We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Wonderful Trip with Lochs & Glens at Loch Long” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loch Long Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Trip with Lochs & Glens at Loch Long”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just returned from a great 6 day holiday, staff were brilliant as before, and work very hard, the only down side is, ordering drinks at your table, you are usually half way through dinner before you get it, so a good tip is to buy it at the bar first and take to your table. Food was really good, and the staff fast and reliable. The bedrooms were very clean and housekeeping excellent, we had room 41 with a nice Loch view (another tip is to email them before your stay for a Lochside view and we got one both times), the only problem with that room is it is above the entertainment, but that finishes at 10.30/11pm so if you go early to bed, it might not be the ideal room for you! Our driver this time was Mike, unfortunately he was no where near as good a communicator as we have had before, we were never told much about the places we visited or what was happening, the fact that on the last day home, the driver can offer 3 large boxes of very good shortbread (made by Deans ~ the best in my opinion) was never told to the coach until it happened, and by then all the other passengers who didn't know about it had already bought elsewhere. Timings were hardly ever quoted we had to all keep asking how long we would have here or there, just so we could work out when to eat/drink etc., Most of the coach were long time Lochs & Glens customers so it was immediately obvious how poor his information was that he gave us, as we were all used to so much better. He was a nice guy but just lacked information whether this was a fault on his part or on Lochs & Glens we don't know. The value is excellent for these trips I just wish they would spread the trips further a field into Scotland, maybe for the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stmoritz1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    121
    35
    20
    8
See reviews for
46
223
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just got back from a Winter Warmer at Loch Long hotel with Lochs and Glens. We paid £134 for 5 days /4 nights. The hotel was friendly and food was good. Entertainment every night. Room was clean but very small .The trips were great and the driver Ian (brought out of retirement for this trip) was friendly (nothing too much trouble) knowledgeable and humorous.
The day out in Glasgow with optional 1 hour city trip for an extra £5 is well worth it.
All in all a wonderful little jaunt and will definitely be going back again

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch view room, also take your own toiletry's shampoo ect,Bath Towels were tiny so ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The biggest problem with our stay was a dose of Norovirus I was confined to my room, inc. my husband, but.. The staff were good and did their very best to look after us. Food was excellent, and service was excellent. Rooms were somewhat 'tired', and in need of refurbishment. For the money it was very good value. Obviously with the virus, I was unable to take part in some of the excursions, but that was no one's fault. The one thing that definitely spoilt the holiday was the driver (Peter). He was extremely rude and unhelpful, preferring to take a cigarette break rather than help anyone. But, our change over driver Stuart was lovely, and I would have preferred his company during the main stay. Has not put me off Lochs and Glens at all, as correspondence with the company afterwards was very fast, efficient and helpful, and at the end of the day, the holidays are excellent value. Plus Scotland is worth the effort. The most beautiful place to go.

Room Tip: Loch views are at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 994HCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEICESTER
Level Contributor
100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

very clean has good as the other loch and glens hotels excellent driver chris all staff frendily and helpfull rooms lovely food good nightime entertainment and excellent funny bingo session done by the reception person lovely trips out to glasgow and famous grouse experince lovely position at tip of the loch excellent valvur for money deffintily be back

Room Tip: loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TIMELORDLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was our first Lochs and Glens coach holiday amazed at the value for money. Our coach driver Nigel was very knowledgeable, very helpful and an excellent driver.We had a brilliant time! The hotel was excellent. All the staff were helpful, polite and happy nothing was too much trouble. The food was plentiful with plenty of choice. Our room 402 was excellent.We have never seen such a clean hotel it was spotless. The lift could have been a bit larger (a cosy 4 people) but it was reliable.We would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jacqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Was on a lochs and glens holiday for our anniversary, and the staff went out of the way to make sure we enjoyed our stay, the room was lovely and warm, in April thats a good thing because its very cold in arrochar, the service was as good as the food first class ,three course meals.entertainment on a night was to be desired, but we found it funny,the day trips throughout the weeks stay were brilliant, kept amused on all days, and I will definitely be going back to the loch long hotel, thank you to all the staff and coach driver, well done.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our first ever coach tour & and our first visit to Scotland was a fantastic success thanks to Lochs & Glens and everyone at the Loch Long Hotel. Booked as a Wedding Anniversary getaway we decided on something completely different. Having heard from numerous friends, and their friends, how good Lochs and Glens tours were we settled on this trip and did not regret one minute of it. Loch Long may be billed as the budget hotel, but there was absolutely nothing to suggest that "budget" was the watchword. The hotel was warm,clean,comfortable and very we'll run. the staff are all very friendly, happy and efficient. The food was very well prepared and served, and the entertainment fitted the bill perfectly. Coach driver Brian C was excellent and very knowledgeable of all areas we visited, all delivered with a "dry" North East wit.
All in all a great week and one we will, like so many other of our fellow travellers obviously have, repeat.
Many Thanks L&G

Room Tip: Room 43 was perfect, but any room facing the Loch would be good despite the "minimal" road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spicey1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
14.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Long Hotel

Property: Loch Long Hotel
Address: | Main Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Long Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Loch Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Long Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing