We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAD A GREAT TIME”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
hull
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HAD A GREAT TIME”
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My husband, myself and two of our grandsons stayed here for two nights. The Hotel is old but most efficiently run. The view is fantastic, the food was great and plenty of it. The service was definitely 5*. The entertainment was good fun. The boys are 10 and 12 and it was their first stay in a Hotel, they loved it . I only hope all future Hotels they stay in are as much fun for them. Thankyou all at the Claymore.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HullPolly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    566
    266
    92
    73
See reviews for
196
735
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
darlington
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

It's difficult to be objective about this hotel as you can't give an honest review without involving the tour operator but here goes.
The hotel occupies a lovely location on the shore of loch long with good views across the loch.The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren with passages leading to different wings.Our room 500 was a bit small with l ittle room to move between bed and wardrobe and the bathroom wasn't much different,one big complaint here is the size of the bath,very narrow and the wooden panelling round it.
As to cleanliness we found a capsule on the floor,not ours so cleaning wasn't up to scratch.
One high point was the dining room and the waiting staff,all very good,I was even asked one evening if I had had enough that's a first.
One other point that future guests might take notice of is the hotel doesn't have a lift.
Allin all we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't put people off from staying at this hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darlopost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I satyed with my partner on the 4th of july 2010 with national holidays for 1 night (2 days). The view from the hotel lobby and outside was lovely even in the awful weather we had. However the hotel room we had was in the bowels of the building, room 300, the room was very small but clean. Getting to the room however included lots of smelly corridors very like a mans locker room! For one night the stay was comfortable enough, the bed was comfortable, although the room needed updated. Their was no shower, 4 tv channels and you have to buy your own shower gel/bath foam in our case. Apparently the rooms upstairs faired much better with a shower and lovely view. The meals were actually quite nice, even as a vegetarian. All I can suggest is that if you stay longer than one or two nights you ask for a better room if you are stuck below as the smell will eventually drive you mad!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jai34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed at the Claymore in June 2010, travelling with National Holidays. The coach trip was very good but we stopped twice which seemed to make it seem a very long journey.

We had a very nice room but our friends had two single rooms which both had a horrible view of a corrugated tin roof.

The food and service were excellent, very quick with a good choice which was well cooked and hot. The serving staff were all lovely.

I was a bit surprised at the lack of disabled facilities, there didn't seem to be a lift and there were a lot of stairs. Also I would have preferred a shower to a bath and I heard a few other people say the same.

The bar service was okay apart from the rush at the beginning and end which wasn't the staff's fault. They were all very nice.

The excursions were good but I would have preferred a day in Stirling.

Take some insect repellent because the midges are vicious.

Unfortunately the weather was very disappointing and I am sure when the sun is shining the views are fantastic, but it was very cloudy and overcast.

Overall I did enjoy the holiday and would definitely consider using National Holidays again but probably not The Claymore.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyVisitor30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Arrived with Nat Holidays whom were very well organised, has my first holiday in a lot of years was very surprised at the quality of the Hotel and friendliness of all the staff, the food was excellent first class, service was also excellent and the staff they could not have been more helpful, the free bar was a help, comfort of the rooms was good but basic and the only fault for me was the smallness of the shower space, the location of the claymore views from the lock side excellent, when I was there the weather was full sunshine all day with a slow breeze keeping the insects at bay, as I am a disabled person and again was surprised at the full facility which were for the disabled, would defiantly recommend this hotel to my closest friends with no trouble at all thanks to the staff and the people I traveled with on the coach I had a splendid Holiday thanks.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imagemakerYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Britain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

It is difficult to know what to say about this hotel, because we did enjoy our stay there. The hotel is in a lovely position and the staff are helpful and very hard working. However, the room we had was not very clean (there was dust all around the edges of the carpet) and it looked out on to a neglected garden. The corridor leading to the room stank with a really horrible smell. The bathroom was half pine panelled and had black gunge along the edge of the bath. Underneath the toilet was dirty. The bedsheets and towels were clean, but the bedspread and blanket were stained.

The floorboards creak like rifles going off, so you need ear plugs for sleeping! Every time anyone moves in the next rooms, the noise is terrible. Also, the walls are very thin and you can hear everything from the bathroom next door!

We enjoyed the food at the Claymore. There was plenty of choice and everything was cooked well. The waiter, Bruno, was excellent and should be working in a 5 star hotel.

The entertainment at night was about what we would have expected - bingo and a singer. Most people seemed to enjoy it. The free bar was a bonus and, although we sometimes had to wait to be served, the staff worked very hard to keep up with demand.

All in all, a good break if you're not too fussy about cleanliness! A deep clean by a commercial cleaning company would work wonders!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nettyfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

had a great time at the claymore went with hubby and two friends for our wedding anniversary, will be going back in july as a group of girls great value for money, free bar for 3 hours food pretty decent room was a bit shabby but for £59 you can't really complain
excellent location great views over loch long friendly driver Leo very informative......good old national holidays done well again !!

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cogsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing