We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Teesside
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Wanted to go away for New Year but when comparing National Holidays prices before and just after New Years Eve we saved £600 plus by going on Jan 3rd 2014 .
Two adults and one child , set off in bad weather from Stockton but we were really happy to be going away and not expecting too much but we were extremely satisfied and happy with everything from start to finish .

A warm welcome from hotel staff , the Claymore is in a beautiful place . It needs a little updating throughout but rooms are clean and well equipped .

The restaurant was lovely with excellent top quality food . Excellent ! We would say for what we experienced we could have paid four times as much and would still have loved every minute and it was excellent value .

The first night Friday we had a female singer and bingo and the Saturday night a Male singer and Scottish dancers .
We paid £79 each for 3 days and £63 for child place and we couldnt have asked for more

On top of all this we had trips to Killin and Calander and the scenery was gorgeous !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debjayne35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel and found your stay great value for money.
Come and stay with us again soon.
Regards,
Gary Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    539
    260
    90
    70
See reviews for
185
710
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

once again my husband and i had a lovely stay. the food was great and so was the service. the room was lovely and cosey with a nice view. the staff are very friendly like one big happy family. the entertainment was good. since we have been going up to the claymore we cannot fault it.any thing that you want or need the manager david is there to help you . all the staff are brilliant and they will take time to have achat with you.

Room Tip: pay the extra and ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
Your nice comments will be shown to all the staff.
I'm so glad that you find all the staff friendly and approachable.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

the food was very good and the staff very helpful even though national holiday's told me that I would get a room near the lift which they do not have they were most helpful in providing me with a ground floor room. which was nice and clean.
The food was good and plenty of choice. Entertainment at night which was more than just bingo. I look forward to returning

Room Tip: i had a broken downspout outside my room. and there was just a bath no shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm glad that we could oblige and arrange a room on the ground floor for you.
We look forward to you returning.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this for my birthday. We stayed 10-13th January. He had paid for a sea view room overlooking the loch. The rooms are very outdated but very clean and bed was really comfortable. One gripe we had was with the heating in room. It went from being so hot we couldn't sleep unless we opened window but would then go off at around 11pm-7am where it was freezing even with 2 throws on. There didnt seem to be a control in room to moderate this which would have made our stay more comfortable. The food was really good! Much better than I expected. On the first night we had camembert bites for starter followed by chicken and bacon on creamy leeks with seasonal veg. The chicken was best ive ever tasted so unbelievably tender and I'm really fussy about food. I'm normally not a fan of roast beef but it was really good. All the food was hot and all staff were extremely friendly. One even wished me happy birthday.The one thing we couldn't get our heads round was the meal times. Breakfast was served 8-9am & dinner 6-7pm. 3 course meal in 1 hour is ridiculous. We felt really rushed not getting to just relax and enjoy the food. You had to queue early just so you had more time!! Four free drinks on sat plus a glass of wine with dinner was great but as said before spoilt by fact you were restricted to 1hour. No sooner had you finished one course than they were asking you what you wanted next. Overall its amazing value for money and we will definitely go back again when it's much warmer so we can sit at the front of the hotel more enjoying the views. As previous reviewer has said we found the excursions with National holidays were really disappointing spending far too long there especially as some of the places of interest were closed(distillery in Oban, church in Inverary, shops in Callender) so you ended up literally walking round same shops for ages until it was time to get back on coach.We would be gone all day & by time we got back to hotel you barely had enough time to relax in your room or have a drink in bar before you had to queue for dinner. We said we would just stay at hotel next time to spend more time exploring just what's in area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Finallyhiswife2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm sorry to read that you were cold during the night when you were staying here.
I'm sure something could have been done had you mentioned it to one of the managers.
I'm also glad that you enjoyed the food in the hotel and the restaurant manager would have gladly held back service at your table to enable some relaxing time between courses.
If you come back and stay with us again please let us know any issues you have that can improve your stay with us.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The driver gave us a bad review before we got there informing us that the place was old and in need of a update.
He was right the place was old, and yes it could do with a lick of paint, but it was warm and clean and the meals were nice and the staff could not do enough for you, the only thing that i would find fault with was that in room 1 where we stayed the bathroom really needed to be updated, the bedroom was clean and had recently been decorated, and the bed was comfy we had three good nights sleep.
The entertainment was ok not out of the world but ok, and the four free drinks on Saturday night were good too, you get four drinks of your choice, not half pints, four pints or four shorts.
The trips provided by national were poor but that has nothing to do with the hotel, just dont go on any of the tours, unless you like going to mills in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: lovely view of the loch and away from the entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryElliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I can only apologise for the driver's derogatory comments about the hotel before you even reached your destination.
This should not have happened.
He was correct in one respect - the hotel is old. An oldie but a goodie!!
Parts of the hotel are over 300 years old and more!
Come back again and enjoy some more Scottish hospitality.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spent Christmas with National holidays at the Claymore and had a wonderful time. The staff from bar to management where excellent obliging, and the food and menus could not be bettered.The evening entertainment was also very good and generally enjoyed by all. The only downside for us was that our bedroom was a little cold.We had a room with a lovely view of the loch but unfortunately that meant that the very inclement winds we enjoyed over the Christmas period blew straight through our bathroom vent and made spending time in there uncomfortable. We found that after a couple of days with the heating on and a new pair of pyjamas and hotwater bottle things improved considerably, but the bathroom was still cold. Otherwise a most enjoyable stay at a very friendly hotel and would definately return to a warmer room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your festive review!
I glad that you enjoyed yourself over the festive period and that you didn't find the weather too wild and windy although I see you have mentioned that the cold wind did find its way into your room.
I hope that if you return to the Claymore Hotel the weather is a little more clement for you!
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We visited this hotel with national holidays, although the décor and standard of the hotel bedrooms are a little tired and lack some facilities (no showers or TV remote control) the rooms were hot and there was plenty of hot water the bed was comfortable and a good nights sleep we had, the food was good, having breakfast and dinner over four days and an excellent choice which was always hot. Our waiter was great very accommodating and quick, and if you didn't like something what you had chosen he would change it, Csaba was his name and he deserves a mention for his lovely personality and great customer service, also so do the bar staff. We had two excursions included in the price we paid...£89 each for four days...oh and not forgetting the four complementary drinks included in the price...well worth every penny, We saw some beautiful scenery on our trips out and would defenaitly return.

Room Tip: no lifts so ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimandyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
The title of your review says it all.
I'll be sure to tell Csaba he's mentioned in your review - he'll be delighted,
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing