We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just returned from 5 day trip to this hotel. The hotel itself is quite old and in need of some updating. Our room (408) did not have a shower and the hose we were given at reception didn't fit so I ended up washing my hair over the basin!!! However, the hotel is clean, the staff are very efficient and friendly and the food is very good. The trips were good, the people on our coach (Mike was the driver) were a good bunch and a good few laughs were had along the way. The entertainment in the evenings at the Claymore is very good, three excellent turns and one just ok, bingo is also played. All in all a good 5 days away and it would be hard to beat the National Holiday price too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower if that's your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzannelouis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm delighted that you found your stay to be good value for money - we offer great friendly service at a very affordable price!
I also have to add that the shower attachments do fit all the bathroom taps - with a little effort.
We could have done this for you.
Come back again soon.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here in April 2014 and our hosts can NOT be faulted for hospitality!

However! Our room was not what I would expect, filthy walls around switches! Marked bedding! Bad stench of cigarette smoke in one room, Extractor fans were noisy due to age. Windows frames covered in damp and mold, and the room above needs work on the flooring. Creaking floorboards kept us awake. It was like an elephant herd on a rampage!

The heating panels were really dirty and rusting. Only one wardrobe door, the other was missing! In the other room there were no wardrobe doors at all.

The beds were particularly bad! You sat on the bed, and your bottom hits the bed base! Very uncomfortable, they offer no support!

Now, As I said earlier, The hosts were VERY warm and friendly. And the welcome was very genuine!

I did not partake in the entertainment, So can not offer comment on that!

The food was varied each evening, A good choice of foods, a few minor issues with service speed and food being cold, but on the whole it was very goid for the money!

I feel with a little effort, a spring clean! Splash of paint, and new beds and sliding doors on the wardrobes. It would be a very cosy hotel!

I would expect a bit better for the price range!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinebaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
The issues you mention in your review have all been passed on to the relevant departments.
Many thanks,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have just returned from the claymore hotel and what a fabulous time we had . The rooms are a tad tired and could maybe do with a refurb but they are clean and adequate for what you require. The meal selection on the other hand is fantastic , choice , presentation and the pleasant service from each and every one of that serving staff is second to none- one in particular ( I think her name was barbara but not sure) she was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for her !!! The views from the hotel were breathtaking along with the trips we went on which were worlds apart from the "concrete jungle " that we are used to living in !! My only negative is the fact that the people in the room above were very noisy and constantly kept us awake with a very loud radio/tv which on our last night at 12.30 am we complained to reception which I must say was dealt with very swiftly and efficiently . But overall our stay at the Claymore was very enjoyable thank you National Holidays and all the hotel staff !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
Barbara will be thrilled that you mentioned her and I can only apologise for the guests that were noisy and above your room.
Do come back again!!!
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day break at the Claymore, booked through National Holidays. I had read some of the reviews online before we went and although some of them were very negative, decided to go and see for ourselves what the deal had to offer.
We had paid £199 each for 4 nights dinner, bed and breakfast, with 4 drinks tokens included for each night we were there.
As we travelled from Wakefield and due to the drivers rest breaks required, it took about 8 hours to get there in all. The journey was very tiring, but we were warmly greeted upon arrival by the assistant manager, Dave, before being quickly checked into our rooms.
We had requested a view of the loch, which did not disappoint. Stunning views over the loch towards the cobbler. If you are expecting the Ritz on a bubblegum budget, be prepared to be disappointed. The room decor was very tired with quite a dirty, stained carpet and paint chipped off the door casing. However, the bed linen was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom and bath towels. You may disagree with this if you don't like to see ground on dust on the skirting boards, but at the end of the day you don't sleep on them - the main things were perfectly acceptable.
Entertainment was laid on every evening, We didn't see the first night's, but the second was terrible - a 'comedian' stroke singer. Not our cup of tea at all. On the final evening there was a fantastic singer - David Fyffe who took requests for songs and was very versatile. They should get more like him!
The food was excellent at the hotel. Breakfast was served quickly and professionally by the lovely staff who could not do enough for you and worked really hard throughout the whole week. This started with a choice of cereals, followed by full breakfast and toast.
The dinner menu was varied over the week, with starter, main and desert offered each day. There was a good choice available and the food was always piping hot.
We went on a couple of outings during the break. The first was a visit to Loch Lomond where we were able to pay extra for a cruise on the loch. We then went on a scenic tour of the Trossachs, which was beautiful, but after a long coach journey the day before, it was exhausting to be sat on the coach again for so long the day after!
Wednesday, we had a free day, so did the walk from Arrachor to the cobbler. Quite a strenuous walk, but beautiful scenery once at the summit and well worth the effort. Do make sure you are dressed appropriately though, as the weather can change very quickly once near the top.
On Thursday we went to Oban via Inverarry. Again, lovely place to visit, but a long way to go for only 2 hours there. We would have much preferred to go to one place and have the chance to spend 4 hours or more.
Overall, this was a fantastic holiday. We met some lovely people from around the country and made some good friends who live local to us! Would highly recommend a trip to the Claymore, but would say that you accept it for what it is (a very cheap holiday) and not expect anything too fancy.
As long as the place is clean and the staff and friendly and helpful, that is all that matters.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelleDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Many thanks for your extensive review of the Claymore Hotel.
Your review gave an excellent insight to what a coaching holiday is all about and the issues you mention in your review will be addressed.
We all hope that you can return to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having booked this one night break with Caledonian Travel, I was a bit anxious about travelling alone. However, the hotel, staff, entertainment, coach driver, scenery, food, and company was brilliant.
I had a ground floor single room with a shower (health reasons) and it was just perfect. The evening meal on the Saturday was really nice, with four choices for the main meal. Brekkie was great also. Dining room staff so helpful and chatty, as well as the bar staff. There was a voucher for four free drinks included also. The young singer (James) was so cheery and pleasant, he knew what songs to sing to get the dancing started.
I will definitely be back at this Hotel.

Room Tip: Request a scenic ground or first floor. There are no lifts in the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

I'm so glad that you took the time to post a review on trip adviser - thank you.
I hope that you can return to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My mum & I had a FAB time ! We went with Caledonian Travel on the
Sunday 13th April for 1 night ; 0 ) x
We met FANTASTIC people and couldnt fault this hotel we had a gr8 laugh ;0 ) x
The rooms were nice & clean ( what else do u need )
and for the price u pay the food was fine too .

We met the ELVIS FAMILY from Paisley & had such a laugh & lots of other LOVELY PEOPLE TOO !
Caledonian Travel never let us down always have a great time wherever we go with them .
But James Knight made our Night . . . EVERYONE LOved him he was really good singer & nice guy too , he was friendly with everyone which was nice x
Just want to say Thankyou to the Claymore Hotel again & we r thinkin of goin back again in May fingers crossed x Honestly give it a try u wont b disappointed x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tcxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at the Claymore Hotel.
1 night is not enough. I hope that you can return to the Claymore in the future and stay longer next time.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wonderful variety of 3 course meals, different menu every evening, tea and coffee in abundance. Helpful and friendly service from all the staff, we had a couple of special requests due to ill health which were dealt with immediately, nothing seemed too much trouble. Beautiful surrounding scenery. Loved every minute. Will definately be going again, had a great week, Thank you to all the staff at the Claymore Arrocher.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank diane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
Your comments will be passed round for all to see.
Many thanks again.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
587 reviews
10.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing