We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Birthday Trip”
Review of Loch Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loch Long Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday Trip”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

38 family and friends have just spent a fantastic weekend here..Everything was 5 star from start to finish. Cleanliness and service from the wonderful staff was excellent.Great value for money, food excellent and bar staff..well I don't know how you put up with us but we had great fun with you even though we almost drank you dry. One highlight was the fire alarm going off at 6.30 on monday morning thanks to Emma lol. Gordon our coach driver was brilliant. Will certainly return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    144
    52
    38
    16
See reviews for
57
274
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Staff work hard and obliging. Choice of food brilliant. Rooms clean and beds comfortable. Each bus party was given a chance to have meals at various times rather than this coach is this. Organisation excellent. driver Mike excellent and knowledgeable. Met great people.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

holiday with Loch & Glens was very good value for the money. It could have been better if we had a Lochs & Glens coach. The Procters 6 year old coach had no decent air conditioning so we sat in a tin can at 25 degrees.Fellow travellers that had a trip on a Lochs & Glens coach to Seil Island remarked how comfy and pleasant it was to ride in. The "free" car park at Gedney cost £14. the hotel felt very regimented. the bedroom at the back had a constant hum from the freezers and fans day and night,reporting this was ignored. the bedroom was compact overlooking the bushes and oil tank. It had no bath and a very small shower room,sitting on the toilet was a side saddle affair. The tea bags were not wrapped and the tray was not changed every day. towels were fluffy and changed daily even though we did not need them to be. the food was good but you had to sit where told. no changing seats for a different view. the coach trips and drivers were excellent, if only the coach was cooler. yes I would recommend Lochs and Glens but not Loch long hotel. It needs a complete make over in all departments and on all floors.

Room Tip: one at the front looking over the Loch. back rooms are cooler but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herinspalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It took us over 12 hours to get there, (not the driver's fault...traffic problems) but well worth the journey. Numerous comfort stops on the way and a very comfortable coach.
Saw the advert for 'Lochs & Glens' in our local paper only a few weeks before we went, for the price it is looked too good a deal to pass up, and it WAS. Bed and breakfast and evening meal and most of the excursions included, we did pay a little extra for optional ones such as the gondolier to the top of the mountain in Fort William and a tour around Edinburgh. Well worth the extra.
Everything was well organized, from the welcome speech by one of the managers on the coach in the car park of the hotel when you arrived, who distributed the keys to every room along with an information card confirming breakfast and dinner times for your coach.
No complaints about the food, there was a varied breakfast and dinner choice, which should take care of all tastes. Definitely recommend the haggis.
Every night there was some entertainment, which did not go on too late.
Don't forget to go to the 4th floor viewing area. Take your camera...
The knowledge of the driver/tour guide, Chris, was part of a very professional set up and made everyone feel welcome. As for the hotel staff, they could not do enough for you.
If there was one thing that could be done to improve the tour, would have liked a lot longer in Edinburgh :)

Room Tip: Ask for room on the third floor, overlooking the loch. Ours was a side view, overlooking the car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAKARDI10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was the first coach holiday for myself and the boss,and what a fabulous time we had with Lochs and Glens.From the excellent drivers Colin and Bobby to the fine and accommodating staff,it was a very relaxing holiday and extremely reasonable.The atmosphere created by the hotel staff made you feel like one big happy family,of varying ages i might add.The daily excursions were very good especially the Edinburgh day with an excellent guide Christine.
The hotel was comfortable and not too large giving a homely ambience at all times.The food was delicious and well presented.For the not so sprightly there was a small lift.
We were on a five night stay,the price paid wouldn't have got us a two night stay in my home city.
This was my first time using Lochs and Glens and it won't be my last,we are already researching our next jolly with L&G's,highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear away from the road are very quiet and moderate in temperature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nipper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Having spent 4 nights in this hotel, I want to record that it ranks in the top drawer of many hotels that I have visited. The coach driver Chris who was our tour guide was excellent, professional, knowledgeable and sincerely courteous. Nothing was too much trouble for him....a lovely man

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room overlooking the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I just came back from the trip with Lochs and Glens. We stayed for 4 nights at Loch Long Hotel. We had a small but very comfortable room with plenty of storage space. Bathroom was tiny and a bit disappointing as there was no space to put cosmetic bag. I found very difficult to operate shower unit, it wasn't arthritis friendly. The food was good specially evening meals, breakfast was a bit limited and cooked breakfast didn't have mushroom and baked beans. Fan in the bathroom took very long time to switch itself off. Every time when bathroom light was switch on, the fan went on and after light was switched off it took nearly 40 min. for fan go off. It was a bit annoying specially in the night. But overall we have enjoyed our stay in this hotel and trip with Lochs and Glens was much better then we thought will be. We hope to go with them again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EwB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,151 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
10.2 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Long Hotel

Property: Loch Long Hotel
Address: Main Road | Main Road, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Long Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Loch Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Long Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing