We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming cabins and staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Lothian
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming cabins and staff”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We are regulars at Forest Holidays sites around the UK and Ardgartan didn't disappoint. Double the number of cabins since our last visit but still has a great outdoor feel.

Free public wifi at The Retreat is painfully slow - needs looked at, team - but in-cabin service is adequate.

Preorder bakery items were fantastic.

Thoroughly enjoyed our week and thanks to Debbie, Laurent and team for welcoming us back once again. Strathyre site in December :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review following your latest break at our Argyll location. I am pleased that once again, it didn’t disappoint and I will ensure that the team at Argyll see your kind comments. I hope you enjoy your next stay at Strathyre in December just as much; we might even arrange some snow for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    113
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
240
207
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

3rd time of staying and will be back again, beautiful lodges, beautiful setting, friendly, helpful staff, sitting in the hot tub with the mountain and loch views WOW, stayed in number 40 weekend of 25th October, after previously staying in the older lodges it was nice to be in a newer one, just as good though with a couple of subtle changes, the log burner was great as it's starting to get a bit cold, would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Birrell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Welcome back and thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed yet another relaxing break at Argyll. There’s not much to beat sitting in a hot tub in the forest, with the mountain and loch in front of you. We’ll hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Excellent accommodation in a beautiful location. Log cabin was very modern with hot tub. There were activities if u wish to take part and lovely long walks. Dog friendly too. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend for a relaxing family holiday or for couples.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickyd658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with Forest Holidays at Argyll. I am delighted that you enjoyed your break and enjoyed your cabin and its location. It is a breath-taking landscape, ideal for getting away from it all. I hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

just returned from a 4 night stay .we were in cabin 34 it was fantastic .the bathroom was so big shower was a power shower. the cabins have under floor heating which was so cosy the cabins were absolutely immaculate and clean with a few wee nice touches when we walked in scrabble spelling welcome a wee cracker and such like .the hot tub was brilliant we certainly used that a lot the bathrobes and slippers were grea tot we absolutely loved it was so peacefull I have never slept so well.. the bed were so comfortable we wanted a break just to relax and we certainly got that we will definitely be going back the staff were all so friendly and made u feel so welcome the food in the forest retreat was also realy good and the service was also excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan186527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent getaway to Argyll. I am pleased that you enjoyed the comforts of your cabin and found the team friendly and helpful too. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in cabin 4 with three kids. The cabin was a Golden Oak, the best they have, yet was really pretty tatty. It may be one of the older cabins - just a guess - but the tables were marked, the sofas so worn they were uncomfortable - you can't lean on the arms because they've collapsed inwards, and the kitchen really pretty poor.
The frying pan was so old it was unusable, the fridge freezer door was broken off and the fridge light didn't work. The microwave had no light and the top rack of the dishwasher had no stoppers to keep it from shooting out! The place was not clean either, ok at first glance but really dusty and had obviously been given a very, very fast once-over (we found clothing from previous guests shoved behind the sofa cushions - yuck).
We paid extra for the entertainment package which was fine except the wifi kept coming and going, you couldn't rely on the signal at all, and that was over three different devices.
The cabin was also really cold. We were told it can take time for the underfloor heating to kick in but it still hadn't happened by the fourth night and we watched telly wrapped in a duvet. Not luxurious.
I did tell the reception staff that we were unhappy with the standard of the cabin and the staff member didn't say a word, listened but didn't reply. Odd. And frustrating.
Overall the staff were really nice but the cafe food is not great - although the coffee's fine - and should only be used in an emergency!
We did buy from the shop and it is over priced but not ridiculous. I was sorry to see that the shop didn't offer good quality binocs or bird books. They have a very, very small selection of animal stuff - and some cheap kids' stuff - but given the location it seemed odd that they're not catering for nature lovers. Couldn't they team up with the RSPB and sell a small selection of their stuff?
The location is excellent and the cabin had a great view. We loved being so close to the water and the woods.
We did the dusk walk, which was very good and Andy the ranger was the highlight of our stay for my six year old son.

We stayed at the Strathyre site 5 years ago in the most basic cabin and it was cleaner and had a better equipped kitchen. We would like to return to Forest Holidays but if No. 4 is any example the Golden Oaks aren't worth the money.

Room Tip: If you pay you can choose your own cabin. Worth it for the views alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chestnutblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very concerned to hear that your cabin was not up to the standards that it should have been. I would like to investigate your complaint more fully and would be grateful if you could contact us on customerservices@forestholidays.co.uk to enable us to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in number 26 Golden Oak Cabin which had an uninterrupted view of the loch and over to Arrochar. The location, cabin and hot tub were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day break. Would have given 5 stars but had a few issues (1) prices in the shop and café both seemed a bit steep. I thought the full breakfast was very pricey for what you got, my husband felt he needed to eat again well before lunch which is not what you would expect after a £7-8 breakfast. I realised the kitchen area seemed limited but if you are going to offer food in the café I feel it does need to be worth the price. We also had some pizzas delivered to our cabin one night and although they filled a hole they were again not great. We also priced a bottle of wine in the shop at around 18 pounds having forgot to buy one when we were out. However on a more positive note the bread service in the morning is a great idea (2) we booked the dusk walk having been informed it was on Thursday evening at 6pm. My husband checked the time again on Thursday afternoon only to be told that it had already happened on the Wednesday. We did ask for our money back given that we had received incorrect information and they said they would need to check with the ranger that we indeed did not turn up. As yet we have not heard anything but hoping that we will get some kind of refund. It would be a good idea to give all guests some confirmation of event bookings or at least have these posted up somewhere with dates and times (it is possible that we may have missed this but did not see anything obvious). Having said all this however overall we had a great stay and would return for another holiday.

Room Tip: Cabin number 26.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 409JLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent 4 day break with us at Argyll. I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and liked your cabin and the views. We are grateful for the feedback and suggestions on the other points you have raised and I will chase up to see what has happened to your refund for the Dusk Walk. I hope will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in a Golden Oak cabin and had a fantastic time, the views from the lodge were fabulous. I think what really made our stay was the hot tub it was great at night with all the pretty lights. We took our own food and had a lovely meal at the Village In 5 minutes away.
I think the 25 pounds to pre book your lodge is well worth it as some were overlooking each other.
Would have given 5 but we found broken glasses and cups in our lodge not really good for the money we paid and some were really dirty, brought this up will a member of staff to be told they do not have time to check all the cabins. On our day of check out the lodge next to ours was cleaned in under 10 minutes ready for the next guests i think this is something that needs to be looked at as things are getting missed and no extra cleaning is done for the fact you have a dog even though the price you pay extra is a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mich31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda_Clarke_FH, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break with us. I am concerned to hear about the state of the glasses and crockery in your cabin which is not acceptable and is not something we expect our guests to have to encounter. Every cabin should be thoroughly checked and cleaned for the arrival of new guests and I will investigate why this did not happen in your case. I hope you will stay with us again in the future and I am confident that you won’t experience similar problems again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
1.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,140 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 16 in Arrochar
652 reviews
15.2 mi away
Lomond Luxury Lodges
Lomond Luxury Lodges
#2 of 4 in Drymen
167 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lochside Guest House
Lochside Guest House
#4 of 16 in Arrochar
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland

Property: Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland
Address: Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll Ardgartan, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Arrochar
Also Known As:
Forest Holidays Ardgartan Argyll, Scotland Arrochar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing