We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect...”
Review of Ardgartan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardgartan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect...”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

All Loch and Glens holidays are excellent and very good value for money.

Ardgarton Hotel is superb and very well thought out. I can honestly say I couldn't find any fault whatsoever.

Just a walk around the hotel grounds is magical.

Our driver Chris, was helpful with good knowledge of the area and if asked would go the extra mile for you.

If you didn't want to go on the daily trip, its such a beautiful area and perfect for walking


JulieP

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    54
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
265
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just had a wonderful 5 days in Scotland at the Ardgartan Hotel, Arrochar. The hotel is fairly new and is excellent, the room we had which was on the 3rd floor was large and very well appointed. I would say that this has been the best hotel we have stayed at so far in the UK, standard well up to some of the best in Europe. Our driver Charlie was very good and friendly, although you had to listen carefully as he has a strong Glasgow accent. The staff at the hotel were excellent, nothing was too much. The trips out were well planned and enjoyed. We have booked to return next year to this hotel but for 8 days as we enjoyed it so much. We are gradually trying all the Lochs and Glens hotels been to 4 only 3 left. Off again on the 18 May to Loch Achray hotel. It will have to go some to beat this hotel. The service and food at all the hotels has been very good so far. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maldon
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We just came back from Ardgartan hotel and loved it the hotel is big but they make you feel like a part of a big family because everyone i spoke to loved it here. The staff were very good and very friendly and the Assistant manager she was always on hand to help and friendly first class. Food was five stars plenty of choice beware you will put weight on. We came here on a Lochs and Glens coach holiday and it is the best way to see Scotland also they own this hotel . The view from hotel is magic down loch long ,hotel is next to loch in a large wooded area there is deer and sheep in grounds and seals in water in front of hotel and yes i saw them. Our room looked down loch the view was what dreams are made off.also decor of hotel and our room was five stars Scotland at its best.Our coach driver was JAMES he was friendly good chat on tours also very good driver also i will tell you a little secret he has a sister who works for loch and glens Inversnaid Hotel who was in the Harry Potter films so if you go there say hello to Jasmin.Yes we are going back again.

Room Tip: when you book ask for loch view, rooms are bigger on low floors we was on 3 floor we liked it there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maldonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheerness
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

this is an excellent hotel traveled on 7 april our driver charlie was very good but what a place to stay brilliant staff food of very good standard rooms are excellentwith views right down the loch
we were on the 3rd floor nothing to much trouble for the staff very pleasent bunch you will not be dissapointed can reccomend to anyone thank you lochsandglens once again

Room Tip: rooms on 3rd floor even numbers face the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheernessDavann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with beautiful views. We had a lovely view down Loch Long which made the stay really special. The room was probably the largest we have ever stayed in; clean and warm, bathroom sparkling and hot walk in shower which was very welcome after a day's sightseeing. Tea and coffee facilities replenished every day (a few biscuits would have made it really special!). Three course breakfast and dinner, we couldn't fault the food and a choice of four dishes at each seating so always something to your liking - I tried the haggis for the first time ever and really enjoyed it. Staff were without exception first class - handled the short power cut we experienced without fuss and we loved the personal touch of the manager coming into breakfast to keep us informed of the situation. Trips out each day were slightly curtailed by the freezing wind we experienced but Tony our driver was expert at not leaving us too long at the mercy of the elements, it did mean that we spent more time listening to his jokes but hey, you can't control the weather. Entertainment manager worked hard every evening we had a mixture of bingo, quizzes, singers and delightful young dancers and bagpipe player; or there were plenty of board games to be enjoyed in the spacious entrance hall if you prefer a quieter evening. We liked the fact that they informed us they would leave a basket in the breakfast room on our last morning for 'tips' which would be shared equally with all staff - it's always good to know. We would have loved some 'free time' to explore the area surrounding the hotel so on our next visit we will probably forgo a trip out and go walking. So I would say to anyone 'thinking' of a Lochs and Glens holiday go for it, accept that it will be an average 12 hour journey there and back (bring your own food and drink as stops are usually at motorway service stations); meal times will be prescribed and your day excursion leaves an hour after breakfast starts; which may be a little too regimented for some, but for the majority of people you will have a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Loch view's are wonderful but all rooms appear to have a lovely view at the Ardgartan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

have just returned from a five day tour to this fantastic hotel in aparty of eight, great location, good food excellent service as usual, this was our eight trip with Lochs and Glens, we have already booked to go back in November and also in March 2014, this being our tenth trip with you.Full marks to Dave our driver who had to contend with some difficult driving conditions, so cant wait for our next trip to Loch Tummel, thankyou Mrs A Phillips.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duchesse331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic ,what a location over looking loch long.stayed for five days and wished it was longer,nice trips out considering how much snow we had, and full marks to Dougie the coach driver. Staff were very polite at all times,nothing was a problem for them.Food was also fantastic ,full breakfast,and evening meal.Despite there being a power cut due to the snow the staff coped very well as this hotel is only seven months old.Do your self a favour and try this hotel with Lochs and glens ,you won't be disappointed i'm sure. John & Marilyn Moat from Kent

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johnboy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
2.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,140 reviews
12.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
11.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgartan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgartan Hotel

Property: Ardgartan Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Ardgartan Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing