time, food was very good and well presented and no waiting to get served. The room was a good size but would have prefered a Lock view (£20 to upgrade but worth it) the bed however I thought was a bit hard but I haven't slept that good for a long time. The hotel staff were first class no long queues at the free bar.In the restaurant you are allocated a table when you arrive and that is your table for the entire stay. The entertainment was pretty good as well a lot better than some we have had in the past. We went with National Holidays on a bargain deal and we got a lot more than we expected and we would go again

Room Tip: a room with a lock view if available
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boatbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser. I'm so glad that you slept well during your stay and that you were happy with the bar ,restaurant and entertainment.
When are you coming back?
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break with national Holidays.
The room was clean, comfortable and unlike the other 2 Bay Hotels that we stayed at last year, the hotel, was very well maintained.
The four nights entertainment was very good, and there were the 3 girls from a scottish dancing school that came to the hotel on the wednesday night who gave a display.
The food in general was good, however the turkey served up on the wednesday would have made good soles for my shoes. (yes it was that tough).
The service in the restaurant tended to be very slow - not the fault of the waiting staff since they were almost running at times to try and get the food out.
The problem was down to the incompetance of the management because breakfast was 8am to 9am and the evening meal was 6pm to 7pm. If the meal times had been extended to say 7.30am to 9am for breakfast and 5.30pm to 7pm for the evening meal, then the staff would not have been under such pressure and the service would have been much better.
But for the restaurant this hotel would have got a "5" rating

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gismo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and found the hotel clean and comfortable.
We have Scottish dancers in the hotel every Wednesday evening for the guests enjoyment.
Regarding the turkey - this issue has been corrected and there should be no more unhappy guests but I'm afraid my hands are tied regarding the serving time for meals.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Went with NATIONAL HOLIDAYS on a baragin deal so wasnt excepting much but VERY DISAPPOINTED was we, The food was well below average and wouldnt give to a dog it wasnt warm, potted prawn was 3 scampy piece on a plate with a lettice leafe and most of food was from farm foods,they didnt have food that was on the menu, the chef shouldnt be allowed in a kitchen. The rooms was very dirty, The only good thing was the views, with a lot of tlc and new ownership the hotel would be a fantactic place. Will not be going back in a hurry if at all. The national drivers was as always superb

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay.
I'm sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations and that you were disappointed with the food.
We get very few complaints about the food in the hotel but many issues can be resolved while staying at the hotel.
The issues that you mention in your review will be investigated and acted upon.
Regards,
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We visited the Claymore Hotel in Arrochar on a National Holidays break from 28th October to Ist November. The weather was decidedly wet, but that’s the chance you take when heading north.
The hotel was rather tired and well worn, definitely in need of a major refurb. The room was of reasonable size with adequate storage, and clean, although the worn carpets and decoration took the shine off that. The bed was quite comfortable. The TV, which we didn’t watch much, was from the days when there were only four channels, and it had only four channels! That wasn’t a problem really, but it took up an inordinate amount of space on the table top. However….

…the bathroom was not up to scratch. It is not acceptable in the 21st century for a hotel bathroom not to have a proper shower. Rubber hoses on the taps don’t cut it today. Also the mirror was not above the basin, but on a different wall. This did not help the shaving process.
In the evenings, the entertainment was very average, and the bar prices were way too high.

On the other hand, the food was good and the dining room service excellent. Our waitress could not have been more helpful and on the ball. Portions were generous, and for gluttons, extra generous if requested. There was no long wait to be served either. Top marks to the dining room staff. We noted that two girls who had gone to Glasgow and returned late were served after the designated time. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The view from our room across Loch Long to the Cobbler Mountain was fantastic, although of course it is pot luck if you get one facing that way. Our friends had the honeymoon suite; that's a nice room and has the best view.

We have been visiting Scotland often since our daughter studied in Glasgow. It’s a spectacular country. Arrochar however is very small and hasn’t much to offer. There is a nice pub just up the road from the Claymore, the Village Inn, but that’s about it. Don’t think we’ll be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
We are in the process of installing more shower facilities in the hotel and redecorating some rooms.
I'm glad that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant and you found the service efficient.
The scenic view rooms offer terrific views of Loch Long and the surrounding countryside but they are not allocated by chance.
These rooms carry a supplement which can be pre-booked or you can upgrade on arrival.
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived to a cold dirty room springs coming up through mattress that did not get sorted til the next night . Food not to bad but not warm when I was served the pea and ham I was told enjoy but sorry there no ham in it !! Also ran out of the beef and a couple of the puddings . We go away alot with national holidays but will never return to this hotel there is muck but avin mould round the bath that just wipes away is beyond a joke I will be making a formal complaint to national holidays

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jodeanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
All of your comments will be investigated and where necessary acted upon.
I will personally reply to your letter when I receive it.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews