We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Claymore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 13 December 2010

The Claymore is situated at the head of Loch Long in the small village of Arrochar. The hotel is totally geared up to the coach parties that frequent it, from National Holidays and I wouldn’t really recommend it for a couple’s holiday as you’ll probably feel a bit out of place with the groups from the bus tours.

The hotel is a little tired (xxxx bathrooms rather than designer wet rooms) but it is clean and tidy enough. The dining is very much catered for the bus groups, which means that as soon as you have ordered it, your meal arrives (being pre-prepared). Having said that, we couldn’t complain at all about the food as it was very tasty and you got plenty of choice. Cheap and cheerful I think would be the best description. After mealtime there was entertainment each night, which were of varying capabilities!

As well as the hotel bar (which has free happy hour, or three, if you have bought that option) there are a further two pubs in Arrochar. Each one is about half a mile maximum, each way from the Claymore along the loch side. Other than that there are only a couple of small shops in Arrochar and the stunning views of the loch and the mountains.

All in all a pleasant weekend with plain but clean rooms, cheap & cheerful food and absolutely stunning location.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_and_Linz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    553
    264
    92
    72
See reviews for
192
721
49
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2010

i have just returned from a trip to rothesay on the isle of bute on the way home due to adverse weather conditions we was redirected to stay at the arrochar hotel i found the staff to most pleasant very helpful as coaches was coming all night and most of the next day food was lovely and the rooms clean i have been to this hotel before3 i have always found it pleasant to stay there. and i shall look forward to returning in the future it may be tired and dated but i find that part of the charm and at this time of monetary problems people should be thankful that they are still open and not closed down due to the recession, THANK YOU TO ALL AT THE CLAYMORE HOTEL who my stay a lot better than it might have been.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne310352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We went for a weekend break Friday to Monday.The staff were excellent and couldn`t
do enough for us.My sister-in-law suffers from coeliac disease and received a seperate
menu to choose from,this has never happened in any other hotel.Our room was clean and spacious and when we requested an extra blanket and pillows no problem.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllis32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

hi my name is c coates i stayed at your hotel more than once . i am returning with my freinds in dec 13th my review this hotel is clean and tidy staff very nice and helpfull . food pleanty and weldone a good menu i come up on coach with my family fri 12th nov i recmend it too any one who just once a very good holday thankyou to all your staff . mrs c coates

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

If you want a cheap weekend break (Friday to Sunday for £99) then it would be difficult to beat the National Holiday trip to the Claymore, run by Bay Hotels, in Arrochar.
The hotel is situated at the head of Loch Long with beautiful views of the loch & the Cobbler (Ben Arthur).
There was a party of six of us making our second visit to the hotel, the first being in April 2009.

The above price included:

1) The return coach trip from Newcastle to Arrochar, stopping at Gretna Green & Luss on the way there & Moffat on the way home.
2) A full day trip by coach, to Callendar, the Trossachs & Aberfoyle the next day.
3) Evening meal on Friday evening.
4) Breakfast & evening meal on the Saturday.
5) Breakfast on the Sunday morning before departure at 9.15am.
6) A free bar from 7.30pm till 10.30pm.
7) Entertainment in the concert room on Friday & Saturday night.

Admittedly, the rooms, as mentioned in some of the previous reviews, are not the “Ritz” but they are perfectly adequate for their intended use, especially so if you are paying “campsite” prices.
There was plenty of storage space, the bed was comfortable & bed linen was spotless, & our room (232), was warm & clean with constant very hot water.
A TV, hair dryer & tea/coffee making facilities were also provided.
The food was fine & there were certainly no complaints from our party about quantity or variation. We even had the option of a Christmas meal of Tomato soup, Turkey & Christmas pudding on the Saturday night (13th Nov) included in the price.
The staff in the dining room & bar could not have been more pleasant, well mannered & helpful.
We all had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend & as mentioned by some others on our coach, we don’t know how they manage to do the full package for the price.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickLurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I have just come back from a 2 night stay at this hotel, with my husband, mum and dad.
After reading some of the reviews we were very open minded about the hotel but i cannot fault the hotel, staff etc in anyway.
We travelled with National Holidays our driver Steve was fantastic, helpful, polite and very good with information about the area, he took us out on a day trip and showed us all the sites which was a great day.
The staff at the hotel are very helpful, polite, our waiter Bruno was great, always had a smile and couldn't do enough for you, Elaine was great and nothing was to much trouble for any member of staff.
The rooms were clean, and replenished everyday.
The food was great, good selection of food and if you didnt want something an alternative was always available.
Great value for money, set in a beautiful location with great staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

just returned from the claymore,a group of 8 of us in total,we paid 99 quid each and its the bargain of the century,lovely food,soup on the first course could be a litte hotter but its nowhere near cold,all inclusive bar great,they get through thequeue quickly so your not waiting long,we stayed in room233 which is looking a bit tired but it was clean the bed was really comfy and the water for the bath was piping hot,but your not in there that long anyway,great day out on the saturday with driver jonathon who,s a bit of a comedian and the weather held which was good,all in all for 99 quid dont expect the hilton but well worth the money,oh and davey the assistant manager watch out for the werewolf next halloween he may return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianp41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
442 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
13.5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Property: Claymore Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing