We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Review of Ardgartan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardgartan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Wonderful stay i would like to say thank you to all the staff and our driver Geoff The hotel is 5 star stunning location
peaceful could not fault anything will definitely go back again great value i dont know how they do it at such reasonable prices

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same we had a room on the front stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duckworth644363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    53
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
256
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

just returned from the ardgarton hotel this week hotel has only been open just over a year and lochs and glens have made a wonderful spacious and modern hotel ,very comfortable and fabulous location we had three different drivers all very good and dining room staff excellent can recommend hotel and lochs and glens looking forward to visiting Scotland again.

Room Tip: choose a loch view if possible fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ken97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed there last November on a Mountains and Misteltoe break with Lochs and Glens. Hotel is fantastic, had a bedroom on the first floor and the view from the window was wonderful, could see all kinds of wildlife and the staff at the hotel were very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank didcotsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed here this week, booked through 'Lochs & Glens' the cost was £180 each including travel (270 miles each way) for 5 days 4 nights. For this price the value was excellent. The hotel was reasonably new, the rooms were clean and spacious, the entertainment was reasonable and the daily bus trips out were enjoyable.
Food was nice, not exceptional but nice.Having done bus trips before we thought that this was generally of a higher standard than we had previously experienced.The only downside was, our soom (202) did not have a bath , but a great shower although the room overlooked the loch which was fine we had previouisly requested a bath. Our review and rating is based on our experience as bus tourists.
However
If you are travelling individualy the rack rate at this time of year is £50 B & B and £20 for evening meal, a price which this hotel does not jusify in our minds ie 4 nights x 2 people =£560
We have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels for less, which in our opinion this is not.
Perhaps you can get a better deal on trip advisor?

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear overlooking the loch, maybe they will take notice of your request
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was our first Lochs & Glens holiday; although we had heard so many good comments about them. The prospect of a 12 hour coach journey each way was daunting; but the coach was comfortable, warm - and with a witty and knowledgeable driver. We arrived in the dark and pouring rain, so first impressions were difficult to gauge. However, once inside the hotel everything was wonderful. A quick check-in process whilst we sat on the coach; and then into this massive reception/lounge area with roaring log fire. Enormous picture windows looking down the loch became apparent next morning! Our room was very large on a high floor with requested loch view. Beds comfortable, very clean; and with a marvellously appointed en-suite with the walk-in shower that we had requested. Food was first-class, with the staff so eager to please that they couldn't do enough for you. Getting used to the meal time rotas which changed for each coach every day was a bit confusing, but very fair to the passengers of all four coaches staying at the same time. Excursions every day were enjoyable, well planned - if a tad long. It was always dark when we got back leaving little time to explore the interesting and extensive grounds surrounding the hotel and loch. The views down the loch were ones you could only dream about! Entertainment each evening was a bit along the same lines - a real singer and say a comedian would have made a nice change from the all-round entertainers. Our fellow coach passengers were all friendly and helped to make for one of our most enjoyable holidays. It was amazing with everything near perfect. Well done to all involved.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a great view, but those at the back of the hotel look down the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chalkieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Down Loch Long, this Hotel was opened last year and is part of the Lochs and Glens Hotel Group.
Fantasticly situated to discover this part of Scotland and if it is in conjunction with a Lochs and Glens Coach Holiday you will be truly blessed!

Comfortable, well furnished large bedrooms some overlook the Loch,i has two lifts that service all rooms, disabled access is very good.set in 50 acres of woodland, lovely walks surround this hotel too.
Our first visit to Scotland and first trip by coach too; it was excellent base, food and service were brilliant nothing was too much trouble, and very well organised.

We travelled from Ringwood to Ardgartan Hotel a 12 hour journey with plenty of comfort breakes en route with Lochs and Glens holidays; serviced by Coleseum Coaches which was brilliant. The Driver Dean was a brilliant driver and kept us well informed, several pssangers were on their 3rd or 4th trip,tht in itsef wasa good recommendation.
Peronall we would have preferred more waling and visits to Historical places or a Distillery (not that I like whisky) it would have broken the next day better after the long journey the previous day. Ideal if you dont like or are unable to walk.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook Loch Long
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franb941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
overseal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

this was our 3rd holiday with Lochs and Glens and this time we decided to try their new hotel. We were not disappointed. We had a room with a view of the loch(224), the room was large, tastefully furnished with a comfortable bed (so important) and a very nice bathroom with large walk in shower.The whole hotel is spotlessly clean.
The rest of the hotel was lovely, a spacious dining room, where they don't seat you with strangers, unless you want to.The reception area has to be seen to be believed, it is enormous, with ample comfy settees, very large windows giving you excellent views of the loch.
The staff are all very pleasant and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The meals are very good and there is always a choice of about four, and there didn't seem to be any problem if you wanted more.
So far I can't fault this company with their hotels and holidays. Once again we enjoyed all our excursions. They seem to have got everything right, hotels,coaches,staff,drivers and locations and very important the price.
We will definitely be having another holiday with Lochs and Glens.

Room Tip: request a room with loch/ mountain view before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanansell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
2.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
12.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.3 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgartan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgartan Hotel

Property: Ardgartan Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Ardgartan Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing