We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have returned from a four day break from this hotel, we travelled with national holidays and have had a lovely break. We cannot fault the staff in all departments everyone was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and hot water plentiful. How they manage the quality of the food for the price defeats me we enjoyed all our meals and the service was excellent. We look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Our room 416 did not have a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christina19672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
Your comments are all much appreciated.
I hope that you can return to the hotel in the future for some more great value breaks.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    553
    264
    92
    72
See reviews for
192
721
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
washington tyne and wear
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I stayed from the 3rd Feb - 7th Feb Room 228 the shower was VERY hot as there were 2 taps HOT and Cold with a trickle of water out of the cold and a torrent out of the hot ( very hard to regulate ) the managers advice was to take a shower when no one else was! Could not get a good shower all week.Wardrobe held on the wall by a shelf bracket and a block of wood so could not open the door on the left also we had a sink in the room (never had that befor ) The food was good and the staff were great. We will stay at National hotels again but PLEASE try and think of your guests and try and get it right.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front they seem better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_r_27wash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm disappointed that you couldn't get a shower all week. This issue will be investigated by the hotel and resolved. The issue with the wardrobe will also be resolved.
I hope that your experience here will not deter you from staying here again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just returned from a long weekend stay here with National Holidays, whilst the hotel bedrooms are in need of an upgrade/ refurb the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The food was delicious and having a couple of food allergies which I always note, but are rarely taken notice off, our waiter on night one actually had an alternative to an item on the menu for me. Well done! One thing to note however is that some of the en suite rooms still have baths without a shower facility which could cause problem to anyone with mobility issues. All in all a very pleasant stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Loch view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamAnneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm glad that we could accommodate you meal requests - we pride ourselves in being able cater for all guests requirements.
Come back soon!
Regards,
Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just returned from a five day holiday to the claymore hotel with national holidays and couldn't fault it.. staff can't do enough for you and go out of there way to make you feel at home.Food was lovely served quickly and plenty of choice. Entertainment was a good laugh really enjoyed the comedian and Elaine the entertainment manager who puts on a show .Hotel rooms are a bit dated but very clean and nice and warm , we had a lovely view of loch long ask for room 512 its nice and quiet..Mat our coach driver was a lovely young man nothing was to much trouble if you had any problems and took us on some lovely day trips around the argyl and bute area..Myself and my mother would not hesitate to book this trip again .

Room Tip: Room 512 has a nice view of loch long and is also nice and quiet, it only has a bath no shower but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HartlepoolDynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for the great title for your review.
Your comments are much appreciated and will be put up for all that staff to see!
I'm so glad that you and your mother enjoyed your stay here. Come back and stay with us again soon.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

had a lovely holiday my daughter and I in the claymore with national holidays the food was lovely service was very quick and serving staff were friendly . our room was nice with a view of the loch . we had a bath no shower. but hotel give us a large shampoo spray so it wasn't a problem.the entertainment was good had a really good laugh on a night . the trips out were great and the driver mat was a good young lad nothing was too much trouble for him . we found all the staff were brilliant . after reading some bad reports we didn't no what to expect but we found every thing to our liking . don't know how they do it for the price charged. we had 5 good days holiday wouldn't hesitate to go back to the claymore loved it . our room with a view was twin 512.

Room Tip: 512 was a good quiet room with a view on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northeastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
Your comments are much appreciated and I will be sure to pass them on to all the staff.
Come back and see us again soon.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We are just returning home from our National holidays trip and already planning to return in the future. The location of the hotel is second to none at the side of the Loch. You can't beat National holidays for value, the food and service was excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable however the walls are a little thin. Venture left to the Village Inn as it's a lovely pub and a shame if you miss it. The entertainment in our hotel has been great - a good comedian and Elaine was a fantastic singer. We've met and befriended many lovely people who shared our experience, overall it's been a brilliant holiday and the scenery has been breath taking.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWatson555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that you loved the location of the hotel.
It's also great to see good value recognised here and put on trip adviser for everyone to see.
I hope that you can return to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I have just returned from the Claymore hotel after booking 5 day break with National holidays costing a little over £100 and have to say it was well worth the money the food was really lovely and plenty of it and the staff were lovely pleasant and very efficient and considering the amount of guests that were in the dining room the service was excellent and the food was always hot, the entertainment was the best i have ever had in Scotland it was really good.The rooms were dated but clean and the bathroom needed a facelift however I do find on these coach tours you get what you pay for when it comes to the rooms next time I go to the Claymore I will upgrade to Loch view as the views are stunning thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Book a Loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzybizzy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I will certainly pass on your comments to all the staff - they'll be delighted.
Many thanks again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing