We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“national holidays claymore hotel scotland”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“national holidays claymore hotel scotland”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

had a lovely holiday my daughter and I in the claymore with national holidays the food was lovely service was very quick and serving staff were friendly . our room was nice with a view of the loch . we had a bath no shower. but hotel give us a large shampoo spray so it wasn't a problem.the entertainment was good had a really good laugh on a night . the trips out were great and the driver mat was a good young lad nothing was too much trouble for him . we found all the staff were brilliant . after reading some bad reports we didn't no what to expect but we found every thing to our liking . don't know how they do it for the price charged. we had 5 good days holiday wouldn't hesitate to go back to the claymore loved it . our room with a view was twin 512.

Room Tip: 512 was a good quiet room with a view on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northeastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
Your comments are much appreciated and I will be sure to pass them on to all the staff.
Come back and see us again soon.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    566
    266
    92
    73
See reviews for
196
735
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We are just returning home from our National holidays trip and already planning to return in the future. The location of the hotel is second to none at the side of the Loch. You can't beat National holidays for value, the food and service was excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable however the walls are a little thin. Venture left to the Village Inn as it's a lovely pub and a shame if you miss it. The entertainment in our hotel has been great - a good comedian and Elaine was a fantastic singer. We've met and befriended many lovely people who shared our experience, overall it's been a brilliant holiday and the scenery has been breath taking.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWatson555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that you loved the location of the hotel.
It's also great to see good value recognised here and put on trip adviser for everyone to see.
I hope that you can return to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I have just returned from the Claymore hotel after booking 5 day break with National holidays costing a little over £100 and have to say it was well worth the money the food was really lovely and plenty of it and the staff were lovely pleasant and very efficient and considering the amount of guests that were in the dining room the service was excellent and the food was always hot, the entertainment was the best i have ever had in Scotland it was really good.The rooms were dated but clean and the bathroom needed a facelift however I do find on these coach tours you get what you pay for when it comes to the rooms next time I go to the Claymore I will upgrade to Loch view as the views are stunning thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Book a Loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzybizzy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I will certainly pass on your comments to all the staff - they'll be delighted.
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here on a National Holidays short break (Jan 14). The hotel is on a commanding position overlooking the loch, we paid the extra for a loch view which was well worth it. This review is based partly on the price paid, I have stayed at really great hotels throughout the world and paid for the privilege. This hotel is a little worn but clean. As it was January we took a fan heater which was well worth it, the hotel is a lovely old building with sash windows.The staff are some of the most friendly I have ever seen and also extremely efficient. At the bar one night one staff member pulled my pint, another prepared my wife's G&T whilst another took pay, wow!! The food was really good with a reasonable degree of choice, entertainment also passed the night away. Many of the other guests had been before and I will definitely be back. Thanks everyone for the great service, you were a credit.

Room Tip: Request a Loch view its worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 332frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
A big thank you for your great review.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that you acknowledge the hard work that all the staff put in to making sure that all our guests enjoy their stay.
All that remains to say is - when are you coming back?
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was our second stay at the claymore and we found it just as good as during our first stay.
We had a couple of issues on arrival due to my disability which were rapidly dealt with by the general manager, Gary. Gary bent over backwards to ensure we had an enjoyable & comfortable stay. The food here's is hearty and wholesome with loads of choice. The staff are very attentive and hard working nothing is to much trouble, most of the staff may come from Europe but their handling of the English language and quality of service are second to none. I can't speak too highly of this hotel and don't know how they provide these standards at the prices we were charged. The entertainment provided every night is of a good standard. We will be back for more.

Room Tip: Always confirm there is a shower facility in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobertMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
Your compliments will be passed on for all the staff to read - many thanks.
We all you hope that you will be returning to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Wanted to go away for New Year but when comparing National Holidays prices before and just after New Years Eve we saved £600 plus by going on Jan 3rd 2014 .
Two adults and one child , set off in bad weather from Stockton but we were really happy to be going away and not expecting too much but we were extremely satisfied and happy with everything from start to finish .

A warm welcome from hotel staff , the Claymore is in a beautiful place . It needs a little updating throughout but rooms are clean and well equipped .

The restaurant was lovely with excellent top quality food . Excellent ! We would say for what we experienced we could have paid four times as much and would still have loved every minute and it was excellent value .

The first night Friday we had a female singer and bingo and the Saturday night a Male singer and Scottish dancers .
We paid £79 each for 3 days and £63 for child place and we couldnt have asked for more

On top of all this we had trips to Killin and Calander and the scenery was gorgeous !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debjayne35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel and found your stay great value for money.
Come and stay with us again soon.
Regards,
Gary Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

once again my husband and i had a lovely stay. the food was great and so was the service. the room was lovely and cosey with a nice view. the staff are very friendly like one big happy family. the entertainment was good. since we have been going up to the claymore we cannot fault it.any thing that you want or need the manager david is there to help you . all the staff are brilliant and they will take time to have achat with you.

Room Tip: pay the extra and ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
Your nice comments will be shown to all the staff.
I'm so glad that you find all the staff friendly and approachable.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing