We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lochs and Glens holiday”
Review of Loch Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Loch Long Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lochs and Glens holiday”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was our second holiday with Lochs and Glens and I cannot praise them enough.Value for money was excellent,with a 5day/4night break for just £158/pp.This included all excursions,bed breakfast and evening meal and nightly entertainment.The hotel,although a little dated,was very clean and the room very comfortable with a superb view of the Loch which is "just over the road".Really good choice of breakfast and if you can manage it a 3 course meal every night,again with choices.Hotel staff were very welcoming,suitcases taken to your room and collected again on departure.Will definitely holiday with them again.

Room Tip: Book early as the rooms with a good view are allocated first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steviepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    141
    48
    36
    15
See reviews for
54
267
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Havent been on a coach holiday before so this was a whole new experience. I was dreading the coach journey to Scotland but we had plenty of stops. the hotel was clean and although our room was quite small it was squeaky clean and even had a hairdryer. towels were changed every day. Good choice of food at breakfast and dinner, the staff were helpful and kind. The trips were very comprehensive and Alan our driver was extremely knowledgeable and we probably learned a lot from his commentaries. Entertainment in the evenings was extremely well organised and our MC worked really hard to make sure everyone was enjoying themselves. So all in all a good holiday with Lochs and Glens

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

just back from our first holiday in scotland with Lochs and Glens coach company.What wonderful value for money.The coaches and drivers were excellent,thanks to our driver Brian C
and our relief driver scottish Brian wonderful sense of humour.The Loch long hotel couldnt be faulted,courteous and friendly staff and very good food,everything was so well organised but we didnt feel like we were herded about like some holidays,entertainment was low key but good.We will definitly be going on another Lochs and Glens holiday Well done to all concerned

Room Tip: ask for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pmagpeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldershot
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

this was our fourth visit with lochs and glens and ccould not fault it. the hotel was very clean the staff are superb so helpful and friendly. the food was very good, service great. we had a 4th floor room overlooking the loch a big picture window with a lovely view. this was an easter break and on sunday morning one of the waitresses greeted us with bunny ears and we all had an easter egg. would recommend loch long hotel for a lovely break with fantastic scenery. thanks to allan our driver who had so much knowledge of scotland and quite a few jokes as well. thanks to all the staff who made our holiday great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clare a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We went to Loch Long hotel with Lochs&Glens holiday company picking up from Luton.Although the coach trip up to Scotland was 10 hours we had plenty of stops and the driver Dave gave us plenty of interesting facts about places we were passing.When we arrived at the hotel ,the cases were removed from the coach and were delivered to our room by the hotel staff,
our room,no 307,was small but very clean and tidy, there were tea making facilities and hair drierand the room over looked the mountains.The bathroom had a shower cubicle and plenty of hot water,although the bathroom could have been a bit bigger.
The food at the hotel was very good,with a good selection for breakfast,although the SCOTTISH BREAKFAST wasn't Scottish,where was the square sausage and black pudding?,but still it was very nice and it set you up for the busy days.
The staff were very friendly, and efficient,and the bar prices were reasonable for a hotel.The bar and public areas were loverly and friendly and there was plenty of seating and tables.The entertainment was very good and the entertainment manager,Andy ,always got people up to join in the games and the dancing.I would recommend the Long Loch Hotel to anybody as a base to see a lot of Scotland,just a word of warning though,there is not a lot for kids to do in Arrochar.
I wouldlike to add what a wonderful week we had with Lochs&Glens,we went on coach trips every day ,and we saw more of Scotland than i have seen in a long while without the worry of driving .I realy do not know how Lochs & Glens do the holiday for the price,and if you get the chance to go to Scotland with them ,do it

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank diydaveluton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

had a great holiday,staff so helpfull and friendly as usual .we have been to this hotel 4 times now .it cannot get better.our driver Adrian was A1so noligable. all so neat clean and tidy hotel.

Room Tip: we had room 1 on ground leval as my husband is disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clifford17lincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Much as we expected from this excellent company. A nice, traditional hotel in a lovely setting. Our double room was spacious, warm and had a view of the loch. The bed was comfy and there was plenty of storage space. Tea & coffee was replenished every day. The bathroom was roomy and the overbath shower was one of the best we've had, powerful and plenty of hot water. There was a non-slip shower mat supplied and a hairdryer so saved me taking my own.

In the Restaurant the food was okay, not a great choice but was well prepared and presented. Staff were very efficient and friendly.

The bar was small with little choice. No cider on draught and bottles were expensive. Barmen not too good on pulling the 'Belhaven' and we always ended up with a very deep 'head' to it - probably good profit margin for the company but not so good for the customers - must add that the only bar-MAID they had for the first couple of nights of our holiday had a much better idea of how to pull a pint.

The biggest let down with this hotel was the seating in the public areas, far too little to accomodate three coach parties. It seems that in order to get more seats into the entertainment/bar area a lot of the seating was on low, backless stools which were not comfortable and really not suitable for the age range they are catering for.

The location of this hotel is good as it is one of the few Lochs & Glens Hotels that is actually in a village with 'The Village Shop' right opposite and a Chip Shop a couple of doors away. There is also a pub and slightly bigger shop a few minutes walk further along the road.

Not the best of the Lochs & Glens hotels we've stayed at - would we go back again? Yes -without any hesitation - especially at the prices they charge!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MonksP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
14.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Long Hotel

Property: Loch Long Hotel
Address: Main Road | Main Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Long Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Long Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing