We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Claymore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Village Inn(Arrochar)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Lochside Guest House(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ben Bheula B&B(Arrochar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabank B&B(Arrochar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
An Corr(Arrochar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,538)
Filter reviews
1,538 results
Traveller rating
457
621
283
96
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
621
283
96
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysfree barour waiternational coachcoach driverconcert roomno liftscenic viewbeautiful scotlandentertainment roomshower attachmentdining roommet some lovely peopleburns nightfood was lovelygretna greenevening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
845 - 850 of 1,538 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Claymore at Arrochar.......what can I say, the staff are fantastic, spent a wonderful 4 days there, food good, rooms clean, entertainment fab, comedian that funny I nearly wet myself, and Elaine(receptionist), what a cracking voice, trips fab, and the scenery was out of this world, looks like my daughter will be going next..........Bloody Well Done Guys, and must say big thanks to the national drivers, Tony, Carl, Alec and Jill

Room Tip: ask for view over the Loch
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaxandangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Scotland IS Bonnie right enough!
Great to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Claymore.
Don't leave it too long before another visit!
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We went on a National Coach Holiday at the Claymore Hotel Arrochar,Loch Lomond for the Easter Weekend to celebrate my fathers 91st birthday 2014.18th April - 21st April.
We had a great time,hotel a little dated, but food was first class,breakfast and evening meal included,also we had vouchers for free drinks for the 3 days were there
The holiday included tours through to Oban, Calander, and the Trossachs plus a boat trip on Loch Lomond,we had great weather the whole of the weekend, did not have to put a coat on.
Now I know why they call it beautiful Scotland,
The staff in the Hotel were very pleasant and friendly they had plenty of time for you, made a big
fuss over my father on the day of his birthday,We have been on National Coach trips before
and this is one of the best, views were breathtaking over the Loch just outside the front entrance
of the hotel.Will certainly go again.

Room Tip: higher floor better
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marypop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

You picked a great time to visit Arrochar.
The Easter weekend was filled with sunshine and warmth - you were very fortunate!
I'm so glad that your father enjoyed his birthday while he was here and it was our pleasure to fuss over him on his special day.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked up for the National Holidays 5 day Scotland superdeal break. The hotel is in a beautiful location on the shore of Loch Long.
We found the staff to be really friendly and helpful, even the dining room staff who despite being super busy were attentive to our needs.
I think the comments about the hotel being old are a little unfair, yes I agree its not as up to date as some modern trendy hotels but that would be out of place given the location.
In all we had a fab time and met some fab people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the loch
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm so glad that you found the hotel to be pleasant and that you enjoyed your stay.
Come back and see us again.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just returned from a National Coach 4 day Break , Staying at the Claymore Hotel Arrochar, The hotel its self is in need of a facelift , we had three rooms between us and all were a very tired state and one smelt of damp, that was the the bad bit , Staff at the hotel were very obliging and pleasant,nothing was to much trouble for them, Meals were served hot and a good choice from menu for breakfast and evening meal , Being all inclusive we were given 4 drinks per day bar opened 11am 12pm except sunday when it closed at 11.30pm entertainment was ok and they also played bingo if you like that sort of thing.

Room Tip: if you require en suite shower you will have to ask at reception on arrival as many rooms just have baths,
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm so glad that you found the hotel staff to be obliging and pleasant. They all take great pride in ensuring all our guests enjoy themselves and are treated in a courteous efficient manner.
Here's hoping that you can return for another visit.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having read the reviews beforehand I have to agree with the majority.
The hotel is a bit dated .......but....everything worked in the room......food in the restaurant was great..breakfast and evening meal....If you requested the staff to keep bringing toast then toast was what you got.....staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you.
We were there on a National Holidays coach so for the price we paid it was certainly value for money....even free drinks every evening.
Now my favorite gripe....WiFi......it was poor in the room but I was already aware of this and if it meant sitting in a public area a couple of times a day then so be it....it was fast enough in the function room....I was streaming radio 5 live when the football was on

Room Tip: When you book ask for a room with a shower
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kellaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm glad that you found the staff to be attentive and efficient and that you found your stay to be of value for money.
The free Wi-Fi in the public areas is a great boon and is well received by many guests including yourself!
Hope that you can return.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews