We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear God!”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Ok....we are with national coach holiday..not expecting great things but dear God..Hotel is on banks of loch long. Location is beautiful. Mgr came onto coach..very nice, clear instructions collected key humped case upto first floor we were not offered a lift...walked into room...oh holy moley...room minute, grubby and so tired, so so bloody tired. Decor from 80s. Wallpaper grubby, lampshade from pound shop, chest of drawers, scratched, stained and grubby, radiator dirty and wires sticking out covered with tape. Hair drier so old..see my pics for all this. The divan base was stained...no shower in bathroom just suckers for the taps, the bathroom smelt faintly of wee, in fact the room had a smell, the bed had a mattress protector, thank god, the linen was white and immaculate....sheets pillowcases and towels the bedspread is very dodgy..the bar is clean and fairly pleasant as is the dining area but the food although edible was not brilliant. Staff are lovely and look smart. Night entertainment is a pub singer from Glasgow but as the hotels residents are half cut they seem to like his 80s efforts....if it is cheap and cheerful you are after, with a beautiful view from the bar window then you'll love it however anything above this then search elsewhere...bay hotels should be ashamed of themselves.....

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed some aspects of the hotel although I'm disappointed to read about the other issues you mentioned in your review.
The hotel is undergoing some room renovations which will commence shortly and this will rectify many of the issues raised here.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
There are newer reviews for Claymore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the hotel was very enjoyable. The staff was very helpful and polite. Food was very nice, my partner who is a large man found the food sufficient enough for him. Room was comfortable but could do with updating. We didn't expect a 4star like some people do!We are returning in December.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Many thanks for your review on trip adviser.
I'm glad that you found the staff to be polite and courteous. They should be!
We're looking forward to you staying with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of National Express coach trip. The rooms are very basic and in need of refurbishment. The views were fantastic. Couldn't fault the food or the staff. Hotel definitely needs an up grade.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of loch long. If you are infirm you need to ask for ground floor room The...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your brief review on trip adviser.
We are currently addressing the issue you mentioned in your review and I hope that you can return to the Claymore in the future.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I would have given 5 stars if I could have had a room with a shower..... I was given a shower which fits on the taps on the bath! It was a good one, gave a good shower and didn't fall off the taps but the bathroom was very wet when I had finished showering!
Myself and my husband with went to the Claymore on a coach, Monday to Friday.
The staff were lovely, all of them were very helpful and pleasant. Our waiter I think he was called Chubba, was excellent, a real character.
The food was good too, I think the soup was homemade... not dried soup like it is in some places.
The porridge was just so good Scottish.
We had haggis with neeps and tatties too that was very good, very filling.
The hotel overlooks Loch Long, beautiful view whatever time of day and watching the birds diving into the sea was fascinating.
We got on the local bus on our free day and went int Tarbet where we could have a boat ride on Loch Lomond... very recommendable.
Never saw a midge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank appletree80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

What a nice review - thank you.
How lucky were you not to see any midgies!!
Come back again soon.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have just returned from my 3rd visit to this hotel, it is an old tired hotel but clean. i love going there staff are polite and friendly cannot do enough for you.

Will soon be returning for a 4th Visit

Room Tip: not all rooms have a shower if a shower is needed i would request before you book
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kaz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

How great to read that this is your 3rd visit and you're coming back again.
We must be doing something right!!
See you soon.
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Negatives first - no lifts in this hotel. This fact ought to be stated before booking so that less mobile guests could be allocated a low floor.
No shower - a hand held hose was made available, but this would not connect to the taps.
Positives - a stunning setting on the shore of Loch Long.
Wonderful staff. All were efficient and worked with a smile.
The hotel worked like clockwork - obviously well trained staff.
Beautiful food, well cooked. Interesting, well cooked vegetables. Very tasty.
The portions were ample - but beware of over generosity.
When no beans or tomato were requested, the plate came with double sausage, double bacon and double eggs!!! Good quality too.
Public rooms were spotlessly clean, as were the bedrooms.

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem request a ground floor ,as there are no lifts in this hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OldJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Many thanks for your comments on trip adviser.
We are hoping to get rid of the negatives you have posted here but there is no lift as we only have 3 levels and you enter the rooms on the middle level.
We are also looking to install more showers and this process is ongoing.
We hope that you can return to the hotel in the future to enjoy some more Scottish hospitality!
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just home from a 4 day stay at the Claymore. We travelled with National Coaches. We both agree that it was one of the best National Holidays that we had, and we have travelled with them all over the country for many years. The Claymore is a beautiful building steeped in history a bit dated but what the heck for what we paid for it, it was a little gem. Booking in was very fast and efficient considering a couple of other coaches arrived at the same time. We were given a twin room 317 on ground floor overlooking Loch Long. Perfect. Hairdrier, tea and coffee facitities, TV , bath with hand held shower. Room date, BUT had spotlessly clean white sheets, fluffy white towels & was cleaned daily. The food was easily compared with a 3/4 star hotel, plenty of choice, and a very efficient service. The young waiters and waitresses were polite and always had a smile on their face if we asked for extras we were told 'no problem' and extras delivered to our table within seconds. They are a credit to the Claymore as is every other members of staff, from the Manager, night security, cleaners and all behind the scene (Chefs) deserve praise. Thankyou for making our short break a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Room 317 is on ground floor with beautiful views over Loch Long
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pollymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

What lovely comments you have given us.
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and I'm certain that all the staff will be delighted with your kind words.
Regards,
Gary Watson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
505 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
10.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing