We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for!”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Views to die for!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Excellent staff who simply cannot do enough for you. The location is everything for this hotel as the rooms could do with some considerable updating (showers would be good start) as they are a bit old but very clean nonetheless. The view however is priceless and well worth paying the extra for. Special mention for manager Gary Watson who was very eager to please at every opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
This title says it all!
I just have to add that we are installing more showers in the very neat future,
Kind regards and thanks for the mention too.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    565
    266
    92
    73
See reviews for
196
734
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland , England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

WOW...
Had such a fantastic one night stay
Food superb
Very clean
Entertainment was fun
Views out of this world ...just amazing
Only one small quarm the girl who waited on us at dinner couldn't speak English very well so was a major struggle to place our orders...she forgot to bring one of our desserts so one out of four of us had to wait a while...but other than that brilliant....check on was so fast even though two coaches arrived at once ....never seen such speed and quality service.
Would Definately return...thanks claymore

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Another great title for a super review. Thank you.
You'll just have to come back and stay for longer next time.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from our second trip to the lovely Claymore Hotel with National Holidays. We always enjoy staying here, and we have never been disappointed with anything. I requested a room with a view and that is exactly what we got. What a view !!!. it was breath taking. The food was fantastic, Barbara our waitress that served us every day was first class, and a credit to the Hotel. The bar staff were polite and friendly, as always, and even the cat came to say hello again. Big thanks to Gary and David for continuing to provide a first class service. We look forward to our return visit again very soon.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view of Loch Long is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Back again!!
I love it when I read reviews from guests that keep coming back to stay with us.
We must be doing something right - so thank you for returning to the Claymore Hotel.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

When we booked the 3 day trip with National Holidays we were just after a nice relaxing few days away so we chose the Claymore, on booking we were asked what time of room we wanted so for an extra £8 each we asked for double en-suite room with sea view,
the trip up to Arrochar was a little longer than I expected but that's just me wanting to get there before I've set off, on arrival we were greeted by a member of the Claymore staff and given clear instructions of what to do and where to go, the check-in was speedy and pleasant, our room was on the second floor but what a room we got, it was called the Heather suite and on entering I could smell the freshness of the room, clean sheets and soft towels awaited inside, the en-suite bathroom was very big with a large corner bath and a shower and the bedroom was more of a living room with a bed and the views out of the window were excellent and something I would never tire of waking up to on a morning.
The evening meal was served between 6pm and 7pm and had a good selection of meals on it and the serving staff were very pleasant and professional, the quality of food was adequate but basic I would say.
I wouldn't advise taking children unless their idea of fun is walking along the Loch's edge as there isn't much to do but this was an Ideal relaxing 3 day break for me and my wife.
I would return to the Claymore again as I find it to be a very clean friendly and good value for money Hotel

Room Tip: double rooms with Loch views are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrahamG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
You've just returned and already the review is on trip adviser - fantastic!
So glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Heather suite!
Come back and sample some more Scottish hospitality real soon!
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the Claymore in March the hotel look onto the loch and our room was on the front with a beautiful view. The room was clean but needed to be decorated the bathroom had wood panels with were black with mould and the window did not shut which meant the wind howled all night, the bed was clean and the towels were nice and soft. The food was enjoyable and the breakfast had a good choice. There is nothing to do around this hotel so anyone with a family might not find it boring. If I had to sum it up I would say it needed a good refurbish to bring it up to date.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyluck1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
Some room are overdue for redecoration and no-one understands this more than I. There is a program of redecoration planned for the very near future.
I hope that this will not deter you from enjoying National Holidays great value UK breaks.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It was the first time that we had taken a National Coach break, and the one we chose was Beautiful Scotland, which was a 4 day break at The Claymore Hotel in Arrochar. The hotel was bigger than I thought it would be, but we were booked in quickly.Our room was on the ground floor with a superb view of Loch Long . The room was basic but comfortable enough for us. Bedding was fresh and clean and the towels clean and soft. There was no shower but there was lots of hot water and the bath filled up very quickly, so that was no real hardship.Yes the floorboards did creak but again it was no big problem. All the staff were friendly and helpful, but a special thanks to our hard working waitress Mercedes. Food was mostly fine but on one occasion my partner had The Chef's Special Salad and she couldn't eat it because the chicken was really very dry and hard, Mercedes did ask if my partner would like another meal to replace the salad, but she didn't fancy anything else. A few nice touches were urns of tea and coffee for people to help themselves to , a basket near the restaurant door filled with sweets and souvenirs in the reception area which were on sale at a cheaper price than the shops.The one point that I must pick up one is the condition of the chairs in the concert room area, quite a few of them were in a dangerous condition and risked falling apart when sat on. We certainly enjoyed our stay and found the break to be very good value, it was ideal for us but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone that has a younger family as there wasn't anything to keep children amused.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a view of Loch Long
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ukscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I was delighted to read that this was your first trip with National Holidays and that you chose to come and stay with us at the Claymore Hotel.
I must add that the function room furniture is being replaced with new chairs and tables very very soon!
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNITED KINGDOM
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

travelled with National Coaches over Easter 18 to 21 April 2014 in room overlooking Loch Long - fabulous hotel, everywhere clean - cannot believe couple on an earlier review were at same hotel! Yes hotel is a littel dated - but that all adds to the character and charm. Our room was clean, warm and comfy. ALL the staff at this hotel were fabulous, hard working, smiling and efficient - everyone made us feel very welcome. Chef and his team need big thanks - all meals good, tasty and hot! Lovely little touches over Easter - chocolate egg and hot cross buns and lots of lovely cheerful daffodils. We were welcomed on arirval and had farewell speech and waved off - very very nice touches! I definitely happily recomend a stay here and we will be back very soon. The great weather was a bonus and everyone was friendly - met some lovely people. Loved it! Shirley and John Thiim

Room Tip: view of Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHIRLEY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for the great title of your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay.
Easter was terrific and with all that sunshine - it was a real bonus!
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing