We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having read the reviews beforehand I have to agree with the majority.
The hotel is a bit dated .......but....everything worked in the room......food in the restaurant was great..breakfast and evening meal....If you requested the staff to keep bringing toast then toast was what you got.....staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you.
We were there on a National Holidays coach so for the price we paid it was certainly value for money....even free drinks every evening.
Now my favorite gripe....WiFi......it was poor in the room but I was already aware of this and if it meant sitting in a public area a couple of times a day then so be it....it was fast enough in the function room....I was streaming radio 5 live when the football was on

Room Tip: When you book ask for a room with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kellaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm glad that you found the staff to be attentive and efficient and that you found your stay to be of value for money.
The free Wi-Fi in the public areas is a great boon and is well received by many guests including yourself!
Hope that you can return.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    538
    260
    90
    70
See reviews for
185
707
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south shields england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

how anyone can moan about this hotel for what you have paid is beyond me if you want the savoy pay the price and stop whingeing food was ok the entertainment likewise and location stunning you will get no complaints from and ive been 4 times and i can,t really take a review seriously when its littered with omg please stop being so lazy and learn to speak properly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pipey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
Your comments are much appreciated.
It's great to get comments from guests who have stayed here many times.
Thank you and hope to see you on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

just had a four night stay at the claymore hotel the view was spectacular.has for the hotel the breakfast was over cooked and cold.the room had no shower.overall I was very disappointed.when I asked about a room with a walk in shower I was told that they did not have any.i later found out that this was not true.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear John D,
I'm sorry to read that you were not happy with your stay. We try to make sure everyone enjoys their stay at the hotel and will make try to rectify any issues as soon as possible.
If only matters were brought to our attention whilst you were here then things could have been done to make your stay more enjoyable
I also think you misunderstood about the showers - we have them, just not many of them.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say . This hotel is like house of horrors . OMG can't even rate this place . I have gave it one star but that is not true . The rooms are shocking damp smelly dated. I would rather wash myself in the loch . The staff are really friendly thou this is all it has going for it. The scenery is fantastic .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon211165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for your minute review of your recent stay.
I will pass on your nice comments about the staff !
Many thanks,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DURHAM ENGLAND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just got back from a 2 day stay at the claymore hotel with national holidays , firstly the driver David was really good and the overall trip very well organised , we were booked into room 1 with a scenic view in a very bright and clean room , yes the hotel does need an update in the main public areas , we spoke to the other parties on the coach and at least 4 seperate parties were not happy with there rooms , Food and all staff were friendly especially the restaurant ones , entertainment was only average but you cannot expect top superstars for this price . So finally we would return but ask for a recently updated room which we luckily got this time .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margoDurhamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm glad that there was aspects of the hotel you enjoyed and I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

just got back from a 2 night stay staff all friendly however the rooms are disgusting.i would rather go in the loch for a wash than use the hotel bathroom absolute filthy and stank of foist and bad drainage.water coming through the celling in the bar area whilst sat having a drink.spoke to the manager about the stench of the rooms to be told hes never had a compaint b4 lol.iv got the pics to prove the filth and will be taking this complaint further.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at the Claymore Hotel.
I would be delighted to discuss the issues you had with your room privately.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Have been to the Claymore quite a few times with National Holidays. First couple of visits were excellent with great quality food. However the food on the last visit was disappointing with just a run of the mill menu. A far cry from the salmon encroute what was on the menu on our first visit.
Probably the recession has caused them to cut back. Breakfast however was still very good.
Rooms have been refurbished over the last few years but you need to stipulate either bath or shower when you book up. Will still go again as the entertainment provided by Jay Jackson and a local comedian were very worthwhile and will make a point of going when they are on.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the loch and if you prefer a bath or shower stipulate which one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingfisher17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm glad to read that you had been here before and had decided to return but I can only apologise if you felt the menu was disappointing.
We receive many compliments about the food at the hotel and I can also assure you that we have not cut back.
I'm also pleased to read that you enjoyed the entertainment at the hotel.
It is an important part of your stay and it's nice to get some recognition and feedback.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing