We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night break here in a Golden Oak Cabin with our two dogs.. Fantastic views of the Loch and our own hot tub.
The cabin was well equipped and we wanted for nothing.
More could be made of the site itself although it doesn't want to be too commercialised.
My only complaint was that the shop which sold the croissants for breakfast and the papers didn't open until 9 am. which for us was half way through the day. An 8am opening would be far more acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable break at Argyll. Our holidays are all about the forest and the local area, which is why we keep things as simple and natural as possible. Thank you for your feedback with regard to the shop opening hours, which is something we will consider. I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great place to chill out & relax in your own 5* cabin. We usually go abroad or stay in Center Parcs but saw these on TV & as we where going to Scotland decided to try them. Not like Center Parcs in any way so don't expect anything like! They offer a jacuzzi with most cabins on this site but the ones on the edge have the best views of Loch Long. We chose a golden oak 2 bedroom pet free. Once in the door you feel the WOW factor from the quality & warmth of the design. The open plan design with very large floor to ceiling window to let in plenty of light.The bedrooms are large with comfortable beds, great lighting, draws & wardrobes.Kitchen well stocked with all you need & more. The outdoor decking has a bbq, wooden table, chairs & the jacuzzi is kept ready for use 24hrs a day. We used the jacuzzi lots- whilst waiting for a meteor shower at midnight & enjoyed the low light pollution night sky. One very damp day we enjoyed watching the mist roll down the hill & up the Loch from a warm jacuzzi.
The site isn't very large & is looking like its still in the early stages of development. A few extras are available on site are an extra charge ££. My 15yr old son & hubby had a session at archery & enjoyed the challenges. I ordered a cooked breakfast pack which was disappointing very over priced! We booked bikes before we got to site but really unless you have a bike carrier to get to the bike trails its quite hard going on the track from the site - slippy & muddy. There are birds to look out for when the tide goes out. We saw people going down to the shore for oysters. We saw an otter one evening & deer visit but we didn't see them. Walking is the main aim from the site & a ten mile trek was enjoyed by hubby & son.
On the whole we enjoyed the trip for a totally different experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent break at Argyll. I am pleased you enjoyed the experience even though it sounds quite different from your usual holidays. Lying in your hot tub watching a meteor shower sounds fantastic, and as you say, the light pollution is very low so you were in the right place at the right time. Do come again –the next meteor shower is in October…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The view from our cabin (28) was brilliant with a stunning view of Loch Long. If you've stayed at another Forest Holiday site you'll know what to expect with the cabin - good quality and well stocked with everything you need for a short break.

The site itself looks unfinished somehow, with a lack of landscaping or trees to separate the cabins. We had noisy neighbours over the middle weekend of our fortnight's holiday and this did take the edge off this part of the holiday somewhat. Staying in the cabins is a bit like camping in that respect, a beautiful and peaceful location can be affected by one noisy group playing music until the early hours and perhaps Forest Holidays should enforce the "quiet after 10pm" more strongly.

Overall, we had a really good holiday with amazing scenery, good walks, hills to climb, tracks to cycle and wildlife to watch. I even got a photo of a pine marten one evening less than 5 minutes from the cabin. Q

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank RobinBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for your review following your holiday at Argyll. It is a wonderful location and all the better if you can appreciate from your hot tub! Your comments about late noise have been noted, thank you for bringing it to our attention. I hope we’ll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I couldn't rate this highly enough for the staff, the location and the cabins. There are also many great activities although they are expensive so if you want activities like canoeing, archery and guided walks, as well as luxuries like spa treatments and massages, you should take lots of extra cash with you.

Another thing you can't fault is the hot tubs. You can't underestimate how lovely it is to have your own private jacuzzi. We even went in in the rain!

The only thing I could fault the staff on is their knowledge of the local restaurants. The staff didn't know how many restaurants there were at the largest hotel, spa and golf complex nearby. They didn't know if the restaurants were child-friendly and they didn't have the phone numbers and couldn't find them on the Internet.

Also, our best meal was at a restaurant none of the staff had heard of, yet was very well reviewed on Trip Advisor.

Bearing in the mind the remoteness of the location and the lack of good restaurants I would expect the staff to know all the restaurants within 45 minutes and have good relationships with them.

Saying that, I cannot fault the staff in any other way. They were incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful.

I would highly recommend Forest Cabins to anyone and I look forward to trying another location of theirs - perhaps a bit less remote though!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments following your recent break with Forest Holidays at Argyll. I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday, including the location and the hot tub in the rain! Thank you for your suggestion with regard to us having more information about local restaurants which is something we will address; as I am sure you found, the team are keen to be as helpful as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to Argyll or one of our other UK forest locations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Probably repeating many of the comments here but we had a really enjoyable 7 night stay in cabin 25 (golden oak). As per other reviewers its well worth paying the £25 to pick your location - ours had loads of room either side and a completely unobstructed view of the Loch.
The cabin itself was a real surprise - as big in the flesh as it appears in the pics and the three bedrooms (two with twin beds) meant a fairly restful night for us all as we have twin toddlers and a six year old. Beds were actually really comfortable and the en suite with shower and full main bathroom made a huge difference with 3 kids. All furnishings were new, clean and contemporary.
The living area and hot tub were high points, and we really did use the hot tub every night. In fact the kids loved it as much as we did and it was cleaned and checked regularly by site staff. The views are genuinely spectacular from the living area ir deck whatever the weather - and in Argyll it was raining one minute and sunshine next but this didn't bother the kids at all.
The kitchen was well stocked with plenty of utensils and plates, dishwasher, hob, microwave etc (and a corkscrew...). we would recommend the tv and wifi package as well - there is an excellent range of films after a long day out to settle the kids down before hot tub/tea time.
Staff were exceptional - a special mention should go to Frances who always made a fuss of the kids and to John who made recommendations and was so helpful. However everyone was great and very attentive. I had a chain snap on my rented bike and received an unasked for £18 credit for the days inconvenience despite only losing it for an hour or two at the end of the day.
The beauty of this break for kids was that whatever the weather there was plenty to do and explore - a word of warning though it isn't that easy to find a gentle cycle track from the site itself so if you are towing kids or using trail gators etc you may need to load up and drive to a site. This is what we did and there is actually a great (if demanding) trail up the peninsula about half a mile away (look for the old tourist centre on the main road).
We recommend any of the local walks and castles - too many to go over here - but our kids loved walking through the woodland or round the Lochs. There is a highland garden called Ardkinglas nearby with an amazing 3 km forest walk and the tallest trees in Britain. Our time flew by and we still didn't get to see everything we wanted. Others have mentioned it and we have posted a review but the Village Inn was a great family friendly restaurant and meal and only two minutes away.
We found the quality of the cabin, excellent service, great location and overall environment a huge difference to a hotel and far better than palming the kids off in a play area or crèche. My wife and I agreed that this was probably the least stressful family holiday we had had and would definitely do it again - just need to decide which location next as Scotland will be hard to beat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Check the site map for cabin location and pay the £25 to pick one. The row where our cabin was (no.2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIJ303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent family holiday at our Argyll location. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break so much. You made the most of all the aspects of a Forest Holiday, including taking in some of the wonderful local sights and attractions. Many of our families echo your feelings about the lack of stress, because children become absorbed in the delights of the forest (and the hot tub). You could try Deerpark in Cornwall next, which has a great family feel to it, and it’s close to the seaside too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

High quality lodges with good equipment, great location and handy little shop/ restaurant on site. Forest holidays have got everything right on this site with a great balance between high quality accommodation, being close to nature with great views and providing just what you need. The staff are really helpful and friendly, we would highly recommend this site.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you feel we have got things just right at Argyll and pleased to hear that you would recommend us. I hope we will see you again for another break before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We usually go abroad for our family holidays, often staying in 5* hotels. We booked this 3 day break (from 9 August) only a few weeks before, staying in a Gold Oak cabin. We have 2 teenage children, who can be difficult to please. When we arrived the weather was dull and raining, but from the moment we entered our cabin our spirits were lifted. WOW was the reaction from everyone. The cabin was perfect. It was immaculate; beautifully decorated with modern furnishings throughout; spacious and welcoming. The view took our breaths away - uninterrupted views over Loch Long and Arrochar in the distance. An added bonus was the hot tub. We were doubtful whether we would use it but again this was amazing. The water is kept hot constantly so can be used whenever you want. We made the most of it. It was fun to sit in at 10pm and take in the views. PERFECT. At the end of our 3 days we felt as if we had stayed for longer and will definitively return.

Tip - Buy your food before you arrive. We bought most of our food in Glasgow but when we wanted to purchase a few more things it was a 45 minute drive to the nearest supermarket. You could survive without going to the supermarket with the sold in the Forest Retreat.

During our stay we visited Inveraray Castle and Killin - well worth the drive.

We would like to the thank Forest Holidays for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in Strathyre, particularly considering you are used to 5 star luxury abroad. Scotland has so much to offer, any time of year, and when you can enjoy some of the best aspects from a hot tub beside your cabin, all the better! I hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
13.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
11.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
563 reviews
8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
5.2 mi away
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland

Address: Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll Ardgartan, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Arrochar
Also Known As:
Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland Arrochar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing