We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location shame about hotel”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed at the Claymore hotel for 3 nights from 27 December 09 travelled with my husband with National Holidays. The hotel is in a beautiful setting looking onto Loch Long the scenery was amazing as the mountains around the loch were covered in snow and the surrounding countryside was magnificent just like a winter wonderland. Unfortunatly the hotel was not up to standard and is rather shabby and the bedooms are very small as others have already said this hotel needs to be closed down and a complete refurbisment is needed. Having said that the staff are very friendly and work hard the meals were OK but portions were small but enough to fill you. Entertainment at night in the lounge was average although we preferred to have a dink in the bar which was more comfortable. We did venture into Arrochar village which is small and pretty but there is a pub on either side of the hotel equal walking distance each side which we went to at night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caplac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,423 - 1,429 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2009

We have just returned from a 3 day break at this hotel which we enjoyed and had a good laugh with the people that we met. We had read a few reviews on trip advisor and we are sorry to say but we have to agree with some of the reviews about the hotel needing updating. It needs decorating, new carpets in certain areas and general upgrading. Meals were very good, just don't expect a very big fried breakfast (fill up on toast). If you stay in room 300 we got the cobwebs removed for the next guest, but staying in this room don't expect a view as you look onto a back yard. Hope this review is helpful as it is truthful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We have read many different reviews on various sites regarding the Claymore Hotel at Arrochar. We travelled with National Holdays on a four day break. As customers, and we know that staff feel the same way, we appreciate that the hotel is a little tired, and the corridor carpets a little grubby, but hey, for goodness sake, it would be impossible to match the price for paying for the petrol to travel up there in the car and stay in accommodation. You pays your money, you takes your chances, that’s the feedback we seem to come across most frequently with these style of holidays. It’s what you make it! The hotel is perhaps in need of refurbishment, but the service we, and many others have received was second to none. Some of the Management and staff’s hospitality is exemplary, and they bent over backwards to accommodate our needs twice! We were lucky enough thanks to Ronnie the hotel manager to obtain what we consider is probably the best room in the house with the most incredible view which we took the time to thank and praise them for. We do have plans to return and they explained that if we were unfortunate and we couldn’t have The Heather Suite again, that they would endeavour to try and make sure that we received a nice room again, what more could you ask for?


We have to say that the reviews are unfortunately correct with regard to the clamour of guests queuing for the free bar at 7.30 which on the first night we found out to our cost. On our return from the local pub round the corner (The Village Inn – very nice) once you’ve ventured away from the seating area, lobby, function room and bar you can’t get a seat for love nor money. We just wanted a quiet table away from the rabble of noise to relax and play Backgammon, after almost giving up and setting up the board on a ledge near reception after what seemed an age, a kind and obliging staff member offered us the use of the office to play our game. Once again, what more could you ask? If you are of the ilk that the free bar on offer is important to you, then you may find certain problems with their restrictions, regulations and queues, to us it never spoilt our break away at all. We never really sampled all of the evening entertainment so we cannot really comment, however the girls that came from Helensburgh to offer us their delights of Highland Dancing were very enjoyable.

The food was ok and portion size was fine as long as you weren’t a hungry Joe. There was plenty of choice and left us feeling full, and we have good appetites.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

our stay was enjoyable and value 4 money.free bar was good,location and scenery was good
overall break was enjoyable bus trip was fine all broke up into aprox 2 hours each time on coach stopping off a various towns on the way.
would do it all again

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_dawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

The hotel had a christmas theme which was nice and was cosy when combined with a real fire in the lounge. The rooms were very basic but clean - no shower & the hairdryer was broken! The food was basic with limited sized portions but the staff were very friendly and helpful. The area was very scenic and for the money and overall it was a good value weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

Upon arrival we were amazed at the sheer beauty of the Hotels setting. Our amazement was short lived when we got off the coach to have to push our way through the smokers congreation at the front door! This carried on into the "Wee small hours" Keeping residents awake !
We noticed a large plastic margaring tub at the top of a beautilful sweeping staircase joking it was to catch the rain drops !! Looking up at the ceiling we realised that was exactly what is had been used for.
The rooms...... Well. Tired is not the word i would use. Admittedly we did only pay £99 on a national coach trip but hey we all have standards. The celing had obviously had a bad leak at sompoint that had been very badly patched up. Curtails were hanging off because there wernt enough clips to hold them onto the rail. The wardrobe only had one door that was hanging out of its track.
The shower both in our room ( room 4) and our friends (room 2) was very dangerous as they ran hot & cold almost scalding my friend.
There were 4 national coaches in and the hotel quite obviously could not accomodate all the people in the entertainment room, we sat for two nights in the corridor in reception. The food was very averidge. Warm at least. Filled a hole.
The decor is awfully worn and dirty as are the carpets. The matress's on the beds were so uncomfortable you could feel the bed bases.
The smoking at the front door should be stopped and they should be moved on but Ronnie the General Manager joked with them about it, but didnt moved them on !!
There is absolutely no way in the whole world i would ever return or recommend this to any poor sole wanting even a cheap break. Please take note of the bad reviews as they are totally justified. We all like a "bargain" but this was not worth a penny of our hard earned cash !

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hecky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Stayed at the claymore hotel for one night as part of a trip with national holidays. Must say it was outstanding value for money, food was very good,and the 3 hours free bar is a real bonus. The hotel room was a little dated but it was very clean. The hotel overlooks loch long and the views are fantastic. Unfortunately the weather was horrendous,so am going to go back next summer and stay for 4 days.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oatesyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
575 reviews
10.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
819 reviews
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing