We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

On arrival at the claymore hotel I was very disappointed to find that the room I had booked had been given to a another guest with the same surname, the manager (Gary) and his assistant manager (David) were really upset about this matter and did all they could to help sort it, and did a great job in doing so. The room they gave us was lovely, we had a bath and shower and I know that all the rooms do not have both but so what aslong as you have somewhere to wash yourself then that's all that matters. The beds were really comfortable and view lovely. Mealtimes where relaxing and the food was lovely with plenty to choose from our waiter was fab, I don't know his name but I know he was from Malaga, he did a great job and our boys loved him. The lounge bar was so relaxing with a big wood burner and candles on the tables. My boys fell In love with the three cats that visit the hotel daily esp rogan, everyone loved him. All in all what a fantastic stay, we will be back very soon. Would like to thank Gary and David for everything they did for us, keep up the fantastic hard work you guys do day in out, see you soon.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks for your great review of your recent stay.
I'm so glad that we sorted the issues that arose on arrival at the hotel and you all enjoyed your stay here. Rogan certainly loved all the attention your boys gave him!
I hope that you all come back very soon!!
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    538
    260
    90
    70
See reviews for
185
709
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at the Claymore for 3 nights over Valentines weekend. We travelled with National and had a really nice visit. The hotel is warm, clean and friendly, we stayed in the newer part which was added on about 15 years ago.
The room was satisfactory, clean and comfortable. (This is not 5 star so please bear in mind that we paid only £119 each for 3 nights bed, breakfast and evening meal)
The only small disappointment was no shower over the bath but we were provided with a shower attachment that pushed on the taps which was not too bad.
The hotel is on the banks of Loch Long and the whole area is a beautiful place to visit. We had a couple of good days out and especially enjoyed our trip to Oban.
I would certainly recommend this hotel as excellent value for money and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review!
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your weekend here in Arrochar.
You will have to come back and stay with us again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

stayed here with National holidays for Valentines weekend. Hotel was clean but dated, staff were friendly and rhe food was ok. Bit of a dash to eat as they only allow you 1hr to dine and food a bit like old peoples home food.
Entertainment was good especially the 3 girls who did the Scottish dancing
Room was spacious, bathroom with bath no shower view over the loch.
Overall a good time for the money

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara42ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm glad that you enjoyed your Valentines weekend stay. It was a busy, buzzy weekend enjoyed by many people.
I'm sorry that you found the food to be like "old people's food". We change and alter our menus regularly and receive very few complaints.
I hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Another great stay. I stayed here with my 14 year old daughter, sadly our room did not have a shower but the bath was big and the hot water was plentiful! And in fairness I didn't specify in the booking that I would prefer a shower.The food was lovely again (we came last year too). Our waiter Diego was very pleasant and very attentive despite being rushed off his feet, bless him. He was always smiling and jolly. One of the waitresses even remembered us from last year - amazing after all the people she must have seen during the last year.

Just one down side (probably a national holidays issue) all inclusive is not as all inclusive as it has been for the last 2 years! It used to be 4 free drinks every night, now it's only 1 night - bit of a shame as it added an extra cost to the holiday that I hadn't anticipated.

All in all though another great stay with fantastic views over, loch long.

Please note I cannot put proper review about the swimming pool - it doesn't have one to review ! Though you could always have a dabble in the loch if you are brave enough !

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor if you might struggle with your luggage as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
Nice to see that you have stayed here before and have come back- we must be doing something right!
Regards,
Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Went on a weekend coach trip with national holidays and we felt it was a very relaxing and friendly weekend althought the hotels bedroom and bathrooms would benefit from upgrading the hotel is very clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly and gave excellent custom service

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrboff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
Glad that found the hotel to your liking and that you enjoyed the service.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed for Valentine's weekend. Good all round. Staff polite and helpful. Tried to upgrade room but being busy not possible,however our room was clean ,warm and really all you need to get your head down.
Entertainment good had fun and a boogie. Food brill with good choice even for vegetarians (normally a problem for me). Our waiter Diego was charming and nothing a problem despite us being late for dinner the first night, sorry about that.
Even the house cat Rogan did a brilliant job of meeting and greeting people.
Well done all round.
Vanessa & Tony

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanesssa6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay albeit brief.
Next time come and stay for longer!
Regards,
Gary Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

An old but beautiful hotel in lovely grounds. Once inside you are greeted by welcoming and friendly staff who'll do whatever they can to make your stay comfortable. Of course, being an old stone building , it's not the modern sleek accommodation, but has a charm of it's own.
The meals are served at your table by very efficient, friendly, jolly waiters/waitresses and there is a good selection of food which is very tasty. The must is the braised beef on Thursday,,,,yummy.
The bar has a huge wood burner and gives the place a warm, cozy atmosphere but can become full quite quickly.
The entertainment room has a magnificent view of Loch Long and singers etc are performing every evening. There is also bingo in the evening but I didn't play. The minimum number of bingo books you can buy is 3.
Beware if you have any walking disability as there are no lifts so you should therefore request a low floor.
The bedrooms are adequate with en-suite but ours didn't have a shower although we were given a shower attachment. A little dated but warm and clean.
Tea and coffee is supplied every day and there are decent sized mugs not those silly little cups you normally get.
The location is a quiet village with nice walks in magnificent Scottish countryside and I would return again in future.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to have either baths or showers but not both. Request what you need in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank billiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
What a detailed, informative review you have written!
I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay here that week.
Come back soon for some more great Scottish hospitality!
Regards.
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing