We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Good Fun!”
Review of Loch Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loch Long Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Newent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Value, Good Fun!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Went to Loch Long with 2 of our friends on a Mountains and Mistletoe break, through Lochs and Glens. This was our first coach trip and we were a little anxious as we are in our 40's and the youngest on the tour by some margin! Needn't have worried though - had a wail of a time! Picked up on time. Coach was fine. Driver was a really good laugh and informative throughout. Hotel staff were wonderful - very efficient and friendly and polite. We arrived late due to lorry fire on the M6 costing us nearly 2 hours, but were welcomed warmly, checked in quickly and cases brought up to our room. Quickly unpacked and down to restaurant for evening meal. Woke up next morning to snow covered mountains - so picturesque! Room was small, but clean. Bathroom was clean and warm with nice luxury towels. Shower was lovely and powerful and hot. Only criticism was there were no little bottles of complimentary shower gel or shampoo that hotels normally provide (we forgot to bring shower gel, which is only why I mention it) - it might have been an oversight or just cost cutting (it is incredible value so cant grumble either way). Bedding was clean and bed was comfortable, We had a room facing the road, which although nice for views across the loch and mountains, does let in a bit of traffic noise. Walls were wafer thin so you could hear everything from adjoining rooms (like our friends snooring, and the person snooring on the other side!). Meals are at set times as they have to cater for several groups, and we were all on schedules. Food was excellent. Good choice for breakfast - cereals, toast, juice, tea/coffee, full cooked breakfast or choice of kippers, different egg dishes on toast etc. Evening meals were nice too, with a choice of starters, main and desert, followed by tea/coffee in the reception area. I was always full after the meals! Our break included a Christmas dinner and Hogmany dinner and they were good fun with crackers etc. ALL staff were pleasant and friendly and very efficient and dressed up for the part each day. Entertainment was quite good fun - nothing too serious and a good laugh. With the music playing, lots got on the dance floor - even 80 year olds !(boogied better than I could!). All in all, couldn't fault the hotel and its staff - the food was good and plentiful anf they made us very welcome. Would definitely come back and can recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cabbage4histea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    137
    45
    31
    12
See reviews for
51
257
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We are relatively novices in taking coach holidays - BUT we have tried both national companies and direct (own coaches) in various locations of the UK. Our latest, first with Lochs & Glens, was excellent. Local pick-up without the need of feeder coaches and prolonged waiting in a draughty/cold hanger. Very polite and obliging driver. Arrival at hotel by a friendly manager and speedy offload of coach and transportation of luggage to room which proved to be very homely, warm and with all requirements for a 4 night stay. Bathroom with walk-in shower and heated towel rail to accompany the fluffy towels. All meals served by friendly and obliging staff were of good standard and sufficient to meet most if not all tastes. Bar and it's staff also deserve compliment but some of the seating in the lounge is of cube design and therefore lack back support and as the majority of guests (during our stay) were of advancing years lack sufficient support, Entertainment was of course (musically) Scottish themed and provided something for most of the guests. If you wanted a laugh you could depend on Dawn (member of staff) to provide it albeit unwittingly!! If we are to continue our coach trip experiences then our latest (1st)with this company will be very difficult to beat - on ALL counts. Thank you all for an excellent time.

Room Tip: Higher floors to the rear receive less noise from the one and only road through the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Esky60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Thank you to Lochs and Glens coach holidays for a marvellous three night stay at the lovely Loch long hotel in Arrochar Scotland. We were picked up exactly on time from Bolton bus station and the coach was clean and comfortable with a lounge at the rear. Arriving at the hotel we were warmly greeted by Ashleigh the manager and directed to our rooms. I had a twin bedded room with an en-suite shower room and it was lovely and warm on arrival. It was spotlessly clean with crisp white bed linen and everything I needed,I didn't need to ask for anything.Tea and coffee making facilities were available and I had plenty of room to move about. I attended the dining hall for a delicious three course meal with coffee for afterwards. We had plenty of choice on the menu and the portions were quite generous. The staff were very friendly and answered any questions we had, they were also a happy bunch where the interaction between customer and staff quite often fell into laughter. We had fantastic views across Loch Long and was picture perfect! All information needed was clearly on display in reception and I didn't miss a thing. The three course breakfast set me up for the planned trips daily and the group on our coach were all lovely people, I made some good friends. I would definitely recommend Lochs and Glens coach holidays again and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Loch Long hotel in the future. The price was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We went with Lochs and Glens on 4 day weekend break. First time with Lochs & Glens and first time to Scotland.
We were picked up exactly to time, the coach was wonderful, so comfy,with toilet,and a small lounge area at the back.
The driver was wonderful, gave us lovely stops,at just the right time. The first stop in Moffat was a long one and was the start of our holiday. Very enjoyable. The driver stated with us throughout our trip.
On arrival at the hotel,the porters took our bags to the rooms. Our room had a lovely view over Loch Long.
We had lovely meals, the best that I have ever encountered on a tour. Breakfast was a choice of cereal or fruit juice, followed by toast and marmalade, followed by full cooked breakfast, or poach egg, or scrambled egg. Dinner was a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 desserts. Nothing was scimped on, roast beef was 4 layers thick (&delicious) as was everything else. The food was good quality, not cheap cuts. Tea and coffee also served and lovely.
The rooms were small but, clean with everything you need.
All the trips out were wonderful.the scenery around is breathtaking. Topped with a trip up Ben Nevis on a cable car, and a cruise around Loch Lomond. Couldn't beat it!
Evening entertainment was wonderful also, even a small slot of bingo on the last night was made so enjoyable, and not staid and serious, finished off by a superb comedian we laughed so much we hurt.
We made some wonderful friends, (who we will now keep in touch with) had a fantastic time, in a fantastic place, thanks to all the lovely staff at this fabulous friendly hotel, in beautiful Scotland.
Can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: There is a lift but some steps are necessary. If not very mobile ask for the downstairs disabled roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Earley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
441 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is the 2nd trip with Lochs and Glens and the first to this location. On arrival the manager told us to go to our rooms where we would find our keys in the doors, our bags brought for us which they were within 10 minutes. The room in particular the bedding was the cleanest we have ever seen. You will need to bring shower gels/shampoos etc as all you are given is soap. Towels are changed as required. The bed was comfortable and there is coffee/tea facilities. Dinner was 3 course and for the most part good only 1 day was really good. Tea/coffee is offered free thereafter in the foyer as much as you want. Breakfast consists of a starter including cereals/fruit juices/porridge and a choice of main breakfast. All meals are served to you with a smile and they were very helpful with slight variations to suit people. The bar prices are very good for a hotel of this type and size, house wines were very drinkable at just under £10.
One big issue there is only 1 lift and frequently was locked out by people misusing it. The signs for the stairs from the 3rd to 4th floor were non existent.
The trips out were not great and despite the weather being very wet for the most part they would have been disappointing in good weather. With good weather if you are a walker there are some very good walks locally.
There's a little shop across the road which has a lot of what you might need as a starter each day for lunch.
Its a long journey we boarded the coach at 05.45 in Lowestoft and arrived about 12 hours later, there were stops, but still a long ride.
Overall a reasonable holiday good value for what you get.

Room Tip: We were in room 405 with a great view of the tidal loch and hills around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lincoln_PETE7904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just enjoyed a 5 day trip 8 - 12 Oct. This is my second trip with Lochs and Glens. I invited my sister along as I was so happy with my last trip in 2012, and she was not disappointed. The hotel was very comfortable and very clean. Breakfast and evening meals there were several choices and very good. Staff were very helpful and very efficient. We both agreed these tours are excellent value for money and what better way to enjoy the beautiful and stunning scenery of Scotland. Sit back, relax and enjoy. We are already planning our next Lochs and Glens trip for next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter, as main road runs along front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janer_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

we recently had a 5day break with locks and glens from 30th sept to 4th oct 2013. The hotel,food and staff were all fine but the bus we were allocated was a complete disaster.at our pick up point we were all dissapointed to seethe bus pull in as it was not a locks and glen one but a contracted in one from another company. On our journey north we discovered that -
1. there was not the same seating room as a locks and glen coach
2. there were no convenience trays for passenger to use.
3. no cup holders to cater for the hot drinks being served on route. this became a hazard as we travelled and very few passengers bought drinks
NOW for the bad stuff-
4 on the 4th day on a journey to fort william we discovered that 4 seats in the rear of the bus could not be used as the bus was leaking and the overnight rain had soaked the seats.I had to make the journey sitting on newspapers holding a plastic bag to divert the rain into the aisle of bus.The bus continued to leak throughout the day and passengers in the last 5 rows of seats had to avoid the constant "drips"
In true brittish style we made the best of the situation by making comment like "the only bus needing a weather forcast for the inside" and "we got a rainbow" Howerver it was clear that the bus provided was not fit for purpose and any contracted in bus should be off the same quality as a Locks and Glens one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank howard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,130 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
14.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Long Hotel

Property: Loch Long Hotel
Address: Main Road | Main Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Long Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Loch Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Long Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing