We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Argartan Hotel”
Review of Ardgartan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardgartan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Argartan Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and i have just come back from a 8 day break,the hotel was excellent the surrounding the same. The food was good and if you wanted more all you had to do was ask the staff,and if there was nothing you liked they would go out their way and cook you somthing else. The excursions we went on were good and very interesting due to our tour driver Ross who was brillient.
we did have to use sanitiser as we went into the dinning room and on the coach,under the circumstances i thought it was a good idea. They were just making sure that everyone had a good holiday without catching any bugs.

We will be booking again very soon.

Room Tip: ask for a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinandlinda114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    53
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
263
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Just back from another super value coach holiday (4-days) with Lochs and Glens. This was to their Ardgartan Hotel on the shores of Loch Long. Hotel and room was top class - meals very good and two interesting day trips included (Isle of Bute and cruise on Loch Lomond). The views from the hotel lounge down the loch was stunning. Very friendly staff and terrific value. This is our fourth trip with Lochs & Glens and we'll certainly be booking another with them shortly.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

As a professional driver who stays in different hotels several times a week I must say Ardgartan is second only to The Ritz. And that's no joke.

The place is beautiful, the perfect setting. The lobby is a bit empty and I feel that it could do with some more furniture/plants to fill it a little.

The staff are fantastic and the rooms are large and spotless.

Some of the staff are bonkers though, the geordies especially, but it's well worth a laugh!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Ardgarten Hotel, this was our first visit to Scotland. On arrival as coach drove down the very narrow road and took the last corner the view of the Hotel was breathtaking. A member of staff welcomed us all go the Hotel, the cases were quickly taken to our room. The Lounge was amazing with a log fire and the most amazing window looking across Loch Long. Mealtimes were very well organised and the choose of meals was very good from Starters, Main Course and Desserts. The wine was reasonably priced. The staff were very polite and hard working.
Our first coach driver from Southend was John, he safely collected all our passengers and we the drove to Stansted for our first break and to change drivers, we were introduced to Clive, he informed us of where we were and gave stories of the places too. On arrival he told us that be was having some time off and our driver for 4 days was going to be Doogy.
We met Doogy the following morning, he was an excellent driver and told us stories, jokes and he was very informative of the Lochs and Glens, he had an amazing sense of humour and his catchphrase was 'I am so Happy'.
I would not hesitate to recommend anyone to any Lochs and Glens holiday, great value for money.
An amazing Hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Henry200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed at Ardgartan from the 3rd to the 7th of March and we had a wonderful holiday. The staff and drivers could not do enough for us and made us feel so special and welcome. We really enjoyed all the entertainment that Andy put on and he had us in stitches, laughing at his antics. The drivers that L&G employ are simply the best and you never hear them moaning,

Our room overlooked the loch and what a view, it was awesome and the room was fabulous. We have nearly been to every hotel that L&G own and all are superb

Nobody does it better in our opinion.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and I could hear the A?C unit noise but it was altered to go off earlier an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodrydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

myself and my partner have just retuned from ardgarten the hotel was beautifull staff attentive and willing to the max.The driver DUGGIE was excellant a great sence of humour and his knowledge of the area was second to none.
As the hotel was only a few months old you couldnt fault it. We stayed at the highland at Fort William last year and for comfort quality and staff there is nothing that can divide them both of utmost perfection places to go.
It leaves me to say one negative thing about the experience and that is for me personally the day starts too late and the tea is too late too needs to start earler and get back a resonable time for tea so that all can enjoy the evenings entertainment.
However as im said thats just my personal feeling anmd in no way detracts the excellant time myself and my partner had while we were there

Room Tip: ask for a room with an even number those are the loche views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

This is my first visit with lochs and glens and on reflection the trip is cracking value for money.

We were picked up, as suggested at the meet time. Always a good start. The journey up to Scotland took 10 hours, which did frustrate us a little as you were given some long break times at service stations with little more than a shop and a cafe where a cup of instant coffee can be as much as £3 each.. Do yourself a favour and ask the driver to make you coffee for 60p a cup. But I understand the need for drivers to take their scheduled breaks.

Once we arrived at the hotel, we were given a warm welcome by Bev the assistant manager, what I really liked was that the key was left in the hotel door, and the luggage taken to the room, so after a long journey there was no check in. Excellent!

The Ardgarten hotel is fantastic, it smells new, looks new, and feels new and you can tell no expense has been spared. After research i found the hotel cost £8 million to build. The carpet throughout is testament to this. The hotel also has a very stable wifi network. So bring your iPads.. Especially if you are on Orange as there is zero network signal for your mobile phone.

The staff here are military style efficient, and work hard to give quick service.

The food is fine, it's far from the best food I've ever had, but also far from the worst. The selection each night is reasonable and your quantity is decent. The best meal is the Scottish roast beef.

The crown in the jewel is the large reception room with comfy chesterfield sofas, with wonderful views down loch long and a glorious open wood fire.

Drinks are a good price, a decent selection too.

The rooms are large and the beds comfy also being new, the bathroom is clean and the showers are like an Amazonian rain fall... Warm and fast. Just pack your own towel as the ones in the room are small, and bring shampoo and soap as its not provided.

The hotel is very hot.. No need to pack jumpers for evening ware! And a lot of the guests do wear a shirt and tie for evening meals.

The comments people previously mention about trip times feeling regental are true. Meal times and breakfasts are set and if you don't like it then tough. But this keeps the groups together and the day flowing.

Now the trips, I have two large frustrations

1) they don't flex the set trips you have to do in accordance with the weather. So you end up doing a boat trip in the rain and the museum in the sun, the planning could be so much better! It's easy to get a fairly accurate 7 day weather forecast to help plan this.

2) They seem to take you to all the other hotels for lunch to show them off, and keep you spending £ in chain, or to destinations with crazy stop off times where there is nothing to see.
The trossachs and the Callander trip is a nightmare, Callander is a dump.. I think the trips take you to where they get a cut from places like the woollen mills.

This is frustrating because you come to see Scotland and you end up shopping. There is too limited stop off points at the scenery to take photos of the gorgeous landscapes. At the top of the trossachs a stop off would have been ideal.

The average age of people on these trips is around 65 and being 29 the above comments may be swayed by my age, although my father who is 72 and for who this trip was a treat agreed with me.

The coach driver you have will also be a decisive factor in how much you enjoy the trip, I was in Colin's Party. Colin is very skilled in his trade as a bus driver, and very personable but compared to Brian who covered our first trip to Invarary he seemed to lack local knowledge in depth.
Brian was fantastic and told us lots of story's and far more history as we were travelling along, the odd funny joke too. This makes the long trips engaging.
It really should be standard for all lochs and Glens drivers to receive an education on the schedule before they start new trips. Load them up with home work!

For a new build the only thing missing is a swimming pool, a missed opportunity to attract holiday goers independent of the bus tours.. It's a perfect hotel and the spa side of it would make it a 5*

I can't comment on the evening entertainment because we didnt use it, but it was varied and people said it was good. We much preferred to take an evening walk around the loch or up around the river.. The scenery is breath taking and completed the hotel.

One thing is for sure you will meet some new friends and have plenty to talk about with people as you are generally all from the same area.

With all the niggles above and things they can do better, I have to keep reminding myself this is a budget holiday and the whole week only cost £309. And for that reason they will definitely get repeat custom.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mystikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
2.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
12.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,127 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgartan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgartan Hotel

Property: Ardgartan Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Ardgartan Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing