We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB-U-LOUS!!!!”
Review of Ardgartan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardgartan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“FAB-U-LOUS!!!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having thought about going to Scotland for a long time we took the plunge and booked a last minute break returning on Saturday. It was a very long journey from Wiltshire but we had plenty of stops and the Coliseum coach was very comfortable. Our driver Nigel was very informative both on the journey and excursions without being too "in your face". As the other reviews have said, the hotel, food, service and value for money cannot be beaten. The lovely weather was an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    53
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
263
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lochs & Glens 5 day break. Excellent weather which in my opinion does make a difference to any review.
Journey there and back very good in comfortable coach. Excursions top class with some impressive driving on narrow roads by John the driver who was very informative and had a store of good old jokes.
Location of hotel - absolutely superb, no traffic noise, no light pollution at night, I don't think it could be bettered.
Public rooms very impressive, spacious and comfortable. We had a first floor loch view bedroom which was simply the best hotel bedroom I have been in (and that includes 4/5 star hotels throughout the world) with the most astounding view down Loch Long. Bathroom very good, but remember it is one in a tourist hotel so do not expect luxuries such as premium toiletries and towels, but it was very clean and spacious.
Food and Service excellent, varied choice of meals, well presented and tasty. Bar prices reasonable by hotel standards. The Service overall was without fault and always with a smile.
The age group using hotel is of the mature variety, so do not expect late night discos.
If there was a fault, I did not think much of the entertainment on first two nights, but the entertainment manager was very, very good and nothing was too much trouble for him, a real ball of energy.
Overall, highly recommended for the right age group but always remember the vagaries of the Scottish weather.

Room Tip: Loch view rooms have superb view down Loch Long, Mountain view rooms have impressive views of the Ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirlieJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Last year i visted the hotel and loved it this march went with a close friend we decided to miss one of the trips out and stayed behind to do some walking the reception lady offered us sandwihes for lunch as soon as we told her we were staying in. the walks were well marked the views and nature at this time of year were lovely and you can do lots of short stedy walks and more lenghthy and strenuous. we had sandwiches and fee tea and coffee as much as we could drink. we rested and just took in the view and before evening meal we had another stroll. that was just our first day , the staff , food and entertainment were excellent and the cleaning staff thankyou our rooms were spotless we hope to go back again .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the six day holiday we spent here with lochs and glens. Our room was very spacious with fabulous views down Loch Long. All the meals were excellent and the restaurant a lovely room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening entertainment was good and there is plenty of room to sit in very comfy sofas overlooking the loch if you just want to relax or chat. We used a wheelchair during our stay and found no difficulties with this. You really can't fault this hotel. Outside there are even pathways to enjoy and the edge of the loch is just metres from the hotel.

Room Tip: All appeared excellent. One side overlooks the loch the other the mountains and countryside. Lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

this is a very nice hotel ,a bit on the large side in the reception area,a long way to the bar from the entertainment room,also the toilets are a long way from there but the hotel is spotless and the staff very welcoming,the mamager was exerllent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank y46rena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We are seasoned Lochs & Glens holiday-takers but this was our first time at this fairly new hotel.It was as stunning as promised with superb loch views,the middle area of Loch Long.Our room on the second floor allowed us real treats each day as due to the loch being a sea loch it was tidal so we saw otters almost daily as they appeared at the lower tides to eat the mussels so prevalent under the water.Oystercatchers came each low tide too,27 was the highest number counted at any one time & were fascinating to watch.
Our room,208,was beautifully furnished & extremely comfortable.The meals were excellent & very filling.
Our outings with our main driver Iain were very special & we were taken to some wonderfully scenic areas,especially Hell's Glen.The weather,for late March,was much better than expected & it only rained when we were on the coach & then only for short periods.Nothing was spoiled.

We have another holiday booked with Lochs & Glens this July/August & also one already booked for July 2015.They are addictive,such great value & one of the best companies we have ever used

Room Tip: There is no road noise anywhere in this hotel but the front rooms are all loch-facing so ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chatnoirDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zambia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

we stayed 4 days here after a short flight from London. It was excellent value for money set on the Loch with fabulous views and within lovely gardens. The room was fairly spacious, clean and new, very nice. If you had your own car the hotel was conveniently located and Arrochar was just a 5 minute drive. The restaurant we found fine for breakfast but not amazing for dinner but it was fairly easy to get out to one of the local pubs. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zambiamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
2.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
442 reviews
12.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,130 reviews
13.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.1 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgartan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgartan Hotel

Property: Ardgartan Hotel
Address: Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arrochar
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Ardgartan Hotel Arrochar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing