We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fascadail Country Guest House
Ranked #2 of 16 Arrochar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really nice stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Really enjoyed our week's stay in Fascadail House. I have not given full marks simply because of a few over-sights and a very small shower cubicle which was a bit of a squeeze for a big guy like me. However pleased to say that we had great hosts who cannot do enough for you and who provide lovely food, service, etc within a tranquil location. The four poster bed-room was fab with great views, (although one bed upright split the TV screen in half) and the extra sitting room with its extra TV was just the ticket.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for leaving a review however we wonder that your few oversights were more of a concern as by scoring us 4/5 this is 80% instead of 100%. During your 7 night stay if you had only talked to us about these oversights we would have had the opportunity to rectify these if possible. We are only to happy to listen to guests concerns and would prefer the opportunity to rectify these rather than have a guest leave dissatisfied. In terms of the shower it is a standard size shower and as for the bed upright splitting the TV screen in half it only does this towards one edge of the bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
178
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedbergh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived on speck and took the last room. It was the smallest room in the house but perfect for our needs, excellent value and very comfortable. It is a lovely old house in an excellent location overlooking the loch and close to the Village in which is great for dinner. We had an excellent fully Scottish breakfast in the beautifully decorated dinning room. Our host was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SymondsPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. We do recommend room 3 for 1 nights as it is the smallest of our rooms but as you say perfect for your needs. Perhaps we will see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellerbek
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for one night in the fourposter room with magnificent look onto Loch Long. Nice hosts, who reserved a table in the Village Inn for us. The bedroom was just big enough, but there was another room with a second TV.
All in all to be recommended, although not exactly cheap.

Room Tip: Any room with view towards the Loch may be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for leaving a review about your stay and we are pleased to read that you would recommend our B&B. We are however disappointed that you felt it was expensive especially when you actually e-mailed to request the four poster room for 1 night as it is usually a 2 night minimum particularly on a weekend. The price for a 1 night stay reflects not just the size of the room but also the work involved in preparing the room for 1 night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Village Inn made a mistake with our booking, so we ended up staying in Fascadail House, just 5 min walk away from Village Inn.
Fascadail B&B is located just off the main road, on the hill side, over-looking Loch Long. The house is gorgeous with beautiful gardens. Our room was #1, which is very big with a sofa, also the bathroom was reasonable size. The windows were towards to the garden and the greenhouse, and the hens ;-)
The breakfast was delicious. As they have their own greenhouse and hens, you can be sure the breakfast ingredients are fresh.
There is wifi, but in our room it only worked if you were close to the door. So if you wanted to surf in the internet, whilst sitting comfortably in the bed, then the wifi did not work.
There is a shop (“supermarket”) within 3 min walking distance. Also Village Inn is within 5 minute walking distance, so you easily pop there for drink or dinner. Though if you wish to have dinner, better book the table upfront.
Fascadail is a hidden gem in Arrochar. It was absolutely lovely and tranquil. To be honest, I think we were better off staying in Fascadail, than in fully booked Village Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piiku99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for leaving such a comprehensive review and that you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps you will make a return visit some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were so pleased that we decided against a guest house around Loch Lomond and chose Fascadail House. The hosts were great, breakfast outstanding, we had to cut back the second morning. We had a good sized light filled king room overlooking the beautiful garden and loch which was perfect. The furnishings were a good mix of modern but with a little tartan on the bed and deer and thistle wallpaper so that you knew you were in Scotland without it being heavy or dark. The bathroom was very nice with shower over bath. Personally I'd rather have a walk in shower which I know the owners are considering, although some people like a soak in a bath. Arrochar is a quiet place with not much going on but a dinner at the Village Inn recommended. Great place to for a 1 or 2 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review and for giving us feedback on our current survey of guests about our dilemma between a bath and a larger shower in the room you stayed in. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed at Fascadail for an overnight stay on my way to the Highlands in late May. The house is in a lovely location overlooking Loch Long, with the village within walking distance. The room was quiet, nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. The was a folder full of useful information about the local area and suggestions. The only thing I would say is that the bathroom was maybe on the small side, that however did not bother me and it had all that is needed. I arrived quite late but the hosts were very accommodating and helpful. I had a really nice breakfast in the morning and Kevin gave me some recommendations for the area as well as indications of driving times. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgane_oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Fascadail en route to a holiday in Mull in late May. The house is in a beautiful location, and the owners were charming hosts. They booked a table at the nearby Village Inn where we had a good meal. The area is lovely and would repay a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunniton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelt0tty, Owner at Fascadail Country Guest House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hope you enjoyed your time in Scotland and thanks for leaving a review of your brief stay with us. There is plenty to do if you decide to make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.7 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
0.1 mi away
Seabank B&B
Seabank B&B
#1 of 16 in Arrochar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fascadail Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fascadail Country Guest House

Property: Fascadail Country Guest House
Address: Fascadail House Church Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fascadail Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 40 minutes from Glasgow and 2 minutes from Loch Lomond. Located by the tranquil shores of Loch Long in the picturesque village of Arrochar, this mid-19th-century listed residence sits in extensive gardens. There are magnificent and changing views out across the garden to the Loch and the Arrochar Alps with their distinctive profile of Ben Arthur (The Cobbler). A warm and friendly welcome awaits, providing a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fascadail Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fascadail Country Guest House Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing