We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dated”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Well located, very clean hotel. Very dated with very few rooms having showers. You have to get a rubber tap attachment from reception. Take your own shampoo, conditioner as non were supplied. Food very good with friendly staff. Bar quite expensive. All in all good hotel.

Room Tip: Get a loch view. Wonderful place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for your review.
I'm so glad that you found the hotel to be clean and that you enjoyed the location.
And you are correct , it is a good hotel!!
Kind regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    553
    262
    92
    72
See reviews for
192
720
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

never met a hotel with such lovely staff even the gardener was friendly smiles always ,food great, room great always clean waitress very good ,entertainment brilliant only fault no taty scones for breakfast lol I got some for home thank you for a great stay you did Scotland proud x we will be back thanx Elaine,barbara and gary for leading a great team .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnG3178SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
What can I say. Thanks for your great review!
Don't wait too long until you come back.
Kind regards,
Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I went here with my partner for a relaxing weekend away as id been very poorly. Really wished we'd had stayed at home, it was very dirty, very cold and very uncomfortable! The cleaners had not done a very good job as there was tablets left on the floor as the side of our bed, so glad we didnt have kids with us!!! God only knows what kind of tablets they were!! The bathroom was filthy the only place i know where i took a bath (no shower) and come out feeling even more dirty!! Goes without saying i wont be staying here again not if they paid me its a health hazard!! Pictures speak for themselves!! If anybody wants to contact me regarding this establishment feel free!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
How bizarre that you submit a review 8 months after you stayed here.
Perhaps a more timely response would be more informative to potential guests.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

stayed for 3 nights rooms large clean and bright room service great nothing a problem breakfast was lovely .bar food excellent and reasonable priced.the highlight of this hotel was the staff all very friendly and welcoming especially the staff at reception .well done Clayton can't wait to go back !!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tadhg167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for your nice review.
Come back and stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great f
Food Great Service & Friendly Staff.We arrived 2 days after my son complained about the terrible hygine levels on bedroom 201. All issues were sorted.My son fully appreciates sorting out so quickly. He regrets putting staff under so much pressure. But feels had to raise them. For benefit of future guests like ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for coming back to reply to earlier comments.
Kind regards,
Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

there is only one word to describe this hotel on the eye of near monroas and on the bank of lock lomond that word is stunning clean rooms great night entertainment enjoyable day trips and world class food heaven really is a place on earth

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review of your recent stay.
Come back and see us again soon.
Regards,
Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egypt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at claymore with national holidays on the 1st August for 4 nights the hotel room was disgusting and dirty I had telephoned the manager beforehand and said I was concerned about the hotel from the reviews I had read his answer was don't believe all you read on tripadvisor how I wish I had I didn't expect 4* but I did expect better the bed was a bit suspect the bathroom had awful smell food was ok staff very nice I don't live like that at home and shouldn't have to pay to live like that for 4 days never again

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank EgyptGreengarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your comments on trip adviser.
You are correct in saying that you shouldn't have to stay in conditions you were not happy with,
Had you spoken to the duty manager while you were at the hotel these issues would have been rectified. As it is now passed I can do nothing but reply here.
Regards,
Gary Watson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,128 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
440 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing